ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
It's been an interesting career
by Fridayrack - 12/07/21 01:30 AM
From an outsider- How does tipping work?
by gfretwell - 12/06/21 06:37 PM
Photo Editing Software?
by Fridayrack - 12/03/21 05:05 AM
Square D "All-In-One" Panelboard
by NORCAL - 11/30/21 12:48 PM
Where is Everyone?
by luckyshadow - 11/21/21 10:14 AM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 15 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#198080 01/12/11 01:30 AM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
W
New Member
I am rewiring my basement that has originally been set up as a basement suit and trying to isolate the basement from the upstairs panel. The house was built in the 70s and has had the service upgraded to two 100A panels some time ago. The panel for the upstairs has the main panel in the basement and then the sub panel on the upper floor. This sub is fairly old and has no ground bar to isolate the neutral from ground which is a code requirement. Has anyone else run across this with any ideas to help?

Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 13
S
Member
Cant say that i've ever seen that before. Only thing I would say is pull that old sub out and replace it.

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 853
L
Member
To be clear, just the 2 - 100A panels?

2nd floor is the sub?
If so, how many conductors to the 2nd floor? 4?
just add a ground bar to the sub,relocate the grounds to this bar (drill and tap,this GRD bar.)

If 3 conductors,not sure about the CEC, but you can pull up a GEC from the main to the sub.

Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
T
Member
I presume that you're trying to isolate the expense of powering up the basement.

That is, you're looking to rent the space.

Your lowest cost gambit is to correct the ground/neutral path as described above.

Then shift the loads unique to the basement over to sub-metering like E-Mon D-Mon.

http://www.emon.com/index.html



Tesla
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
W
New Member
Yes thatís correct, 2 panels in the basement that both have there own meter (one for the basement suit and one for the upstairs) and plus one sub panel for upstairs as well. The main feed is a 3c with ground. I was thinking about the ground bar idea but as soon as I start changing things in this panel then I will have to get this inspected as well. My plan was to only change wiring in the basement and only pull a permit for this basement reno.

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
W
New Member
Thank you for this idea as well for the metering options Tesla. I will save this site for future jobs. In my case it is just a matter of separating the two panels and then the basement suit will have its own meter.

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,673
Likes: 7
G
Member
How old is the panel and what brand is it? You may be able to get a neutral kit if it is a product from a major, still living, company. (C/H, SqD etc)


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
W
New Member
The house was built in 1968 and the panel is a Federal pioneer. Thank you for that idea I will check into it.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
SafetyWired
SafetyWired
Pa, USA
Posts: 44
Joined: July 2013
Top Posters(30 Days)
NORCAL 1
Popular Topics(Views)
286,628 Are you busy
219,101 Re: Forum
205,193 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5