ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
VFD MotorFeeders
by Yoopersup. 10/22/17 07:52 PM
Generator Cable Sizing
by brsele. 10/18/17 07:39 PM
What do you do?
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 01:08 AM
Good ol' copper pipe in the fuse holder trick
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:16 PM
Another generator question
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:02 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
241,452 Are you busy
177,435 Re: Forum
169,017 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 59 guests, and 16 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#202137 - 07/20/11 02:35 PM Replacement outlets  
sparkync  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 828
NC
Does Article 210.12 (B) mean that a GFI outlet is not accepted anymore when replacing ungrounded outlets in an existing dwelling, or am I looking in the wrong place??
Thanks...


2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides

#202139 - 07/20/11 02:53 PM Re: Replacement outlets [Re: sparkync]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,124
Estero,Fl,usa
The key words are "where branch-circuit wiring is modified, replaced, or extended"

Is simply replacing a receptacle modifying the "wiring"?

Of course when the mysterious device AFCI shows up at the supply house, this is easy to answer ... assuming it is a kind that also has 5ma GF protection.

This is one of those places where the unintended consequences may be worse than the intent. If you can't use a $10 GFCI device, it may end up being replaced with a 40 cent duplex.


Greg Fretwell

#202163 - 07/20/11 10:56 PM Re: Replacement outlets [Re: sparkync]  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,872
Brick, NJ USA
sparkync:

IF you are talking GFI receptacles, you are within the wrong section; you are looking at AFCI requirements.

Go to 406.4 (D)(2)(a,b,c) for replacement of receptacles on an existing two (2) wire crcuit that has NO ground available.

Short answer is 'Yes' you may use a GFI device to replace a 2-wire receptacle.


John

#202165 - 07/20/11 11:21 PM Re: Replacement outlets [Re: sparkync]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,124
Estero,Fl,usa
I do see his point if you "modified" it in some way you are in a catch 22. The only legal answer is an AFCI breaker in the panel (if it would take one) and a GFCI receptacle in the first outlet. The last I heard C/H is the only one with a combo GFCI/AFCI and that was a breaker, not a "box" device.


Greg Fretwell

#202177 - 07/21/11 02:00 PM Re: Replacement outlets [Re: sparkync]  
sparkync  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 828
NC
Sorry guys. My day was going too fast. I should have looked in the index for "Receptacles" and then under "Replacements" and I would have found it. I share my office area normally with a 2 year old grandson, 6 year old grandson, and an 11 year old granddaughter, now that school is out. It gets hectic sometimes, but you that have grandchildren probably know "the bond". Anyway it keeps me from getting "too involved" in my work sometimes. Constant
time in front of a computer doing estimates etc., can get pretty stressful and give you serious eyestrain:) A little diversion helps sometimes:)


#203287 - 09/18/11 11:14 PM Re: Replacement outlets [Re: sparkync]  
mikethebull  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 100
Rhode Island
The AHJ for my state has said that is only required in NEW installations on service redo's we don't need to.



Member Spotlight
Niko
Niko
Campbell, CA
Posts: 356
Joined: August 2006
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.013s Queries: 15 (0.002s) Memory: 0.7782 MB (Peak: 0.9282 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-10-23 02:32:40 UTC