ECN Shout Chat
Recent Posts
Chinese motors rated 220 v 50 hertz
by gfretwell - 07/23/24 04:45 PM
100 Definitions: Accessible 2023
by gfretwell - 07/23/24 10:12 AM
100 Definitions, Likely to Become Energized, 2023
by gfretwell - 07/23/24 10:08 AM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by emolatur - 07/18/24 01:05 PM
2023 CEU Course
by gfretwell - 07/17/24 01:08 AM
Advertisement:-Left
Recent Gallery Topics:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 860 guests, and 32 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#204122 11/14/11 05:31 PM
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
M
New Member
Hello, just wanted to say first of all I did search for an answer on this but its hard for me to get a straight answer out of some of the threads.

So here it is. I have an attached garage on my house with a pretty old sub panel(screw in fuses) that is fed by a 6/3 wire to give me 2 hots and the neutral. No ground.

I want to upgrade this to a breaker type sub panel with a few extra spaces so I can do a few more things in the garage. I would like to avoid running an entire new 4 wire feed to the sub panel and reuse as much as I can as the house panel and sub panel are very far apart.

I do have my well point about 10' from the sub panel in the garage as well.

So here is the list of questions:

1.) Can I use the 6/3 wire currently feeding the fuse box?

2.) If adding a ground is needed can I run a ground wire to the well point from the sub panel? Just FYI the MAIN house panel is grounded to the well point already as well as two ground rods.

3.) How would I configure the sub panel as far as bonding or not, adding a seperate ground bar in it or connecting ground and neutral wires to same bar.

Any help is appreciated. thank you much!

Matt

Horizontal Ad
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,294
Member
Matto
Q1.) No. You'll need a ground at the sub. You'll have to run a 4 wire feeder from the main panel.

Q2.) No. You'll need to run a 4 wire feeder from the main panel. The equipment ground needs to be in the same cable as the feeder.

Q3.) You'll need both an insulated neutral bar and a ground bar, with the respective conductors connected to each

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,391
Likes: 7
Member
Matt:

Welcome to ECN Forums!

Your profile indicates that you are a 'general contractor', not an electrical contractor/electrician. Is that correct??



John
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,498
T
Member
Quote
Q2.) No. You'll need to run a 4 wire feeder from the main panel. The equipment ground needs to be in the same cable as the feeder.

Does it? I was under the impression that EGC are exempt from the "all conductors must be in one cable" rule.

Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
T
Member
Texas...

You're correct... but it's still going to have to bond back with the Service if this daughter panel is to operate correctly.

It would also appear that a fresh GEC needs to be installed at the outbuilding...

If the outbuilding has Zero conducting paths back to the Service bonding would appear optional.

In which case one might think that the feeder could be treated as if it were a SDS.

If the feeder uses an overhead run then I'd expect bonding to be required.


Tesla
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,294
Member
Tesla:
The OP said this is an attached garage, not an outbuilding

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,959
Likes: 34
G
Member
I believe the only legal answer is to rerun the cable in 4 wire.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,498
T
Member
Originally Posted by Tesla
Texas...

You're correct... but it's still going to have to bond back with the Service if this daughter panel is to operate correctly.

Of course, but a 3-wire cable plus separate grounding conductor to the main panel would achieve that just as well as a 4-wire cable. Or am I missing something?

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,462
Likes: 3
Cat Servant
Member
Yes, Texas, you missed something.

The OP needs to run a ground wire between the panels. This wire would be a "EGC," or EQUIPMENT grounding conductor.

The OP suggests that he instead run a separate wire to his well. This would be a "GEC," or grounding ELECTRODE conductor. Different wire, different purpose.

The OP's idea fails, as 'grounding' the panel to the well will do nothing to help fault current return to the PoCo transformer. He is confusing the electrical 'ground' with the earth under his feet.

A word to the OP: There are sizing issues here as well. You probably ought to have a chat with an electrician. We're out of DIY territory.

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,959
Likes: 34
G
Member
The problem I see is the neutral. A 2 wire with ground cable usually has an uninsulated EGC that can't be used as the neutral (plus it will usually be smaller than the ungrounded conductors) and there is no provision to run a neutral outside of the cable or raceway.
If, by some strange reason, they did run a 3 wire (red, black white) cable with all conductors insulated he might be able to establish his EGC with a separate wire.

As for just grabbing the grounding electrode conductor at the well point, You might be able to make a case for it.

Quote
250.130 Equipment Grounding Conductor Connections.
Equipment grounding conductor connections at the source of separately derived systems shall be made in accordance with 250.30(A)(1). Equipment grounding conductor connections at service equipment shall be made as indicated in 250.130(A) or (B).

(A) For Grounded Systems. The connection shall be made by bonding the equipment grounding conductor to the grounded service conductor and the grounding electrode conductor.




Greg Fretwell
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertisement:-Right

* * * * * * *
Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 
* * * * * * *

2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC + Exam Prep Study Guides Now Available!

Member Spotlight
togol
togol
NW In. USA
Posts: 421
Joined: September 2005
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
323,674 Are you busy
247,972 Re: Forum
231,750 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5