ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Safety at heights?
by gfretwell - 04/23/24 03:03 PM
Old low volt E10 sockets - supplier or alternative
by gfretwell - 04/21/24 11:20 AM
Do we need grounding?
by gfretwell - 04/06/24 08:32 PM
UL 508A SPACING
by tortuga - 03/30/24 07:39 PM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 411 guests, and 40 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
#151290 08/25/06 05:45 AM
P
DISCLAIMER: This is an unprofessional medical opinion. I'm not a doctor, nor do I play one on TV (Calling Doctor Howard, Doctor Fine, Doctor Howard)

As far as medical problems stemming from shocks, they can be anything from nothing up to death. One can get heart problems or neuro-muscular problems from even a mild shock, or even brain damage. It also depends on where you were shocked, as well as voltage/current.

I have been severely shocked 3 times in my life. When I was indirectly hit by lightning, I suffered palpatations for a few days. When I was working on an old tube Oscilliscope, I got 120V hand to hand. I didn't suffer physical problems, but I was slightly traumatized by the incident (I went as far as shutting off the breaker when replacing a light bulb). The third time is when I rented an amplifier for my band. The amp had a 2 prong plug, and the case was grounded by the hot through a capacitor. When the guitarist handed me his guitat while I put my fingers on my bass to prevent feedback, I received a mild shock. I didn't even feel it at first, but then it progressed worse and worse. I suffered palpataions again as well as breathing problems, and was hospitalized for observation.