ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Inspections and Testing
by Texas_Ranger. 04/24/18 07:09 AM
FEMA height and electrical equiment.,
by HotLine1. 04/20/18 08:49 AM
This anti-theist is priceless!!!
by LongRunner. 04/19/18 04:02 PM
Recall notice: Square D Services Switches
by gfretwell. 04/18/18 01:24 PM
Big Square D service switch Recall
by sparkyinak. 04/18/18 12:30 AM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
SE cable question
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (dbricks), 17 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Replacement outlets #202137
07/20/11 02:35 PM
07/20/11 02:35 PM
S
sparkync  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
NC
Does Article 210.12 (B) mean that a GFI outlet is not accepted anymore when replacing ungrounded outlets in an existing dwelling, or am I looking in the wrong place??
Thanks...

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Replacement outlets [Re: sparkync] #202139
07/20/11 02:53 PM
07/20/11 02:53 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,199
Estero,Fl,usa
The key words are "where branch-circuit wiring is modified, replaced, or extended"

Is simply replacing a receptacle modifying the "wiring"?

Of course when the mysterious device AFCI shows up at the supply house, this is easy to answer ... assuming it is a kind that also has 5ma GF protection.

This is one of those places where the unintended consequences may be worse than the intent. If you can't use a $10 GFCI device, it may end up being replaced with a 40 cent duplex.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Replacement outlets [Re: sparkync] #202163
07/20/11 10:56 PM
07/20/11 10:56 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,949
Brick, NJ USA
sparkync:

IF you are talking GFI receptacles, you are within the wrong section; you are looking at AFCI requirements.

Go to 406.4 (D)(2)(a,b,c) for replacement of receptacles on an existing two (2) wire crcuit that has NO ground available.

Short answer is 'Yes' you may use a GFI device to replace a 2-wire receptacle.


John
Re: Replacement outlets [Re: sparkync] #202165
07/20/11 11:21 PM
07/20/11 11:21 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,199
Estero,Fl,usa
I do see his point if you "modified" it in some way you are in a catch 22. The only legal answer is an AFCI breaker in the panel (if it would take one) and a GFCI receptacle in the first outlet. The last I heard C/H is the only one with a combo GFCI/AFCI and that was a breaker, not a "box" device.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Replacement outlets [Re: sparkync] #202177
07/21/11 02:00 PM
07/21/11 02:00 PM
S
sparkync  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
NC
Sorry guys. My day was going too fast. I should have looked in the index for "Receptacles" and then under "Replacements" and I would have found it. I share my office area normally with a 2 year old grandson, 6 year old grandson, and an 11 year old granddaughter, now that school is out. It gets hectic sometimes, but you that have grandchildren probably know "the bond". Anyway it keeps me from getting "too involved" in my work sometimes. Constant
time in front of a computer doing estimates etc., can get pretty stressful and give you serious eyestrain:) A little diversion helps sometimes:)

Re: Replacement outlets [Re: sparkync] #203287
09/18/11 11:14 PM
09/18/11 11:14 PM
M
mikethebull  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 100
Rhode Island
The AHJ for my state has said that is only required in NEW installations on service redo's we don't need to.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
RonKipperDatacom
RonKipperDatacom
Kansas City, KS
Posts: 30
Joined: January 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
245,910 Are you busy
182,968 Re: Forum
172,779 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.018s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9770 MB (Peak: 1.1258 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-04-24 14:29:34 UTC