ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by gfretwell. 09/16/18 12:37 PM
Acronis Backup 2017
by gfretwell. 09/16/18 12:46 AM
Inspection camera help
by Bill Addiss. 09/15/18 11:32 AM
Tingle off the water spigot
by Trumpy. 09/15/18 03:24 AM
Lighting Load questions
by HotLine1. 09/14/18 07:04 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 6 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Tankless Hotwater heater #202677
08/21/11 02:59 PM
08/21/11 02:59 PM
dougwells  Offline
OP
Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,149
kamloops BC Canada
I have an inquiry about installing a circuit for this Item.
Will this need a sub panel and am a bit rusty about the feeder size for the a sub panel.
Has anyone installed on of these thanks.
This will be a renovation


http://www.e-tankless.com/stiebel-eltron-tempra-29-tankless-water-heater.php

Tools for Electricians:
Re: Tankless Hotwater heater [Re: dougwells] #202678
08/21/11 10:54 PM
08/21/11 10:54 PM
T
Tesla  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
Sacramento, CA
"3 x 50 AMP breakers (depends on local codes)"

Each breaker at 240 VAC

"Minimum 3 x #8 AWG Copper (depends on local codes)"

So you'll need at least #8 -- but more likely #6 conductors.

(I'm assuming that you'll be dealing with a 60 degree panel board and or are using Romex. Otherwise, you'd be able to use #8.)

-----

I've never installed such a beast.

Instead I've installed insta-hots 30A @ 208 or 277...

You'll have to deal with line-of-sight disconnecting means -- which normally is addressed by a sub-panel rated 150 Amps @240VAC.

You can pipe and wire the feeder -- or use MC -- they make it big, BTW.

MC is available all the way up to 705 kCMIL. (!)


Tesla
Re: Tankless Hotwater heater [Re: dougwells] #202679
08/21/11 11:54 PM
08/21/11 11:54 PM
J
jay8  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 183
Vancouver, BC
I am a little suprised at the electrical layout. The manufacturer is suggesting three breakers to a single control panel. How do you effectively isolate the unit for service, normally there is a single point of isolation on the control panel such as a service switch on the front of it.

Also, from the drawing (page 13) it looks like the exposed L1/L2 terminals are right next to the inlet and outlets ports for the water piping. The drawings show wires running right past the mechanical piping within the control panel. Unusual to say the least that there seems to be no barrier between the sections.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
mersadrad
mersadrad
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 28
Joined: March 2011
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 13
sparky 11
Trumpy 11
Popular Topics(Views)
249,261 Are you busy
187,184 Re: Forum
176,537 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.022s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9521 MB (Peak: 1.0777 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-09-18 14:10:47 UTC