ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
LED retrofit flickers
by rmiell. 01/18/19 08:49 PM
Israel
by Texas_Ranger. 01/14/19 07:12 AM
Free Code class in Maryland 1/16/2019
by Admin. 01/12/19 05:43 PM
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by RODALCO. 01/12/19 02:37 AM
sec cable code conflict
by jake2018. 01/11/19 07:36 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 18 guests, and 15 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Tankless Hotwater heater #202677
08/21/11 01:59 PM
08/21/11 01:59 PM
dougwells  Offline
OP
Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,150
kamloops BC Canada
I have an inquiry about installing a circuit for this Item.
Will this need a sub panel and am a bit rusty about the feeder size for the a sub panel.
Has anyone installed on of these thanks.
This will be a renovation


http://www.e-tankless.com/stiebel-eltron-tempra-29-tankless-water-heater.php

Tools for Electricians:
Re: Tankless Hotwater heater [Re: dougwells] #202678
08/21/11 09:54 PM
08/21/11 09:54 PM
T
Tesla  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
Sacramento, CA
"3 x 50 AMP breakers (depends on local codes)"

Each breaker at 240 VAC

"Minimum 3 x #8 AWG Copper (depends on local codes)"

So you'll need at least #8 -- but more likely #6 conductors.

(I'm assuming that you'll be dealing with a 60 degree panel board and or are using Romex. Otherwise, you'd be able to use #8.)

-----

I've never installed such a beast.

Instead I've installed insta-hots 30A @ 208 or 277...

You'll have to deal with line-of-sight disconnecting means -- which normally is addressed by a sub-panel rated 150 Amps @240VAC.

You can pipe and wire the feeder -- or use MC -- they make it big, BTW.

MC is available all the way up to 705 kCMIL. (!)


Tesla
Re: Tankless Hotwater heater [Re: dougwells] #202679
08/21/11 10:54 PM
08/21/11 10:54 PM
J
jay8  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 183
Vancouver, BC
I am a little suprised at the electrical layout. The manufacturer is suggesting three breakers to a single control panel. How do you effectively isolate the unit for service, normally there is a single point of isolation on the control panel such as a service switch on the front of it.

Also, from the drawing (page 13) it looks like the exposed L1/L2 terminals are right next to the inlet and outlets ports for the water piping. The drawings show wires running right past the mechanical piping within the control panel. Unusual to say the least that there seems to be no barrier between the sections.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
watersparkfalls
watersparkfalls
Washington...Not DC
Posts: 222
Joined: March 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 4
Popular Topics(Views)
252,771 Are you busy
189,590 Re: Forum
179,254 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.017s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9516 MB (Peak: 1.0774 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2019-01-20 15:36:19 UTC