ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Al Hildenbrand - Minneapolis - obituary
by Bill Addiss - 02/03/23 07:38 PM
Violation?
by renosteinke - 01/27/23 09:52 PM
Does NEC 551.71 (F) apply to dwellings?
by BigB - 01/20/23 10:46 AM
Power submeter connections
by HotLine1 - 01/19/23 09:09 AM
New in the Gallery:
Burger King crown sillyness
Burger King crown sillyness
by wa2ise, December 11
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 24 guests, and 12 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
E
New Member
I am adding a SSAC voltage monitoring relay to an existing 3 Ph. main entrance.

I am concerned with how to tap into the 3 legs and connect to the monitor.

this will be a permanent metering hookup.

I am thinking of using small 1 amp inline fuses on each with 14 Ga. wire. With the fuse as close to each of the taps as possible.

this box is a big fused disconnect.

I am sure that the NEC has something to say about how to do this.

any input is appreciated.

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,333
Likes: 7
Member
Eric:
First...Welcome to ECN forums!

You should get responses in this section....

I'll be back later


John
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,370
Likes: 1
Cat Servant
Member
As they say in New York: Fagaddaboutit! At least, as you plan on doing it.

First off, lots of luck finding a terminal strip that will take both your feeder wires AND something as small as #14. Marathon might be a possibility.

Of greater concern is the AIC, or interrupting capacity, of the little fuses. It's simply amazing how running the power through the main breaker and adding a few feet of wire reduces your AIC requirements.

You don't do this sort of thing in the meter box, or even the switchgear. Rather, you go downstream and do it in a control panel. After all, you need some place to mount that little relay. Come to think of it, that's where you mount the terminal block as well.

With all the malarky about "70E" and such, you might consider using a 'finger-safe' fuse/fuseholder design. Personally, I like the Bussmann "CubeFuse Class J" variety - no chance of someone putting a type CC fuse in there!

Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 131
T
Member
Actually it's Fugetaboutit! Just a little spelling error.lol

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
E
New Member
I have found that I have space in a sub panel to put in a 15 amp 3 pole breaker that I can use to feed the monitor. Kind of overkill on the amps but 15 is as low as I can find in 3 pole.

I will use 14AWG wire and that should be OK no?


Last edited by eric14779; 03/15/11 09:31 AM.
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,333
Likes: 7
Member
Eric:
What you have to check is the mfg specs (of the monitor) and determine the MAX OCP they specify.

You may find that the MAX OCP is somewhere in the 1 to 5 amp range. If that is the case, a midget fuse block (finger safe preferred) should be installed in the subpanel (space available) or in your monitor enclosure.

A circuit breaker 'lock-on' will be a great addition!

!4 should not be an issue.


John
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
E
New Member
HotLine1,

the monitor specs call for a 2amp fast acting to protect the equipment.

says fuses are not required to protect the monitor.

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,333
Likes: 7
Member
OK, what is the 'equipment'?? that is 2 amps??

And, NO OCP for the monitor?? SSAC has no requirement/spec to protect the relay device?



John
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
E
New Member
John,

see the specs for the SSAC PLMU Series 3 Phase Voltage Monitor at:

www.ssac.com/pp1.htm select the PLMU link

spec sheet says that the 2 amp fuses are "recommended" not required ???

I think that if I run 14Ga. wire from a 15 amp breaker to the Monitor, that in the event of a short, the breaker would trip before the 14ga. wire is damaged...

the monitor may not survive but this setup should prevent the monitoring lines from turning into flaming ropes. Again if there is a mishap...


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *
2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC Now Available!
 
* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HotLine1
HotLine1
Brick, NJ USA
Posts: 7,333
Joined: April 2002
Top Posters(30 Days)
triple 3
Popular Topics(Views)
303,267 Are you busy
232,239 Re: Forum
216,987 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5