ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Thought this was funny
by Ronny - 12/03/20 06:08 PM
From an outsider- How does tipping work?
by gfretwell - 12/02/20 02:38 PM
Happy Thanksgiving
by Trumpy - 12/02/20 04:11 AM
Where is Everyone?
by Trumpy - 12/02/20 03:51 AM
What does your work place look like?
by Trumpy - 12/02/20 03:42 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Ronny), 25 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Satellite dish #193825 04/21/10 05:00 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,547
G
gfretwell Offline OP
Member
I am cutting the cable. Dish is coming out this week to put in DSS. My problem is, the best place for the dish is opposite the service entrance. My plan is drive a rod under the dish, connect it to the existing GES through the attic with a fat wire (I have a bunch of #2 so that is probably what I will use) and bond the whole kludge together that way. Sound right?
The dish guy was here today (wrong appointment) and dropped me off some RG-6 cable so while I was in the attic with the #2 I did the ugly run for him.
It should go fast when they finally show up


Greg Fretwell
2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Satellite dish [Re: gfretwell] #193827 04/21/10 06:40 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,218
HotLine1 Offline
Member
Sounds acceptable to me Greg.
You're a nice guy to do the attic work!!!



John
Re: Satellite dish [Re: HotLine1] #193828 04/21/10 07:22 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
E
EV607797 Offline
Member
I sure don't blame you for doing as much as you can yourself. Those guys take absolutely zero pride in doing their job neatly or often properly. #2 is quite an overkill since they only use 17 gauge, but it certainly can't hurt.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Re: Satellite dish [Re: EV607797] #193831 04/21/10 09:19 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,218
HotLine1 Offline
Member
OK, now I know the dish/cable guys in Va. work with the same amount of pride in workmanship as they do here in the Garden State! Thanks Ed.



John
Re: Satellite dish [Re: HotLine1] #193837 04/21/10 10:55 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,547
G
gfretwell Offline OP
Member
I did the attic work because I don't want someone crushing my duct work ... And worse, not telling me they did it.
I will probably end up redoing the grounding anyway unless I can talk this guy into doing things right. Lightning is certainly my biggest concern. I am really interested in what kind of surge protection they are using.
I still have a bunch of #6 cu if he doesn't have some.
The guy who was here today pretty much acted like, if he had something on the truck, I could have it. I am curious to see what they have wink
I bet we can cobble something up that will make me happy.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Satellite dish [Re: gfretwell] #193910 04/27/10 06:48 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 613
M
mikesh Offline
Member
I have yet to see a sattelite dish installer ground the coax in my area.

Re: Satellite dish [Re: mikesh] #193915 04/27/10 09:20 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,155
dougwells Offline
Member
Originally Posted by mikesh
I have yet to see a sattelite dish installer ground the coax in my area.


I have yet seen BCSA care about this.
Technically shouldnt this be permitted work now. smile

I am speaking about the Province of British Columbia
All LV work needs a permit now here

Re: Satellite dish [Re: dougwells] #193916 04/27/10 10:57 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 853
L
leland Offline
Member
I agree- they are running a muck - I never see them ground/bond a thing appropriately, and they are not a 'Utility'.

Re: Satellite dish [Re: leland] #193917 04/28/10 10:40 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,547
G
gfretwell Offline OP
Member
The guy who installed the dish did ground the coax but to a separately driven rod that he did not connect to the service ground. The GEC he used was #10 and the rod was 3' of 1/4" copper/copper clad something. I drove a real rod, replaced his #10 with #4cu (what I had handy) and bonded it back to my GES in 2 places. I had that copper I ran the other day and I also had a #4 pigtail to the Ufer steel in the new room I left out for this this sort of thing.
We had about as nasty a thunderstorm as I have seen for a while that night. Lightning hit a pole and took out the lights for our whole neighborhood. Everything survived.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Satellite dish [Re: gfretwell] #193919 04/28/10 11:26 AM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
E
EV607797 Offline
Member
See what all of that extra grounding and bonding caused? grin


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
RH1
RH1
California
Posts: 22
Joined: August 2009
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 20
Popular Topics(Views)
272,207 Are you busy
206,095 Re: Forum
194,097 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3