ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Al Hildenbrand - Minneapolis - obituary
by Bill Addiss - 02/03/23 07:38 PM
Violation?
by renosteinke - 01/27/23 09:52 PM
Does NEC 551.71 (F) apply to dwellings?
by BigB - 01/20/23 10:46 AM
Power submeter connections
by HotLine1 - 01/19/23 09:09 AM
New in the Gallery:
Burger King crown sillyness
Burger King crown sillyness
by wa2ise, December 11
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 37 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
#20689 01/21/03 02:32 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 53
L
Member
Could just be bad fuse

[This message has been edited by Len_B (edited 01-22-2003).]

#20690 01/21/03 06:08 AM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 30
N
Nevin Offline OP
Member
No that is not the photo. The fuses are all three FRS-R fuses. The connections were all sound. The replies in the first three posts seem to me to be the most likely reasons. Although I'm not quite sure why the spring clips would have lost their tension unless it was progressing to that point over the last few years or months and finally simply became to weak. I am putting those clip clamps on as resqcapt19 suggested.
I guess here's a prime example of where thermographic imaging could have caught the problem early on before it failed.

#20691 01/21/03 12:25 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 134
L
Member
Nevin...i have a question

what size horsepower motor is on the air compressor.is it a 25 hp ? we know by the fuses it"s 460 or 480 volts.right?

#20692 01/21/03 01:43 PM
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 83
P
Member
I apologise guys.

My eyes crossed columns when I looked in the catalog. Thanks for catching my error.

#20693 01/21/03 05:11 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,527
B
Moderator
On "...why the spring clips would have lost their tension..."

This usually happens over a long time interval. The metal loses spring tension by softening through the annealing process.

#20694 01/21/03 06:30 PM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 30
N
Nevin Offline OP
Member
Yes it is a 25 hp motor. it is an older one. Not a newer motor with the better energy efficency. I will have to look again on the motor for all the Specs.

#20695 01/21/03 11:08 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 134
L
Member
Nevin. you need to put in the 60 amp fuses per code.sizing motors,wiring, overloads, breakers or fuses is a gray area for a lot of electricians,even me years ago.but it not that hard.take the hp of the motor and check the code book 430-150 3 phase go down to 25 hp.now over to the voltage 460 it says 34 amps.now go to 430-152 time delay fuses it says 175% so now 34 x 175 = 59.5 amps.code 430-52 allows you to go up to the next standard size fuse or breaker look in 240-6. put in the 60 amp fuses [Linked Image]

an here one to think about. if you were to use one time fuses 34x300%=102 amps,you would go up to a 110 fuse and all on that # 8 wire.

Page 2 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *
2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC Now Available!
 
* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
NickD
NickD
Amish Country, PA
Posts: 46
Joined: March 2013
Top Posters(30 Days)
triple 3
BigB 3
Popular Topics(Views)
303,144 Are you busy
232,163 Re: Forum
216,891 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5