ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Does NEC 551.71 (F) apply to dwellings?
by BigB - 01/20/23 10:46 AM
Violation?
by HotLine1 - 01/19/23 09:10 AM
Power submeter connections
by HotLine1 - 01/19/23 09:09 AM
AFDD's coming to the UK
by Texas_Ranger - 01/17/23 07:22 PM
New in the Gallery:
Burger King crown sillyness
Burger King crown sillyness
by wa2ise, December 11
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 67 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#200440 04/01/11 04:06 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,158
Member
I am looking for a safe way to deal with this item rerouting new loomex may not be an option at this time.
I was thinking load center with afci breakers.

[Linked Image from electrical-photos.com]


[Linked Image from electrical-photos.com]


[Linked Image from electrical-photos.com]

dougwells #200442 04/01/11 04:48 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 947
T
twh Offline
Member
I wouldn't use afci anywhere not required by code. They can have tripping problems.

gfi dead-fronts are less expensive than gfi breakers, but must sit outside the panel. gfi breakers look nicer.

It looks like you have 3 wire circuits, so you will need some 2 pole gfi breakers.

What is the new procedure for putting K&T into a knockout?

You don't have many circuits, so when you install 15 amp breakers, you might have a problem.

dougwells #200443 04/01/11 04:52 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,158
Member
I was thinking loom over the wire and a 2 screw connector.
This must of been the old service at one time. There is a 100 amp panel in the basement now.
I definitely have to get him some fuse restrictors while working on this smile

dougwells #200444 04/01/11 04:53 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,158
Member
Looks like I should megger everything to as there is 25 and 30 amp fuses installed atm.

And I dont think i have any neutrals too attach to a new load center for each circuit either

Last edited by dougwells; 04/01/11 04:55 PM.
dougwells #200445 04/01/11 05:01 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 947
T
twh Offline
Member
No neutral = no gfi

dougwells #200446 04/01/11 05:03 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,158
Member
Gee i think i found the the fuse panel that is in my avatar laugh

dougwells #200447 04/01/11 05:04 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,158
Member
And ohh this is all mounted to the back side of a wall the "cover" is a piece of plywood . that white is some sort of abestos paper too

dougwells #200448 04/01/11 05:12 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,158
Member
Ohh that 3 wire loomex is 10/3 and is feeding that mess.

dougwells #200450 04/01/11 05:32 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 787
L
Member
Doug,

How about using the existing location as a splice box and run new wiring down to a centralized breaker panel?

dougwells #200451 04/01/11 05:38 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,158
Member
I am wondering what year this stuff is from too.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *
2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC Now Available!
 
* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
TOOL_5150
TOOL_5150
Bay Area
Posts: 61
Joined: August 2007
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 9
triple 3
Popular Topics(Views)
302,375 Are you busy
231,775 Re: Forum
216,399 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5