ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Lock-down Thread
by Bill Addiss - 02/27/21 01:16 PM
Northern Tool Recalls Powerhorse Generators
by Admin - 02/25/21 09:49 PM
You will never guess
by gfretwell - 02/25/21 07:48 PM
New tool
by SMOKEYBOB - 02/15/21 04:59 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Scott35), 21 guests, and 20 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
3 phase inverter #197742 12/17/10 08:32 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 114
B
bwise121 Offline OP
Member
I've been asked to help facilitate the installation of a 10 kw 3 phase commercial pv system. There are some budget concerns. The inverters that we've looked at are quite expensive and are hoping there is a work around.
1. Can we use a single phase pv system that backfeeds the 3 phase main panel?

2. Can we use 3 single phase pv inverters and wire it in such a way that it is essentially the same as a 3 phase inverter? (someone told me you can)

I'm open to other suggestions.

Thanks,
Byron

Tools for Electricians:
Re: 3 phase inverter [Re: bwise121] #197746 12/17/10 10:39 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,233
HotLine1 Offline
Member
Byron:
My opinions...

1: I strongly doubt that the POCO would allow you to grid-tie single into 3 phase.

2: I have not seen any attempt to do this. Theoreticaly it sounds feasible, like using three single phase transformers in lieu of a three phase transformer. Also, you may have issues with the AHJ, unless you can provide documentation (Mfg) of approved/listed use.





John
Re: 3 phase inverter [Re: bwise121] #197773 12/18/10 09:42 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 783
L
LarryC Offline
Member
What drove the decision that the system had to be 3 phase?

10 KW is a relatively small system. What size service are you looking to tie into?

Are there significant single phase loads off of the 3 phase service?

Re: 3 phase inverter [Re: LarryC] #197789 12/19/10 01:51 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,335
S
sparkyinak Offline
Member
Many of the single phase inverters I dealt with can be wired as three phase. The problem is you are limited limited to one inverter per leg. Pending on the model, you could achieve 10kW. You won't be able to "stack" inverter so you would not be able to expand on it in the future if that was a future plan. Also as hotline1 mention, check with the POCO to see the system you plan to use is allowed to be grid tied


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
Re: 3 phase inverter [Re: LarryC] #197835 12/22/10 05:38 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 114
B
bwise121 Offline OP
Member
The service main is 600A 120/208 and there is one 225A 3phase, and two 100A single phase. Plenty of room for a small PV system.

Thanks!

Re: 3 phase inverter [Re: bwise121] #197851 12/23/10 07:38 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 783
L
LarryC Offline
Member
Originally Posted by bwise121
The service main is 600A 120/208 and there is one 225A 3phase, and two 100A single phase.


Assuming the 225A and 100A are designating sub panels off of the service, I would connect the inverter to the same PHASE as either one of the single phase panels. When the inverter is putting out current, it will help offset the unbalanced load.

Re: 3 phase inverter [Re: LarryC] #198216 01/15/11 11:07 PM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
M
moreDER Offline
New Member
The AHJ and the POCO would want a net metering set up, I'm pretty sure. So a separate production meter and all the signage and disconnects (lockable, window) etc. -

One idea would be to use the DC power for loads that want DC - computers, chargers, LED lighting (do a retrofit), DC motors, DC Thermal Heaters, etc. Transforming DC to AC to DC again is inefficient.


Re: 3 phase inverter [Re: bwise121] #198249 01/16/11 11:38 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,379
Trumpy Offline
Member
Originally Posted by bwise121
I've been asked to help facilitate the installation of a 10 kw 3 phase commercial pv system. There are some budget concerns.

Byron,
Who designed this system, if it was eventually found that it couldn't be done with the capital available?
That is the keystone of any business venture, the brief to the system designer would (or should have been) do this with X$$$$$$, that is your starting point in any project.
Asking the technical staff to make compromises on the basis of lack of funds is not the best start to any project, no matter how large or small. crazy

Re: 3 phase inverter [Re: moreDER] #198268 01/17/11 11:31 AM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 64
P
PAteenlectrician Offline
Member
Originally Posted by moreDER
One idea would be to use the DC power for loads that want DC - computers, chargers, LED lighting (do a retrofit), DC motors, DC Thermal Heaters, etc. Transforming DC to AC to DC again is inefficient.


That would still cost alot of money.


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
pcsailor
pcsailor
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Posts: 21
Joined: September 2019
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
275,482 Are you busy
209,385 Re: Forum
196,771 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3