ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
IRC M1307.3
by gfretwell. 08/20/18 11:16 PM
Upgrade the old panel
by HotLine1. 08/20/18 07:00 PM
Light Pole Grounding
by HotLine1. 08/20/18 05:34 PM
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by Bill Addiss. 08/13/18 05:52 PM
depth of duckbank
by ghost307. 08/12/18 09:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 7 guests, and 23 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
burned outlet #205345
02/13/12 12:16 AM
02/13/12 12:16 AM
S
schenimann  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 193
Western North Carolina
I had a service call last week to look at a outlet that had burned up. I am trying to surmise what happened to cause the small fire. Let me tell you what happened and you can tell me what really happened.

The outlet had a 6 outlet cover plugged into it*(without the hold down screw). The fire was actually between the outlet and the adaptor. No question where the fire happened. Big burn hole in the outlet and big burn hole in the adapter. This is obviously the weak spot in the system. The fire didn't happen until a delivery truck pulled down the service drop outside and then the outlet caught fire.

My question is how did the delivery truck cause the fire. Did it cause a low voltage-high current that the weak spot in the line could not handle?

BTW, they had more of the 6 outlet adapters plugged in over the outlet covers with no screws. More fires waiting to happen. They are fixed now.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: burned outlet [Re: schenimann] #205346
02/13/12 01:06 AM
02/13/12 01:06 AM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,254
Estero,Fl,usa
I suspect this was nothing more than a cheap receptacle, overloaded by the 6 banger and what they had plugged in.

U/L does not say the device will not burn up, only that the fire will be contained.


Greg Fretwell
Re: burned outlet [Re: gfretwell] #205348
02/13/12 02:55 AM
02/13/12 02:55 AM
S
sparkyinak  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,335
Alaska
what likely happen is a typical 15 amp receptacle is rated for only 15 amps for upto 3 hours of continious load. After 3 hours, that are rated only at 80% wich is 12 amps. With the number of plugs im a spliter, it is easy to put on 12-15 amp load on one. If the recept is on a 20 circuit, you can run up to 20 amps through a 12 (15)amp receptacle and not trip the breaker.

This is why cheap recepts melt after an extended time with a portable space heater. A 1500 watt heater draws 12.5 amps. a 12(15)amp will not carry it for long


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
Re: burned outlet [Re: schenimann] #205349
02/13/12 03:27 AM
02/13/12 03:27 AM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,254
Estero,Fl,usa
My wife had an old 5-15 burn up with nothing but a vacuum on it. The cap was loose in the receptacle but she kept going anyway. I ended up replacing the cord and the receptacle. Both were toast.


Greg Fretwell
Re: burned outlet [Re: schenimann] #205351
02/13/12 04:03 AM
02/13/12 04:03 AM
P
pdh  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 354
Maybe when the service drop was pulled down, neutral broke first?

At a place I worked at many years ago, which has many critical computers all over the place, the night cleaning crew used company vacuum cleaners which has twist-lock plugs on them. A few strategically placed outlets were twist-lock type. This was to prevent them from using outlets on circuits with computers. It could also prevent them from operating with plugs half-way pulled out due to pulling the cord as far as it would go.

Re: burned outlet [Re: schenimann] #205352
02/13/12 11:51 AM
02/13/12 11:51 AM
J
jdevlin  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 402
welland ontario canada
Is it a split wired receptacle?

Re: burned outlet [Re: schenimann] #205580
03/11/12 02:24 AM
03/11/12 02:24 AM
M
mikethebull  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 101
Rhode Island
I have a customer that has a mobile home with Aluminum wiring and when the flat screen and microwave and fish tank and dvd player are working it "trips" the circuit. When I come once a month he pays $150 for the service charge but won't pay to "fix it".

Re: burned outlet [Re: schenimann] #205587
03/11/12 03:15 AM
03/11/12 03:15 AM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,254
Estero,Fl,usa
What do you do? Just reset the breaker? Maybe he should just move the microwave.



Greg Fretwell
Re: burned outlet [Re: schenimann] #205589
03/11/12 03:21 AM
03/11/12 03:21 AM
M
mikethebull  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 101
Rhode Island
I keep informing him that he should rewire the mobile home or @ least add a circuit to the 60 amp "Main Range & floor. Apprantly, moneys tight.

Re: burned outlet [Re: schenimann] #205591
03/11/12 02:21 PM
03/11/12 02:21 PM
K
KJay  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 763
MA, USA
This sounds exactly like one of those situations we were all lead to believe would be prevented by using the CAFCIís, but as we now know, it most likely would not have helped. Iíll bet your inspector will still want one installed though, since the circuit has been altered by repair.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
MarkC10
MarkC10
CA, Inland Empire
Posts: 43
Joined: September 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 3
Popular Topics(Views)
248,675 Are you busy
186,419 Re: Forum
175,900 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.026s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 1.0108 MB (Peak: 1.1891 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-08-21 15:47:54 UTC