ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 260 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#195664 08/17/10 01:47 PM
C
craizem Offline OP
Hello all,

I have a question about comercial electrical work. I am an industrial electrician so the commercial side might be a little different but wanted to know if I HAD to run steel conduit or can you use romex in a commercial building? The place that is being rewired use to be a swim club and now is going to be a nail and hair salon. This is for my In-Laws so I should probably have them talk to the town inspector. Thanks for the info and this is a pretty cool forum I am looking forward to using this often.

craizem #195666 08/17/10 02:26 PM
Without any specifics on the structure, I will refer you to read 334.10 & 334.12 in the current NEC in your locale. We use '08 NEC here in NJ.

You may also have local codes to follow, so I suggest that you contact your AHJ in your town to be sure of the install.

All that said, welcome to ECN!!

John
HotLine1 #195671 08/17/10 04:45 PM
Cat Servant
Craizem, you've picked one devil of a topic to start off with ...