ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by Albert. 11/07/18 12:48 AM
Black & Decker Recalls Hammer Drills
by Admin. 11/01/18 07:22 PM
Having around 30 projectors to dump
by gfretwell. 10/31/18 10:54 PM
Installing a small swimming pool
by TimothyHallam. 10/30/18 10:42 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 5 guests, and 26 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
setting up a data logger #200974
04/30/11 02:09 AM
04/30/11 02:09 AM
J
jackolsen  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 21
british columbia canada
I have an aemc simple logger 11 model l562.My question is on how to set this logger as to which scale multiplier setting to use.
input one is 0-1v scale choices are 10mv/ma,1mv/ma,100mv/a
1mv/a or 0.33mv/a this input is for a clamp amp probe

input two is 0-600vac the scale multiplier settings are 1,100 or 10
the manual that came with this unit does not give much info on setting up the scales multipliers.
I can make this unit work but would like a better understanding on how best set this logger up.
I use it to find problems in homes and business eg when did the voltage drop out or current rise etc.
can anyone recondmend a book on this topic?

Tools for Electricians:
Re: setting up a data logger [Re: jackolsen] #200982
04/30/11 12:21 PM
04/30/11 12:21 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,301
Estero,Fl,usa
I would use the 600v scale set up 1:1 for 120/240.

You can also hook up the clamp to track line in current so you can see if the dip was caused by your load spiking or was a utility problem.


Greg Fretwell
Re: setting up a data logger [Re: jackolsen] #200995
05/02/11 03:37 AM
05/02/11 03:37 AM
Scott35  Offline

Broom Pusher and
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,708
Anaheim, CA. USA
This Device _APPEARS AS_ a Power Monitor, for logging a Single Phase Circuit over a given Time Period.

Input #1 would be the Current Probe Input, via a Clamp-On type Ammeter (Current Transformer type Current Probe).
Connect a compatible CT to the "CH-1" Input on the Meter.
Set the Parameters for CH-1, per the specifications of the Current Probe used.
Clamp the CT around ONE Conductor on the Circuit to be Monitored.

Input #2 would be the Voltage Probe Input.
This may be via:
1: Voltage Probe Leads of the Current Probe,
or
2: a Pair of Alligator Clipped Voltage Leads, connected to the Two Wires of the Monitored Circuit, at a Termination Point (so as to measure the Circuit's Voltage).

The Multiplier settings for CH-2 _MIGHT BE_ as follows:

A: Using the Current/Voltage Probe: 100:1,
B: Using Alligator Clip Leads: 1:1

These figures are not device specific, so best to verify prior to actual use.

Do a Google Search for your Model Number. This might yield more information than what is found in the Document you have now.

Good luck... sorry I could not give you actual answers! frown

--Scott


Scott " 35 " Thompson
Just Say NO To Green Eggs And Ham!

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
cookcc
cookcc
California ,Long Beach
Posts: 28
Joined: May 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 8
dsk 3
Popular Topics(Views)
251,426 Are you busy
188,641 Re: Forum
178,344 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.026s Queries: 15 (0.005s) Memory: 0.9533 MB (Peak: 1.0778 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-14 05:29:45 UTC