ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Flexible Conduit?
by gfretwell - 10/24/21 01:59 AM
May I backfeed 3 phase transformer?
by dsk - 10/22/21 04:37 AM
Wire sizing
by gfretwell - 10/21/21 10:12 PM
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 10/21/21 02:03 AM
Need some info on Japanese outlets, 200V 15A
by andey - 10/20/21 08:05 AM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 14 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
Member
Can a 120 volt outlet for the dryer be put on with the 20 amp. laundry circuit?? Thanks, Steve..

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,283
Likes: 3
Member
Yes sir!


John
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
Member
Thanks John, that's what I thought. Just wanted to make sure.

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,669
Likes: 6
G
Member
Yup there is some confusion about this. You are really just required to provide a 20a circuit for the "laundry". There is no restriction about how many receptacles can be on that circuit or what you can plug into as long as it is in the laundry.When I see a single 20 behind the washer location I understand someone has misunderstood where we are supposed to be going with this. They want you to be able to run the washer and the iron at the same time.
Kids there used to be this thing called an iron ... wink


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,507
G
Member
Hey Greg- You old timer, can I put my mangle on the laundry circuit? :))


Here's my real question— If I have a 120/240v. staked unit, do I still have to put in a 20a. 120v. laundry circuit?


Just jerking your chain Greg.


George Little
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,283
Likes: 3
Member
Yes!!


John
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,669
Likes: 6
G
Member
George
Do you mean one of these? Just serving the laundry?

I am not sure what I would cite to require an additional circuit.


[Linked Image from gfretwell.com]

Quote
210.11(C)(2) Laundry Branch Circuits. In addition to the number of branch circuits required by other parts of this section, at least one additional 20-ampere branch circuit shall be provided to supply the laundry receptacle outlet(s) required by 210.52(F). This circuit shall have no other outlets.


It doesn't say 120v only


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,507
G
Member
Greg, I'm not sure of the amperage on the stacked unit but I was thinking it was 30a. Haven't seen one in a while. With that in mind, if it were 30a. the question becomes do you still need a 20a. circuit for the iron? or for some of us folks the Mangle. I think the Stacked unit is a 30a. 240v. single receptacle.


George Little
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,669
Likes: 6
G
Member
You still need a 120v 20a circuit.

I was confused by the "stacked" question. I see now you mean a stack washer/dryer.



Greg Fretwell

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
RH1
RH1
California
Posts: 22
Joined: August 2009
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 7
Popular Topics(Views)
284,844 Are you busy
217,413 Re: Forum
203,732 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5