ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 8
Recent Posts
Grid problem??
by annemarie1. 08/21/17 01:10 PM
Bathroom electrical
by doc. 08/19/17 06:53 AM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
"Line level" audio on Cat 5?
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:39 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
240,067 Are you busy
175,686 Re: Forum
167,903 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 66 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#196653 - 10/20/10 12:46 AM Outlets recessed in brick  
Merlin  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 170
NW Indiana
i am wiring a new construction home that is all brick. I am looking for past experience as to what works best for outside outlet boxes. I see Arlington makes some recessed boxes.....are they any good? Any suggestions would be appreciated. What about vinyl siding or stone verneer?
Thanks, Merlin


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#196657 - 10/20/10 03:36 AM Re: Outlets recessed in brick [Re: Merlin]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,103
Estero,Fl,usa
I did some in block walls and used metal masonry boxes. That worked out OK.


Greg Fretwell

#196660 - 10/20/10 09:28 AM Re: Outlets recessed in brick [Re: gfretwell]  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,858
Brick, NJ USA
Metal masonry boxes work, as Greg said.

The newer 'recessed' non-metalic boxes work also. They feature a version that complies with the weatherproof-while-in-use requirements, and only protrudes 1/2 to 3/4" approx.

Depends on the appearance you or the client want!



John

#196663 - 10/20/10 11:16 AM Re: Outlets recessed in brick [Re: HotLine1]  
Niko  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 356
Campbell, CA
I have used arlington boxes many times (on a stucco finish wall) and it works perfect.

I assume this is what you referring to for brick installation.
http://www.arlcatalog.com/Weatherpr...X%20for%20New%20Brick%20Construction.htm


Be kind to your neighbor, he knows where you live


#196666 - 10/20/10 04:00 PM Re: Outlets recessed in brick [Re: Niko]  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,858
Brick, NJ USA
That's it.


John

#196673 - 10/21/10 12:40 AM Re: Outlets recessed in brick [Re: HotLine1]  
Merlin  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 170
NW Indiana
I am refering to red brick exterior. I would like to use a non-metallic box.


#196674 - 10/21/10 01:02 AM Re: Outlets recessed in brick [Re: Niko]  
leland  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 853
Lowell area, Ma. USA
Originally Posted by Niko
I have used arlington boxes many times (on a stucco finish wall) and it works perfect.

I assume this is what you referring to for brick installation.
http://www.arlcatalog.com/Weatherpr...X%20for%20New%20Brick%20Construction.htm


That is 'SLICK'. !!! Thanx!

I gotta get out more !!!!!!!!!!!!


#196699 - 10/22/10 12:32 AM Re: Outlets recessed in brick [Re: leland]  
Obsaleet  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 362
Pa
Watch out for those arlington plstc setups. The covers break off and then you have to get creative. Masonary box and a in use cover works well. I think they make them in bronze.

Ob


Choose your customers, don't let them choose you.


Member Spotlight
Attic Rat
Attic Rat
Bergen Co.,N.J. USA
Posts: 524
Joined: December 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.013s Queries: 15 (0.002s) Memory: 0.7944 MB (Peak: 0.9585 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-22 07:24:05 UTC