ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Where is Everyone?
by luckyshadow - 11/21/21 10:14 AM
It's been an interesting career
by The Watt Doctor - 11/19/21 09:56 AM
Well I am back to stay (nearly 6 years)
by The Watt Doctor - 11/19/21 09:17 AM
Motor Load Relationships Between Fans and Pumps
by The Watt Doctor - 11/18/21 09:24 AM
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 11/05/21 06:45 AM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 42 guests, and 13 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
Member
I'm going to have to change out a 200 amp 3 phase 30 circuit panel out, to a 42 circuit panel Saturday, with a 2" feeder in the bottom. The new panel is 9" longer than the existing one. I have around 10 or 12 pipes in the top ( 1/2" and 3/4") and only (2) 1/2" pipes and (1) 2" feeder pipe in the bottom. I'm thinking at this point it might be simpler to cut the pipe at the bottom than at the top. I've cut 1/2" plenty of times with a small tubing cutter with the wires in it, but never had to cut 2". I've looked on the net to find a cutter and "Ridgid" makes one that will cut 2", but it has the standard long handle on it, and I need to find one that is ratcheded
(if that's a word:)). Anyone know of such a thing?? Pulling the wires out at the bottom is not an option. It goes through concrete, and is fed from the main service gear 100 or so feet away. Thanks for the input.. Steve

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,672
Likes: 7
G
Member
Can you get enough swing to use a chain cutter?


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
Member
Greg, I've never used one of those before. That might be what I need if I can find the right one. I always thought that was a plumbers tool. Just exactly how does it work? I pulled up some pictures of it. Does it have cutters all along the chain? Thanks

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Cat Servant
Member
The chain cutter is for cast iron, and I'm not sure it will work on steel. Generally, you score the pipe then give it a sharp whack - and the pipe breaks along the line.

OP will have to slide a smaller pipe inside, around the wires, to protect them - as he hacks his way around the pipe with a saws-it-all, multi-master, or Dremel. Then he can use a burr knife to clean up the inside edges.

Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
Member
I found one at Sears. Says it cuts up to 1/4 wall thickness, and cuts galvanized, stainless, etc. It says it's ratcheting also. This might be what I'm looking for. $ 135.00 plus tax
problem is I can't get it by the time I need it. frown

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,335
S
Member
Rent one


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
Member
Thanks, I'll look into it tomorrow.

Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
Member
Reno, I want have enough room to put another conduit inside. There are at least (3) 3/0s , and the neutral (I'm not sure now what they're using). The pipe is being used as the equipment ground. I've got some "flashing" I used on another job. I might can cut me a piece, and roll it up enough to go over the wires and down into the pipe enough to protect it from the cutters once they penetrate. Looks like I'm going to have to sawzall the bottom of the old panel, just to get it out. With pipes on the top and pipes on the bottom, going to be a tight fit. The panel is not going to be used again anyway, buss bar on bottom is "pitted" real bad.

Last edited by sparkync; 10/08/13 10:13 PM.
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
Member
Update on panel change out. Nobody in town including rental places had what I wanted. I ordered a pipe cutter from Sears, but it's not expected in til next week which will be too late. I went back to the job to see if I had enough room to slide a 1 1/2" conduit down the 2" to protect the wires, and I think I do, so I will have to go that route unless my cutters get here tomorrow. Going to have to cut the pipes at the top also, because the "feeder wires" ( 3/0 copper ) are not long enough to reach the new main breaker, and if I just cut the bottom pipes, some of the breakers will be down at their knees:( Think I got my battle plan in order though, unless the "unexpected" arises.
... Steve

Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
T
Member
If the run is PVC, then the old string-saw technique works lik a charm.

If the run is GRC/RMC/IMC look to see if the pipe can be unthreaded.

The original post leaves me in the blind as to the critical details.

I have to assume that it's impossible to raise the panel and leave the feeder alone. Normally this can be done without violating the NEC on switch heights.

Even an army of branch circuits is easier to fight than a stuck feeder group.


Last edited by Tesla; 11/16/13 05:28 PM.

Tesla

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
CDS
CDS
Nicholson Ga
Posts: 34
Joined: June 2006
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 3
dsk 2
Popular Topics(Views)
286,222 Are you busy
218,658 Re: Forum
204,851 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5