ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by Bill Addiss. 08/13/18 05:52 PM
Upgrade the old panel
by gfretwell. 08/13/18 12:20 AM
depth of duckbank
by ghost307. 08/12/18 09:26 PM
Section 179 vehicle purchases
by BigB. 08/05/18 01:06 PM
Don't you buy this stuff
by BigB. 08/05/18 01:00 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 8 guests, and 23 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Convert 240V to 208V? #210779
08/04/13 02:11 PM
08/04/13 02:11 PM
C
cgw  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 133
Rochester NY
Can a 240V-3ph panelbd (with a wild leg) be easily converted to 208V-3ph? (assume that any connected equipment can operate on 208V)

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Convert 240V to 208V? [Re: cgw] #210780
08/04/13 02:36 PM
08/04/13 02:36 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,997
Brick, NJ USA
Is this panel fed from the utility co? If so, then the POCO is where the modifications are started.



John
Re: Convert 240V to 208V? [Re: cgw] #210781
08/04/13 05:03 PM
08/04/13 05:03 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,251
Estero,Fl,usa
If you are just running motors it probably doesn't matter and a lot of other equipment can be jumpered t0 run 208 or 240.

Like John says, this is a PoCo option. They will need to add another transformer, probably replacing the small one you have too.
The typical center tapped delta uses a smaller transformer for the wild leg and they only use 2, leaving one side of the delta open (AKA Delta Vee)
Expect a fee for this.

I bet your transformers look like this.

[Linked Image]




Greg Fretwell
Re: Convert 240V to 208V? [Re: cgw] #210782
08/04/13 05:04 PM
08/04/13 05:04 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,251
Estero,Fl,usa
You want this
[Linked Image]


Greg Fretwell
Re: Convert 240V to 208V? [Re: cgw] #210785
08/05/13 01:02 AM
08/05/13 01:02 AM
G
Gregtaylor  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 212
Boise, Idaho, USA
The direct answer to the question you actually asked is, no its not hard because its the same panel. After that, see the above answers.

Re: Convert 240V to 208V? [Re: cgw] #210789
08/05/13 06:06 PM
08/05/13 06:06 PM
C
cgw  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 133
Rochester NY
Everything up to the panelbd will be replaced (the entire service). There is no question on the line side.
I assume (I am going over to look at it tomorrow) that only the 3 phase loads are connected to the middle bus (in this case maybe a rooftop unit - it is retail). So when it becomes 208V the middle phase will be un-balanced. In addition - the panelbd is currently the service entrance. That will no longer be the case after the change (there will be a line side main disconnect). So the neutral needs to be separated (I'm thinking out-loud). Any other considerations?

Re: Convert 240V to 208V? [Re: cgw] #210790
08/05/13 06:49 PM
08/05/13 06:49 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,251
Estero,Fl,usa
You can swap some breakers around and balance the service once you get real 3p wye in there.
You can get a head start by going in with your clamp when they are running their normal load and tagging the current on each circuit. Then you will have a starting point for the rebalance.
We used to have to do that in computer rooms sometimes because each machine might have significant single phase loads and the luck of the draw might get some unwanted imbalance.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Convert 240V to 208V? [Re: cgw] #210791
08/05/13 09:50 PM
08/05/13 09:50 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,997
Brick, NJ USA
Once you get an OK from the POCO, and they do their thing at the pole, you should be good to go.

You may find 2 pole, 240 volt circuits on the 'B' phase, and whatever 3 phase equipment you have on the site.

As to maintaining a balance, Gregs head start is a good plan.


John
Re: Convert 240V to 208V? [Re: cgw] #210792
08/05/13 10:10 PM
08/05/13 10:10 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,251
Estero,Fl,usa
We didn't see much in computer rooms but it usually will be the L/N loads he has to move. They are all on A/C now.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Convert 240V to 208V? [Re: cgw] #210793
08/05/13 10:18 PM
08/05/13 10:18 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,997
Brick, NJ USA
Over the years, I saw many panels with nothing on 'B' phase.

Most were in factorys that were vacated, and 'quick' converted to other uses. A lot of breaker blanks with 'RED LEG' written on them.


John
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Posts: 165
Joined: March 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 2
Popular Topics(Views)
248,562 Are you busy
186,276 Re: Forum
175,743 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.027s Queries: 16 (0.004s) Memory: 1.0256 MB (Peak: 1.2066 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-08-16 21:33:35 UTC