ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
nec 110.3 (B)
by gfretwell - 09/22/21 11:11 PM
Grounding electrodes
by gfretwell - 09/07/21 03:41 PM
Looking For Electricians in the Midlands
by Alex247 - 09/06/21 05:26 AM
New in the Gallery:
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
February, North East Indiana
February, North East Indiana
by timmp, July 25
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 40 guests, and 21 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 44
Member
Customer has Primary power run from utility pole, under street (where it becomes customer responsibility) around side of building (aprox 700') where it enters outside switch. Cabling us direct burial CN wire. We need to replace said cabling. Thing is years ago owner added on to the building (25'x25') over top of the laterals. We cannot go around building with new cabling because of property boundary issues. Proposing to go under building with new laterals. I cannot find where NEC mentions any restrictions of this. Thought I would check here.

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,279
Likes: 3
Member
"Under Building" as in underneath a slab (concrete) is considered to be outside the structure in Article 230, and is allowed.

Suggest to run this by your local AHJ first.


John
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 44
Member
Originally Posted by HotLine1
"Under Building" as in underneath a slab (concrete) is considered to be outside the structure in Article 230, and is allowed.


What I suspected...thank you

Originally Posted by HotLine1
Suggest to run this by your local AHJ first.


Always! smile

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Member
Voltage???
Locations??
Where Metered???
Transformer???
Service Disconnect???

Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
T
Member
I foresee horizontal boring in your future.

Plenty of it. ( Street and structure, perhaps much, much, more. )

I also expect that this run will entail an EE.

I've only ever had to run HV conduit in 'greenfield' conditions. So, I'm not too much help.

I do know that you don't want any collateral damage. That's always a bug bear for seasoned ground.

Back in the day, HV cables were rolled down quick and sloppy: no warning tapes, no warning strata. (sand as backfill, etc.)

You might be forced to pot-hole down with hydro-jets -- to sample worrysome ground.

When things get 'busy' you'll need to probe like crazy.

Documentation for old (buried) work is often pitiful.

You might take out a special insurance policy for this job.



Tesla
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 44
Member
Originally Posted by Yoopersup
Voltage???
Locations??
Where Metered???
Transformer???
Service Disconnect???
voltage-13.2kv
metering is PT>CT's in switch cab
Dry outdoor>480/277v
Air switch



Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 44
Member
Have trench run from street (customer side) to where we need to go under building. Lined up directional drill co to go under building.
Dug down today to locate footer. Footer down 48" from 8" concrete floor. Dug three ft below top of footer and still did not find bottom. Other side of building to HV switch is only 30 ft. Directional drill starts at 20 deg angle than levels off at desired depth. Coming out other side of building at 7' or more does not give us the distance directional drill needs to get back up to switch. Also any trench below 4' needs to be shored to prevent cave in.
We went to plan B and will be trenching across floor of building inside than coring holes at either end for 4" sch 40. Conductors are JCN Jacketed Concentric Neutral) #2.

Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 44
Member
All conduit run and wire pulled. Terminate Monday morning.

Have tons of pictures but cannot post here. Wish I could.
This forum should allow pictures to be posted!

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,663
Likes: 4
G
Member
If there are no privacy issues with your employer/customer you can put them here

https://www.electrical-contractor.n.../5/1/Photos_Submitted_for_Discussio.html


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,666
Likes: 2
Administrator
Member
Originally Posted by SafetyWired
Have tons of pictures but cannot post here. Wish I could.
This forum should allow pictures to be posted!
SafetyWired,

We do allow pictures to be posted. If under 1MB ea 2 can be uploaded directly with each post using the 'File Manager' link below the window where you type your Post.

We have a Photo Gallery for picture uploads under 4Mb ea:
https://www.electrical-contractor.net/forums/ubbthreads.php/forums/23/1/Photo_Gallery.html

We also have a Photo Upload website for larger photos at https://www.electrical-photos.com/ where you can upload electrical related photos into your own personal album and use the links to post pictures in this forum as well as others.

see tutorial here:
https://www.electrical-contractor.n...22/Photo_Upload_Tutorial.html#Post178222

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
mxslick
mxslick
Atomic City, ID USA
Posts: 806
Joined: October 2004
Top Posters(30 Days)
timmp 3
Popular Topics(Views)
283,074 Are you busy
216,807 Re: Forum
203,189 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5