ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Square D "All-In-One" Panelboard
by NORCAL - 11/30/21 12:48 PM
Where is Everyone?
by luckyshadow - 11/21/21 10:14 AM
It's been an interesting career
by The Watt Doctor - 11/19/21 09:56 AM
Well I am back to stay (nearly 6 years)
by The Watt Doctor - 11/19/21 09:17 AM
Motor Load Relationships Between Fans and Pumps
by The Watt Doctor - 11/18/21 09:24 AM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 44 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 12
K
kitha Offline OP
Member
I have the service entrance panel in one building(say bldg#1) and it feeds to an existing building(bldg#2) with a 400A underground feeder. An additon is required to the building#2. Due to that total service required is 600A. Can I add a second 200A underground feeder to building#2 while the previous 400A underground feeder is stil there? This is for Ontario Canada. Do not mixup with Rule6-102 whic is applicable for multiple utility services. In my case utility meter is in bldg#1. No more utility meters are required for bldg#2.

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 613
M
Member
The answer lies in part with the utility if the second building is metered by them. BC Hydro does not like 2 meters for the same customer space.
If not the Ontario Authority might require demarking the area the other feeder supplies. Nothing worse than cross wiring a place from 2 panels.

Is the addition part of the same occupancy? If so maybe dedicating the new 200 to the addition.

I can't think of a code rule that prevents what you are planning. Certainly the need to disconnect the entire building in a fire might need to be addressed and lableing could be very important IE a sign at each panel stating there is another panel and at the supply end too.

Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 183
J
Member
if this is a 208 volt feeder you could consider retaining single feeder and stepping up to 600 volt at building 1 and back down to 208 at building 2, which would give you the capacity. But if the feeder is already 600 volts, then I guess its back to second feeder.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
AllClear
AllClear
Belmond Iowa US
Posts: 44
Joined: August 2005
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 3
dsk 2
Popular Topics(Views)
286,319 Are you busy
218,766 Re: Forum
204,920 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5