ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Al Hildenbrand - Minneapolis - obituary
by Bill Addiss - 02/03/23 07:38 PM
Violation?
by renosteinke - 01/27/23 09:52 PM
Does NEC 551.71 (F) apply to dwellings?
by BigB - 01/20/23 10:46 AM
Power submeter connections
by HotLine1 - 01/19/23 09:09 AM
New in the Gallery:
Burger King crown sillyness
Burger King crown sillyness
by wa2ise, December 11
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 15 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,788
Likes: 14
G
Member
225.30(A) says you can have additional feeders or branch circuits for emergency and standby systems. Is that one per system?

If you have a generator transfer panel in building A, can you run multiple branch circuits to building B? (using up to 6 disconnects per 226.33).


Greg Fretwell
Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,333
Likes: 7
Member
Part 'a' of your inquiry...I venture yes, to one of each. In a real situation, it could be a tough sell re: 'standby' & 'emergency' details.

Part 'b' IMHO is 'yes', but I want to research more for confirmation!

This sounds like a 'George' question??


John
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,507
G
Member
Meaning????

#1 It's a good question?

#2 George should respond with an answer?

If you mean the latter, I would say that the generator could serve anything you want it to with a priority to the emergency circuits. I don't know what will trigger the generator to start - hopefully the failure of the emergency circuit(s) and if there is an overload on the generator, it must be designed such that it will shed the non-emergency loads. IMHO


George Little
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,333
Likes: 7
Member
George:

Meant......

#1, Yes, a good question, much like yours.

#2, Your answers are always welcome, and you are good as stirring the pot.

You make good points.



John
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,788
Likes: 14
G
Member
Load shedding was what prompted the question. If you had load management in building A controlling loads in building B, I can see why it might make things easier if you could run multiple circuits.

The more I think of it, you would probably be better off running low voltage signaling circuits to the second building and have local control but that doesn't address the original question.

Hurricane season started today so I am getting more generator questions from my friends here.


Greg Fretwell

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *
2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC Now Available!
 
* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
TOOL_5150
TOOL_5150
Bay Area
Posts: 61
Joined: August 2007
Top Posters(30 Days)
triple 3
BigB 3
Popular Topics(Views)
303,203 Are you busy
232,197 Re: Forum
216,941 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5