ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 5
Recent Posts
Holiday Wishes to all!!
by HotLine1. 12/15/17 07:20 PM
Dimmable LED 2x4 lay in fixtures
by HotLine1. 12/15/17 07:15 PM
2017 NEC Changes
by HotLine1. 12/15/17 07:06 PM
Casino Wiring methods
by HotLine1. 12/09/17 10:44 AM
Ground wire Size to water Line.
by HotLine1. 12/05/17 12:11 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
243,084 Are you busy
179,525 Re: Forum
170,439 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 5 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#200440 - 04/01/11 04:06 PM Heritage Home  
dougwells  Offline


Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,141
kamloops BC Canada
I am looking for a safe way to deal with this item rerouting new loomex may not be an option at this time.
I was thinking load center with afci breakers.

[Linked Image]


[Linked Image]


[Linked Image]


Tools for Electricians:

#200442 - 04/01/11 04:48 PM Re: Heritage Home [Re: dougwells]  
twh  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 922
Regina, Sask.
I wouldn't use afci anywhere not required by code. They can have tripping problems.

gfi dead-fronts are less expensive than gfi breakers, but must sit outside the panel. gfi breakers look nicer.

It looks like you have 3 wire circuits, so you will need some 2 pole gfi breakers.

What is the new procedure for putting K&T into a knockout?

You don't have many circuits, so when you install 15 amp breakers, you might have a problem.


#200443 - 04/01/11 04:52 PM Re: Heritage Home [Re: dougwells]  
dougwells  Offline


Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,141
kamloops BC Canada
I was thinking loom over the wire and a 2 screw connector.
This must of been the old service at one time. There is a 100 amp panel in the basement now.
I definitely have to get him some fuse restrictors while working on this smile


#200444 - 04/01/11 04:53 PM Re: Heritage Home [Re: dougwells]  
dougwells  Offline


Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,141
kamloops BC Canada
Looks like I should megger everything to as there is 25 and 30 amp fuses installed atm.

And I dont think i have any neutrals too attach to a new load center for each circuit either

Last edited by dougwells; 04/01/11 04:55 PM.

#200445 - 04/01/11 05:01 PM Re: Heritage Home [Re: dougwells]  
twh  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 922
Regina, Sask.
No neutral = no gfi


#200446 - 04/01/11 05:03 PM Re: Heritage Home [Re: dougwells]  
dougwells  Offline


Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,141
kamloops BC Canada
Gee i think i found the the fuse panel that is in my avatar laugh


#200447 - 04/01/11 05:04 PM Re: Heritage Home [Re: dougwells]  
dougwells  Offline


Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,141
kamloops BC Canada
And ohh this is all mounted to the back side of a wall the "cover" is a piece of plywood . that white is some sort of abestos paper too


#200448 - 04/01/11 05:12 PM Re: Heritage Home [Re: dougwells]  
dougwells  Offline


Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,141
kamloops BC Canada
Ohh that 3 wire loomex is 10/3 and is feeding that mess.


#200450 - 04/01/11 05:32 PM Re: Heritage Home [Re: dougwells]  
LarryC  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 783
Winchester, NH, US
Doug,

How about using the existing location as a splice box and run new wiring down to a centralized breaker panel?


#200451 - 04/01/11 05:38 PM Re: Heritage Home [Re: dougwells]  
dougwells  Offline


Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,141
kamloops BC Canada
I am wondering what year this stuff is from too.


Page 1 of 2 1 2

Member Spotlight
akmaster
akmaster
alaska
Posts: 70
Joined: June 2012
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.016s Queries: 16 (0.002s) Memory: 0.8202 MB (Peak: 1.0009 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-12-17 08:06:56 UTC