ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Furnace igniter leaking noise to stereo
by sparkyinak. 05/20/18 07:20 PM
turning down possible problem customer
by gfretwell. 05/19/18 07:31 PM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by HotLine1. 05/14/18 09:42 AM
What estimating software do you recommend?
by wattsittoyou. 05/14/18 06:28 AM
Rolling Scaffold - what do you do?
by HotLine1. 05/11/18 09:05 AM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (sparkyinak), 7 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Tankless Hotwater heater #202677
08/21/11 02:59 PM
08/21/11 02:59 PM
dougwells  Offline
OP
Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,143
kamloops BC Canada
I have an inquiry about installing a circuit for this Item.
Will this need a sub panel and am a bit rusty about the feeder size for the a sub panel.
Has anyone installed on of these thanks.
This will be a renovation


http://www.e-tankless.com/stiebel-eltron-tempra-29-tankless-water-heater.php

Tools for Electricians:
Re: Tankless Hotwater heater [Re: dougwells] #202678
08/21/11 10:54 PM
08/21/11 10:54 PM
T
Tesla  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
Sacramento, CA
"3 x 50 AMP breakers (depends on local codes)"

Each breaker at 240 VAC

"Minimum 3 x #8 AWG Copper (depends on local codes)"

So you'll need at least #8 -- but more likely #6 conductors.

(I'm assuming that you'll be dealing with a 60 degree panel board and or are using Romex. Otherwise, you'd be able to use #8.)

-----

I've never installed such a beast.

Instead I've installed insta-hots 30A @ 208 or 277...

You'll have to deal with line-of-sight disconnecting means -- which normally is addressed by a sub-panel rated 150 Amps @240VAC.

You can pipe and wire the feeder -- or use MC -- they make it big, BTW.

MC is available all the way up to 705 kCMIL. (!)


Tesla
Re: Tankless Hotwater heater [Re: dougwells] #202679
08/21/11 11:54 PM
08/21/11 11:54 PM
J
jay8  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 183
Vancouver, BC
I am a little suprised at the electrical layout. The manufacturer is suggesting three breakers to a single control panel. How do you effectively isolate the unit for service, normally there is a single point of isolation on the control panel such as a service switch on the front of it.

Also, from the drawing (page 13) it looks like the exposed L1/L2 terminals are right next to the inlet and outlets ports for the water piping. The drawings show wires running right past the mechanical piping within the control panel. Unusual to say the least that there seems to be no barrier between the sections.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
BEAMEUP
BEAMEUP
WA
Posts: 27
Joined: December 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
twh 12
Popular Topics(Views)
246,845 Are you busy
184,205 Re: Forum
173,446 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.015s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9514 MB (Peak: 1.0769 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-05-21 01:13:24 UTC