ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Linear Power Supply Quits Under Load
by sabrown. 10/17/18 05:06 PM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by dsk. 10/17/18 01:25 PM
PLC/HMI Enclosure C2, D1
by ghost307. 10/16/18 03:31 PM
Tingle off the water spigot
by dsk. 10/15/18 02:36 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (cableguy619), 24 guests, and 31 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Multiple Branch Feeders to the same building #199547
03/01/11 01:14 PM
03/01/11 01:14 PM
K
kitha  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 12
Hamilton, ON, Canada
I have the service entrance panel in one building(say bldg#1) and it feeds to an existing building(bldg#2) with a 400A underground feeder. An additon is required to the building#2. Due to that total service required is 600A. Can I add a second 200A underground feeder to building#2 while the previous 400A underground feeder is stil there? This is for Ontario Canada. Do not mixup with Rule6-102 whic is applicable for multiple utility services. In my case utility meter is in bldg#1. No more utility meters are required for bldg#2.

Tools for Electricians:
Re: Multiple Branch Feeders to the same building [Re: kitha] #199554
03/01/11 03:46 PM
03/01/11 03:46 PM
M
mikesh  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 613
Victoria, BC, Canada
The answer lies in part with the utility if the second building is metered by them. BC Hydro does not like 2 meters for the same customer space.
If not the Ontario Authority might require demarking the area the other feeder supplies. Nothing worse than cross wiring a place from 2 panels.

Is the addition part of the same occupancy? If so maybe dedicating the new 200 to the addition.

I can't think of a code rule that prevents what you are planning. Certainly the need to disconnect the entire building in a fire might need to be addressed and lableing could be very important IE a sign at each panel stating there is another panel and at the supply end too.

Re: Multiple Branch Feeders to the same building [Re: kitha] #199641
03/03/11 12:55 PM
03/03/11 12:55 PM
J
jay8  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 183
Vancouver, BC
if this is a 208 volt feeder you could consider retaining single feeder and stepping up to 600 volt at building 1 and back down to 208 at building 2, which would give you the capacity. But if the feeder is already 600 volts, then I guess its back to second feeder.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Samurai
Samurai
Fl.
Posts: 46
Joined: May 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 11
Popular Topics(Views)
250,403 Are you busy
188,014 Re: Forum
177,583 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.022s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9544 MB (Peak: 1.0882 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-10-19 00:33:49 UTC