ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
VDE 0100 to introduce AFCIs
by sparky. 01/20/18 05:09 PM
MRI LED lights dimmer control replacement - wow!
by Potseal. 01/19/18 08:52 PM
Video: Inventor of the GFCI self-testing shocks
by Bill Addiss. 01/17/18 11:11 PM
FPE in Germany
by HotLine1. 01/17/18 07:07 PM
Fujifilm Recalls Power Adapter Wall Plugs
by Admin. 01/16/18 07:04 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
SE cable question
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 16 guests, and 14 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Satellite dish #193825
04/21/10 05:00 PM
04/21/10 05:00 PM
G
gfretwell  Online Content
OP
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,166
Estero,Fl,usa
I am cutting the cable. Dish is coming out this week to put in DSS. My problem is, the best place for the dish is opposite the service entrance. My plan is drive a rod under the dish, connect it to the existing GES through the attic with a fat wire (I have a bunch of #2 so that is probably what I will use) and bond the whole kludge together that way. Sound right?
The dish guy was here today (wrong appointment) and dropped me off some RG-6 cable so while I was in the attic with the #2 I did the ugly run for him.
It should go fast when they finally show up


Greg Fretwell
2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Satellite dish [Re: gfretwell] #193827
04/21/10 06:40 PM
04/21/10 06:40 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,918
Brick, NJ USA
Sounds acceptable to me Greg.
You're a nice guy to do the attic work!!!



John
Re: Satellite dish [Re: HotLine1] #193828
04/21/10 07:22 PM
04/21/10 07:22 PM
E
EV607797  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
I sure don't blame you for doing as much as you can yourself. Those guys take absolutely zero pride in doing their job neatly or often properly. #2 is quite an overkill since they only use 17 gauge, but it certainly can't hurt.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Re: Satellite dish [Re: EV607797] #193831
04/21/10 09:19 PM
04/21/10 09:19 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,918
Brick, NJ USA
OK, now I know the dish/cable guys in Va. work with the same amount of pride in workmanship as they do here in the Garden State! Thanks Ed.



John
Re: Satellite dish [Re: HotLine1] #193837
04/21/10 10:55 PM
04/21/10 10:55 PM
G
gfretwell  Online Content
OP
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,166
Estero,Fl,usa
I did the attic work because I don't want someone crushing my duct work ... And worse, not telling me they did it.
I will probably end up redoing the grounding anyway unless I can talk this guy into doing things right. Lightning is certainly my biggest concern. I am really interested in what kind of surge protection they are using.
I still have a bunch of #6 cu if he doesn't have some.
The guy who was here today pretty much acted like, if he had something on the truck, I could have it. I am curious to see what they have wink
I bet we can cobble something up that will make me happy.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Satellite dish [Re: gfretwell] #193910
04/27/10 06:48 PM
04/27/10 06:48 PM
M
mikesh  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 613
Victoria, BC, Canada
I have yet to see a sattelite dish installer ground the coax in my area.

Re: Satellite dish [Re: mikesh] #193915
04/27/10 09:20 PM
04/27/10 09:20 PM
dougwells  Online Sleepy

Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,142
kamloops BC Canada
Originally Posted by mikesh
I have yet to see a sattelite dish installer ground the coax in my area.


I have yet seen BCSA care about this.
Technically shouldnt this be permitted work now. smile

I am speaking about the Province of British Columbia
All LV work needs a permit now here

Re: Satellite dish [Re: dougwells] #193916
04/27/10 10:57 PM
04/27/10 10:57 PM
L
leland  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 853
Lowell area, Ma. USA
I agree- they are running a muck - I never see them ground/bond a thing appropriately, and they are not a 'Utility'.

Re: Satellite dish [Re: leland] #193917
04/28/10 10:40 AM
04/28/10 10:40 AM
G
gfretwell  Online Content
OP
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,166
Estero,Fl,usa
The guy who installed the dish did ground the coax but to a separately driven rod that he did not connect to the service ground. The GEC he used was #10 and the rod was 3' of 1/4" copper/copper clad something. I drove a real rod, replaced his #10 with #4cu (what I had handy) and bonded it back to my GES in 2 places. I had that copper I ran the other day and I also had a #4 pigtail to the Ufer steel in the new room I left out for this this sort of thing.
We had about as nasty a thunderstorm as I have seen for a while that night. Lightning hit a pole and took out the lights for our whole neighborhood. Everything survived.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Satellite dish [Re: gfretwell] #193919
04/28/10 11:26 AM
04/28/10 11:26 AM
E
EV607797  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
See what all of that extra grounding and bonding caused? grin


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Scott35
Scott35
Anaheim, CA. USA
Posts: 2,708
Joined: October 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 20
sparky 16
Potseal 15
Popular Topics(Views)
243,583 Are you busy
180,379 Re: Forum
170,856 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.018s Queries: 16 (0.004s) Memory: 1.0262 MB (Peak: 1.2067 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-01-21 20:12:39 UTC