ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
It's been an interesting career
by gfretwell - 05/23/22 09:29 PM
Material shortages???
by HotLine1 - 05/23/22 01:56 PM
Run Cap subsitution question. Two vs. one
by LarryC - 05/20/22 09:01 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 17 guests, and 12 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#200974 04/30/11 03:09 AM
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 21
J
Member
I have an aemc simple logger 11 model l562.My question is on how to set this logger as to which scale multiplier setting to use.
input one is 0-1v scale choices are 10mv/ma,1mv/ma,100mv/a
1mv/a or 0.33mv/a this input is for a clamp amp probe

input two is 0-600vac the scale multiplier settings are 1,100 or 10
the manual that came with this unit does not give much info on setting up the scales multipliers.
I can make this unit work but would like a better understanding on how best set this logger up.
I use it to find problems in homes and business eg when did the voltage drop out or current rise etc.
can anyone recondmend a book on this topic?

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,688
Likes: 10
G
Member
I would use the 600v scale set up 1:1 for 120/240.

You can also hook up the clamp to track line in current so you can see if the dip was caused by your load spiking or was a utility problem.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,722
Broom Pusher and
Member
This Device _APPEARS AS_ a Power Monitor, for logging a Single Phase Circuit over a given Time Period.

Input #1 would be the Current Probe Input, via a Clamp-On type Ammeter (Current Transformer type Current Probe).
Connect a compatible CT to the "CH-1" Input on the Meter.
Set the Parameters for CH-1, per the specifications of the Current Probe used.
Clamp the CT around ONE Conductor on the Circuit to be Monitored.

Input #2 would be the Voltage Probe Input.
This may be via:
1: Voltage Probe Leads of the Current Probe,
or
2: a Pair of Alligator Clipped Voltage Leads, connected to the Two Wires of the Monitored Circuit, at a Termination Point (so as to measure the Circuit's Voltage).

The Multiplier settings for CH-2 _MIGHT BE_ as follows:

A: Using the Current/Voltage Probe: 100:1,
B: Using Alligator Clip Leads: 1:1

These figures are not device specific, so best to verify prior to actual use.

Do a Google Search for your Model Number. This might yield more information than what is found in the Document you have now.

Good luck... sorry I could not give you actual answers! frown

--Scott


Scott " 35 " Thompson
Just Say NO To Green Eggs And Ham!

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Potseal
Potseal
Saskatchewan
Posts: 264
Joined: February 2013
Top Posters(30 Days)
LarryC 3
NORCAL 2
Popular Topics(Views)
291,350 Are you busy
223,839 Re: Forum
209,239 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5