ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Lock-down Thread
by Bill Addiss - 02/27/21 01:16 PM
Northern Tool Recalls Powerhorse Generators
by Admin - 02/25/21 09:49 PM
You will never guess
by gfretwell - 02/25/21 07:48 PM
New tool
by SMOKEYBOB - 02/15/21 04:59 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 23 guests, and 19 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Multiple Branch Feeders to the same building #199547 03/01/11 12:14 PM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 12
K
kitha Offline OP
Member
I have the service entrance panel in one building(say bldg#1) and it feeds to an existing building(bldg#2) with a 400A underground feeder. An additon is required to the building#2. Due to that total service required is 600A. Can I add a second 200A underground feeder to building#2 while the previous 400A underground feeder is stil there? This is for Ontario Canada. Do not mixup with Rule6-102 whic is applicable for multiple utility services. In my case utility meter is in bldg#1. No more utility meters are required for bldg#2.

Tools for Electricians:
Re: Multiple Branch Feeders to the same building [Re: kitha] #199554 03/01/11 02:46 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 613
M
mikesh Offline
Member
The answer lies in part with the utility if the second building is metered by them. BC Hydro does not like 2 meters for the same customer space.
If not the Ontario Authority might require demarking the area the other feeder supplies. Nothing worse than cross wiring a place from 2 panels.

Is the addition part of the same occupancy? If so maybe dedicating the new 200 to the addition.

I can't think of a code rule that prevents what you are planning. Certainly the need to disconnect the entire building in a fire might need to be addressed and lableing could be very important IE a sign at each panel stating there is another panel and at the supply end too.

Re: Multiple Branch Feeders to the same building [Re: kitha] #199641 03/03/11 11:55 AM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 183
J
jay8 Offline
Member
if this is a 208 volt feeder you could consider retaining single feeder and stepping up to 600 volt at building 1 and back down to 208 at building 2, which would give you the capacity. But if the feeder is already 600 volts, then I guess its back to second feeder.


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
cookcc
cookcc
California ,Long Beach
Posts: 28
Joined: May 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
275,516 Are you busy
209,410 Re: Forum
196,802 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3