ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 4
Recent Posts
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
Bathroom electrical
by gfretwell. 08/14/17 02:05 AM
"Line level" audio on Cat 5?
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:39 PM
Fire alarm phone lines and color coding
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
Popular Topics(Views)
239,870 Are you busy
175,422 Re: Forum
167,719 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 27 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#210779 - 08/04/13 02:11 PM Convert 240V to 208V?  
cgw  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 133
Rochester NY
Can a 240V-3ph panelbd (with a wild leg) be easily converted to 208V-3ph? (assume that any connected equipment can operate on 208V)


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#210780 - 08/04/13 02:36 PM Re: Convert 240V to 208V? [Re: cgw]  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,857
Brick, NJ USA
Is this panel fed from the utility co? If so, then the POCO is where the modifications are started.



John

#210781 - 08/04/13 05:03 PM Re: Convert 240V to 208V? [Re: cgw]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,103
Estero,Fl,usa
If you are just running motors it probably doesn't matter and a lot of other equipment can be jumpered t0 run 208 or 240.

Like John says, this is a PoCo option. They will need to add another transformer, probably replacing the small one you have too.
The typical center tapped delta uses a smaller transformer for the wild leg and they only use 2, leaving one side of the delta open (AKA Delta Vee)
Expect a fee for this.

I bet your transformers look like this.

[Linked Image]




Greg Fretwell

#210782 - 08/04/13 05:04 PM Re: Convert 240V to 208V? [Re: cgw]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,103
Estero,Fl,usa
You want this
[Linked Image]


Greg Fretwell

#210785 - 08/05/13 01:02 AM Re: Convert 240V to 208V? [Re: cgw]  
Gregtaylor  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 212
Boise, Idaho, USA
The direct answer to the question you actually asked is, no its not hard because its the same panel. After that, see the above answers.


#210789 - 08/05/13 06:06 PM Re: Convert 240V to 208V? [Re: cgw]  
cgw  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 133
Rochester NY
Everything up to the panelbd will be replaced (the entire service). There is no question on the line side.
I assume (I am going over to look at it tomorrow) that only the 3 phase loads are connected to the middle bus (in this case maybe a rooftop unit - it is retail). So when it becomes 208V the middle phase will be un-balanced. In addition - the panelbd is currently the service entrance. That will no longer be the case after the change (there will be a line side main disconnect). So the neutral needs to be separated (I'm thinking out-loud). Any other considerations?


#210790 - 08/05/13 06:49 PM Re: Convert 240V to 208V? [Re: cgw]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,103
Estero,Fl,usa
You can swap some breakers around and balance the service once you get real 3p wye in there.
You can get a head start by going in with your clamp when they are running their normal load and tagging the current on each circuit. Then you will have a starting point for the rebalance.
We used to have to do that in computer rooms sometimes because each machine might have significant single phase loads and the luck of the draw might get some unwanted imbalance.


Greg Fretwell

#210791 - 08/05/13 09:50 PM Re: Convert 240V to 208V? [Re: cgw]  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,857
Brick, NJ USA
Once you get an OK from the POCO, and they do their thing at the pole, you should be good to go.

You may find 2 pole, 240 volt circuits on the 'B' phase, and whatever 3 phase equipment you have on the site.

As to maintaining a balance, Gregs head start is a good plan.


John

#210792 - 08/05/13 10:10 PM Re: Convert 240V to 208V? [Re: cgw]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,103
Estero,Fl,usa
We didn't see much in computer rooms but it usually will be the L/N loads he has to move. They are all on A/C now.


Greg Fretwell

#210793 - 08/05/13 10:18 PM Re: Convert 240V to 208V? [Re: cgw]  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,857
Brick, NJ USA
Over the years, I saw many panels with nothing on 'B' phase.

Most were in factorys that were vacated, and 'quick' converted to other uses. A lot of breaker blanks with 'RED LEG' written on them.


John

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Member Spotlight
Niko
Niko
Campbell, CA
Posts: 356
Joined: August 2006
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.016s Queries: 16 (0.003s) Memory: 0.8199 MB (Peak: 1.0001 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-17 07:55:54 UTC