ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by HotLine1. 06/13/18 01:50 PM
GE Lighting Recalls LED Tube Lamps
by Admin. 06/12/18 09:32 PM
Ketra Recalls Recessed Downlights
by Admin. 06/12/18 09:17 PM
diazed fuses
by Texas_Ranger. 06/11/18 07:31 AM
soda can fuse from UK, facebook
by wa2ise. 06/06/18 11:02 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 30 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Outlets recessed in brick #196653
10/20/10 12:46 AM
10/20/10 12:46 AM
M
Merlin  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
NW Indiana
i am wiring a new construction home that is all brick. I am looking for past experience as to what works best for outside outlet boxes. I see Arlington makes some recessed boxes.....are they any good? Any suggestions would be appreciated. What about vinyl siding or stone verneer?
Thanks, Merlin

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Outlets recessed in brick [Re: Merlin] #196657
10/20/10 03:36 AM
10/20/10 03:36 AM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,227
Estero,Fl,usa
I did some in block walls and used metal masonry boxes. That worked out OK.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Outlets recessed in brick [Re: gfretwell] #196660
10/20/10 09:28 AM
10/20/10 09:28 AM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,972
Brick, NJ USA
Metal masonry boxes work, as Greg said.

The newer 'recessed' non-metalic boxes work also. They feature a version that complies with the weatherproof-while-in-use requirements, and only protrudes 1/2 to 3/4" approx.

Depends on the appearance you or the client want!



John
Re: Outlets recessed in brick [Re: HotLine1] #196663
10/20/10 11:16 AM
10/20/10 11:16 AM
Niko  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 356
Campbell, CA
I have used arlington boxes many times (on a stucco finish wall) and it works perfect.

I assume this is what you referring to for brick installation.
http://www.arlcatalog.com/Weatherpr...X%20for%20New%20Brick%20Construction.htm


Be kind to your neighbor, he knows where you live

Re: Outlets recessed in brick [Re: Niko] #196666
10/20/10 04:00 PM
10/20/10 04:00 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,972
Brick, NJ USA
That's it.


John
Re: Outlets recessed in brick [Re: HotLine1] #196673
10/21/10 12:40 AM
10/21/10 12:40 AM
M
Merlin  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
NW Indiana
I am refering to red brick exterior. I would like to use a non-metallic box.

Re: Outlets recessed in brick [Re: Niko] #196674
10/21/10 01:02 AM
10/21/10 01:02 AM
L
leland  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 853
Lowell area, Ma. USA
Originally Posted by Niko
I have used arlington boxes many times (on a stucco finish wall) and it works perfect.

I assume this is what you referring to for brick installation.
http://www.arlcatalog.com/Weatherpr...X%20for%20New%20Brick%20Construction.htm


That is 'SLICK'. !!! Thanx!

I gotta get out more !!!!!!!!!!!!

Re: Outlets recessed in brick [Re: leland] #196699
10/22/10 12:32 AM
10/22/10 12:32 AM
Obsaleet  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 362
Pa
Watch out for those arlington plstc setups. The covers break off and then you have to get creative. Masonary box and a in use cover works well. I think they make them in bronze.

Ob


Choose your customers, don't let them choose you.

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Posts: 362
Joined: April 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
twh 5
Popular Topics(Views)
247,578 Are you busy
184,909 Re: Forum
174,136 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.040s Queries: 15 (0.014s) Memory: 0.9943 MB (Peak: 1.1593 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-06-18 20:58:16 UTC