ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by gfretwell. 09/16/18 12:37 PM
Acronis Backup 2017
by gfretwell. 09/16/18 12:46 AM
Inspection camera help
by Bill Addiss. 09/15/18 11:32 AM
Tingle off the water spigot
by Trumpy. 09/15/18 03:24 AM
Lighting Load questions
by HotLine1. 09/14/18 07:04 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 10 guests, and 24 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
electric furnace #206250
06/11/12 01:04 AM
06/11/12 01:04 AM
H
homerjones  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 35
0nt.
i have a 15 kw electric furnace, i want to install in my house. i temporarily used 2conducter 2 with a 100 amp breaker. i need to move the furnace to a different location in the basement to accomadate a/c and i want to run conduit to make it neater. the unit draws 60 amps even though the nameplate says 64. i don't have a current codebook but i was hoping to run 2 number 4s in a 1 inch conduit and still have to use the 100 amp breaker. help me out with this one please?

Tools for Electricians:
Re: electric furnace [Re: homerjones] #206251
06/11/12 01:48 AM
06/11/12 01:48 AM
H
homerjones  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 35
0nt.
forgot to add im in ontario as that can make a big difference in rules.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
MarkC10
MarkC10
CA, Inland Empire
Posts: 43
Joined: September 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 13
Trumpy 11
sparky 10
Popular Topics(Views)
249,287 Are you busy
187,222 Re: Forum
176,580 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.017s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9420 MB (Peak: 1.0607 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-09-19 16:42:55 UTC