ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Questioning the electrical norms
by HotLine1 - 03/04/21 12:35 PM
Lock-down Thread
by gfretwell - 03/03/21 12:38 PM
Northern Tool Recalls Powerhorse Generators
by Admin - 02/25/21 09:49 PM
You will never guess
by gfretwell - 02/25/21 07:48 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 16 guests, and 18 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
Cat6 installation #198957 02/08/11 09:02 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
M
Merlin Offline OP
Member
I am doing an upgrade of network cabling in an office building (basically the grunt work). The network guy told me to run cat6 to all locations. I am fairly new to the data industry. Any suggestions as to Cat6 or cat6a, or anything special I should know?

Study Guides for VDV / Structured Cabling Installers

Voice, Data, Video, (VDV) Fiber Optics, Communications, Low Voltage,
Fire Alarm, Electronic Security Systems Installations & Related

NTC Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides
Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides

Re: Cat6 installation [Re: Merlin] #198962 02/08/11 10:17 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,155
dougwells Offline
Member
I understand the termination can take longer to do

Re: Cat6 installation [Re: Merlin] #198971 02/09/11 10:06 AM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 984
G
ghost307 Offline
Member
Make very certain that you don't bend the cable sharply. Cat6 is extremely sensitive to bending radius. Most times even trying to straighten it out after it's been bent still results in the cable failing.

Watch out for any stub UP that you have to pull. If the whip that you pull gets stored in a coil waiting for the end of the job, just the cable hanging down over the end of the conduit can mess it up.

Any cable that fails the tests at the end of the job can't be fixed and will need to be replaced...usually by you at no extra cost. Since we're all working at razor thin margins these days, also be careful about other trades stepping on or yanking your cables once you've got them installed.


Ghost307
Re: Cat6 installation [Re: Merlin] #198980 02/09/11 03:13 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 212
G
Gregtaylor Offline
Member
There's a lot you should know. If you're not even sure what the questions are, you probably shouldn't be installing a data network.
I'm not trying to be insulting, but answering your question completely would be like trying to put you through apprenticeship. We're happy to help, but your question is huge.

Re: Cat6 installation [Re: Gregtaylor] #198991 02/09/11 11:30 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,379
Trumpy Offline
Member
Now hang on a minute, Greg.
This guy could be a pretty darned good electrician that is looking to branch out into new areas of work.
The only REAL difference between a Cat5e cable and Cat6 is the internal "+" filler seperating the twisted pairs.
He is running these cables, he was asking for advice on running them.
I don't think he is asking how to hook up the patch panel.

Re: Cat6 installation [Re: Merlin] #198997 02/10/11 12:24 AM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 947
T
twh Offline
Member
I did an office with a couple hundred outlets. I pulled two spare cables and used them both. The spare cables saved hours of work and we were able to get the replacements in place and terminated so it didn't hold up testing. As careful as you might be, something or someone can snag a cable.

They are as hard to terminate as cat5 and take about as long. I give that job to apprentices. They love it and talk about doing it for a living - for the first day. If they mess up, no one gets hurt and it only takes a few minutes to fix.

We leave a coil of about 20 feet above each outlet. It's nice to be able to move the outlet when the desk is relocated.

We had specs to leave a 20 foot coil over the rack, but that was a disaster with that many data cables and almost as many telephone cables. I prefer panduit or a cable-way to hide a couple extra feet so that end can be re-terminated, too.

Re: Cat6 installation [Re: Merlin] #199000 02/10/11 02:15 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,571
G
gfretwell Online Content
Member
There is a school of thought that says you never coil CATx. You are supposed to make lazy "S"s. I am not sure I have ever seen proof, it is more of a (choke) theory thing.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Cat6 installation [Re: gfretwell] #199002 02/10/11 02:39 AM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 404
noderaser Offline
Member
Originally Posted by gfretwell
There is a school of thought that says you never coil CATx. You are supposed to make lazy "S"s. I am not sure I have ever seen proof, it is more of a (choke) theory thing.


If so, many schools, companies, universities and districts, plus their various installers, have done it wrong for the past 20 years. I've never seen any Cat5/5e/6 contained using anything but coiling.

4/0 feeder, on the other hand...

Re: Cat6 installation [Re: Merlin] #199004 02/10/11 03:45 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,571
G
gfretwell Online Content
Member
I agree. I said I have never seen any proof. It was just a warning of things you might hear. When I was doing TDR training in my office I had a couple hundred foot spool of IBM type 1 cable hooked up and it worked fine (just trying to get some length out there). I also had "baseband" cables coiled on top of fluorescent troffers, tywrapped to the feeder going to the elevator and every other thing I had heard legends about. The stuff just ran.
OTOH I could show you a kink in a CAT 5, every connector and a nail through it, even one that didn't pierce any pair insulation, showed up like a sore thumb. An overhand knot is pretty ugly too.
If you were sloppy doing your terminations it was almost as bad as the nail.
We were still going pretty slow in those days so the LANs still ran fine with all of these things but these days with gigabit over copper you may not do as well. The effect will usually just be the network slowing down and everything may still "work" but your LAN administrator will be tracking it down eventually if they are earning their pay.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Cat6 installation [Re: Merlin] #199005 02/10/11 10:07 AM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 984
G
ghost307 Offline
Member
The prohibition against coiling the cable comes from the world of radio and TV. Broadcast signals can end up causing ghosting if the cables are coiled up.
You can coil Cat6 to your heart's content, just don't kink it or bend it too sharply.

BTW, lots of times Cat6 gets specified because that's "the IN thing to have". If the network can't handle those speeds, the full capabilities of Cat 6 are never touched.


Ghost307
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Alan Belson
Alan Belson
Mayenne N. France
Posts: 1,803
Joined: March 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
275,730 Are you busy
209,645 Re: Forum
196,989 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3