ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Lock-down Thread
by Bill Addiss - 02/27/21 01:16 PM
Northern Tool Recalls Powerhorse Generators
by Admin - 02/25/21 09:49 PM
You will never guess
by gfretwell - 02/25/21 07:48 PM
New tool
by SMOKEYBOB - 02/15/21 04:59 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 14 guests, and 19 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
breaker meltdown #204379 12/05/11 10:15 PM
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
M
mikes733 Offline OP
New Member
I had a customer call with a breaker melted to the bussbar. this was the second or third breaker that has done this according to him.the bussbar was fine but the breaker fell apart I installed a new breaker and it made good tight connection and the amp load was in range. any Ideas? I think it was a g&s panel with challenger breakers.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: breaker meltdown [Re: mikes733] #204380 12/05/11 11:08 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 947
T
twh Offline
Member
Load up the circuits and check the voltage drop from the feed conductor to the load conductor terminations. You'll be looking for voltages around 100 ma on the low end to about a volt, depending on the load and the size of breaker. Compare readings for the various breakers for an idea about what is normal in that panel. If the voltage drop seems high, move the probe from the feed wire to the bussbar by the breaker, then the metal part of the breaker.

It's the equivalent of checking the temperature of the connection points, but it's faster and easier to pinpoint the problem because voltage drop doesn't migrate the way heat does.

Re: breaker meltdown [Re: mikes733] #204381 12/05/11 11:17 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,569
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
Do you have a non contact thermometer? They are getting cheap enough for the mortal man and will let you further track down this heat thing. TWH is right about starting with your meter to see where the leak is.


Greg Fretwell
Re: breaker meltdown [Re: mikes733] #204382 12/05/11 11:50 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
T
Tesla Offline
Member
Check for corrosion on the Aluminum bus...



Tesla
Re: breaker meltdown [Re: mikes733] #204384 12/06/11 08:57 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
renosteinke Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Repeat problem and the buss doesn't seem damaged? That doesn't make sense.

However ...

1) Water dripping, condensing on the breaker might;

2) Some load that was not available to you (like a space heater) might; and,

3) the customer's own actions (not shared with you) might.

Re: breaker meltdown [Re: mikes733] #204385 12/06/11 10:05 AM
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
M
mikes733 Offline OP
New Member
thanks for the input. The bussbar was damaged from a previous breaker but the breaker I removed did not appear to have damaged the buss.I did sand the buss and applied corrosion inhibiter with the new breaker. The breaker is feeding 15 kw heat strips and is pulling 60 amps on each leg.

Last edited by mikes733; 12/06/11 10:13 AM.
Re: breaker meltdown [Re: mikes733] #204386 12/06/11 10:33 AM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 984
G
ghost307 Offline
Member
15kW strip heaters drawing 60 Amps per phase??
What voltage are you running at?


Ghost307
Re: breaker meltdown [Re: mikes733] #204387 12/06/11 11:27 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
renosteinke Offline
Cat Servant
Member
If you can't re-locate that breaker to an undamaged part of the buss - perhaps swapping places with a much smaller one - then you really need to replace the busses.

Re: breaker meltdown [Re: mikes733] #204388 12/06/11 11:55 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,233
HotLine1 Offline
Member
Is this a bolt-in or push in CB? 'sanding' the buss may not have been a good move. The contact tension on the push in type CB may be compromised, resulting in failure over a period of time.

If you are running 208 volt, 3 phase, with a 60 amp CB and 15KW of heat you also have an issue with the 'continuous load' (80%).

Conductor size?

Like Greg said, see if you can get your hands on an IR unit, you may have a heating issue due to the design.



John
Re: breaker meltdown [Re: mikes733] #204394 12/06/11 05:55 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 613
M
mikesh Offline
Member
Since your load is linear my idea that it may be related to non linear loads is not going to explain it.
A 3 phase 15 KW load on a 60 amp breaker should be around 42 amps so the breaker looks correct for 3 phase, Single phase would be a 90 amp breaker and a 72 amp load, Note that the 90 amp breaker is actually 1/8th of an amp too much load for the 90 amp breaker but most inspectors would give that much away.


Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
AllClear
AllClear
Belmond Iowa US
Posts: 44
Joined: August 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
MCosta 3
Popular Topics(Views)
275,453 Are you busy
209,361 Re: Forum
196,636 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3