ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
VFD MotorFeeders
by gfretwell. 10/19/17 01:02 AM
Generator Cable Sizing
by brsele. 10/18/17 07:39 PM
What do you do?
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 01:08 AM
Good ol' copper pipe in the fuse holder trick
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:16 PM
Another generator question
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:02 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
241,388 Are you busy
177,345 Re: Forum
168,958 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 37 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#202677 - 08/21/11 02:59 PM Tankless Hotwater heater  
dougwells  Offline


Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,140
kamloops BC Canada
I have an inquiry about installing a circuit for this Item.
Will this need a sub panel and am a bit rusty about the feeder size for the a sub panel.
Has anyone installed on of these thanks.
This will be a renovation


http://www.e-tankless.com/stiebel-eltron-tempra-29-tankless-water-heater.php


Tools for Electricians:

#202678 - 08/21/11 10:54 PM Re: Tankless Hotwater heater [Re: dougwells]  
Tesla  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
Sacramento, CA
"3 x 50 AMP breakers (depends on local codes)"

Each breaker at 240 VAC

"Minimum 3 x #8 AWG Copper (depends on local codes)"

So you'll need at least #8 -- but more likely #6 conductors.

(I'm assuming that you'll be dealing with a 60 degree panel board and or are using Romex. Otherwise, you'd be able to use #8.)

-----

I've never installed such a beast.

Instead I've installed insta-hots 30A @ 208 or 277...

You'll have to deal with line-of-sight disconnecting means -- which normally is addressed by a sub-panel rated 150 Amps @240VAC.

You can pipe and wire the feeder -- or use MC -- they make it big, BTW.

MC is available all the way up to 705 kCMIL. (!)


Tesla

#202679 - 08/21/11 11:54 PM Re: Tankless Hotwater heater [Re: dougwells]  
jay8  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 183
Vancouver, BC
I am a little suprised at the electrical layout. The manufacturer is suggesting three breakers to a single control panel. How do you effectively isolate the unit for service, normally there is a single point of isolation on the control panel such as a service switch on the front of it.

Also, from the drawing (page 13) it looks like the exposed L1/L2 terminals are right next to the inlet and outlets ports for the water piping. The drawings show wires running right past the mechanical piping within the control panel. Unusual to say the least that there seems to be no barrier between the sections.



Member Spotlight
noderaser
noderaser
Portland, Oregon, United States
Posts: 404
Joined: March 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.014s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.7532 MB (Peak: 0.8809 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-10-19 09:04:10 UTC