ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Furnace igniter leaking noise to stereo
by Haligan. 05/21/18 03:28 PM
480 Delta
by ghost307. 05/21/18 10:38 AM
turning down possible problem customer
by HotLine1. 05/21/18 07:53 AM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by HotLine1. 05/14/18 09:42 AM
What estimating software do you recommend?
by wattsittoyou. 05/14/18 06:28 AM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 26 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Doorbell transformer?? #206081
05/18/12 12:28 PM
05/18/12 12:28 PM
S
sparkync  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
NC
A few years ago I ran some wires to an buzzer in my basement, to ring when someone pushed my front door bell button. It worked with the existing chime for a year or so, then one day I determined it wasn't working anymore. I checked the obvious ( voltage at the buzzer, verified that the buzzer was good, connections etc...). Eliminating a lot of test in between, I found that when I hook the buzzer wire to the front door terminal on my chime, it works, but then I only get one tone instead of 2 tones for the front door. If I remove the buzzer wire, I get 2 tones as usual for the front. I'm thinking that I need to get a bigger transformer. The existing transformer is at least probably 25 or 30 years old. I'm guessing it's just getting weak with 2 loads on it, and not enough to pull them both correctly. What are some of your thoughts on it. I don't know exactly how many volts the transformer is( guessing 16 volts), but I'm thinking about putting a 24 volt on it and hope that works. Thanks for the input. Steve...

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Doorbell transformer?? [Re: sparkync] #206082
05/18/12 12:33 PM
05/18/12 12:33 PM
A
allphase  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 14
Chicago il.
door bells get week up the va on transformer should fix it 40 va works good i had to do it at home too

Re: Doorbell transformer?? [Re: sparkync] #206086
05/18/12 07:29 PM
05/18/12 07:29 PM
T
twh  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 940
Regina, Sask.
The doorbell is probably getting stiff and a door bell transformer will usually run only one doorbell, so the buzzer is maxing out the transformer. Get a bigger transformer, but I wouldn't suggest a higher voltage.

Re: Doorbell transformer?? [Re: sparkync] #206089
05/18/12 10:34 PM
05/18/12 10:34 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,964
Brick, NJ USA
You could also parallel another 'matching' transformer next to the original. Or, pick up a 40va.


John

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Grover
Grover
Sebago, ME, USA
Posts: 109
Joined: January 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
twh 12
Popular Topics(Views)
246,856 Are you busy
184,208 Re: Forum
173,450 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.023s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9595 MB (Peak: 1.0911 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-05-21 22:24:38 UTC