ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Grounding electrodes
by gfretwell - 09/07/21 03:41 PM
Looking For Electricians in the Midlands
by Alex247 - 09/06/21 05:26 AM
Backup Generator Done Right
by timmp - 08/31/21 04:44 PM
New in the Gallery:
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
February, North East Indiana
February, North East Indiana
by timmp, July 25
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 34 guests, and 10 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#202137 07/20/11 02:35 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
Member
Does Article 210.12 (B) mean that a GFI outlet is not accepted anymore when replacing ungrounded outlets in an existing dwelling, or am I looking in the wrong place??
Thanks...

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,662
Likes: 4
G
Member
The key words are "where branch-circuit wiring is modified, replaced, or extended"

Is simply replacing a receptacle modifying the "wiring"?

Of course when the mysterious device AFCI shows up at the supply house, this is easy to answer ... assuming it is a kind that also has 5ma GF protection.

This is one of those places where the unintended consequences may be worse than the intent. If you can't use a $10 GFCI device, it may end up being replaced with a 40 cent duplex.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,279
Likes: 3
Member
sparkync:

IF you are talking GFI receptacles, you are within the wrong section; you are looking at AFCI requirements.

Go to 406.4 (D)(2)(a,b,c) for replacement of receptacles on an existing two (2) wire crcuit that has NO ground available.

Short answer is 'Yes' you may use a GFI device to replace a 2-wire receptacle.


John
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,662
Likes: 4
G
Member
I do see his point if you "modified" it in some way you are in a catch 22. The only legal answer is an AFCI breaker in the panel (if it would take one) and a GFCI receptacle in the first outlet. The last I heard C/H is the only one with a combo GFCI/AFCI and that was a breaker, not a "box" device.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
Member
Sorry guys. My day was going too fast. I should have looked in the index for "Receptacles" and then under "Replacements" and I would have found it. I share my office area normally with a 2 year old grandson, 6 year old grandson, and an 11 year old granddaughter, now that school is out. It gets hectic sometimes, but you that have grandchildren probably know "the bond". Anyway it keeps me from getting "too involved" in my work sometimes. Constant
time in front of a computer doing estimates etc., can get pretty stressful and give you serious eyestrain:) A little diversion helps sometimes:)

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 101
M
Member
The AHJ for my state has said that is only required in NEW installations on service redo's we don't need to.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
cookcc
cookcc
California ,Long Beach
Posts: 28
Joined: May 2007
Top Posters(30 Days)
timmp 3
Popular Topics(Views)
282,897 Are you busy
216,663 Re: Forum
203,095 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5