ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Danish type K Sockets
by winston_1 - 10/25/21 07:30 PM
Flexible Conduit?
by gfretwell - 10/24/21 01:59 AM
May I backfeed 3 phase transformer?
by dsk - 10/22/21 04:37 AM
Wire sizing
by gfretwell - 10/21/21 10:12 PM
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 10/21/21 02:03 AM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 16 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 144
JoeKP Offline OP
Member
added my new DC-AC inverter to the tractor system, now have outlets on my reactor for 12VDC and 120VAC, and switches for hood lights
These are mostly up for doug and rollie

left outlet is the 120, and the right is the 12V
switches control the 12V lights on the hood
[Linked Image from i245.photobucket.com]

bigger view
[Linked Image from i245.photobucket.com]

where the inverter goes when its in use....
[Linked Image from i245.photobucket.com]

here's the most recent video of the tractor
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l_kCvMwaHYc


-Joe
“then we'll glue em' then screw em'”
-Tom Silva
TOH
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,669
Likes: 6
G
Member
OK I'm scared, is that your point?
What is the 5-15 plug for?
Didn't you have any KO seals.

OK I know. I am not supposed to look at electrical installations on vehicles. Sorry, nevermnd

Looks great


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 144
JoeKP Offline OP
Member
lol, not gonna bother with knock out seals, i plan adding something there later on...

and what is a 5-15plug?

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,288
Member
Isn't the switch on the right marked "for use on AC only"?


A NEMA 5-15 plug is a 15Amp 125 Volt plug


Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 144
JoeKP Offline OP
Member
both switches are marked for ac only, but they work fine on DC

and the 15 amp plug on the left goes to the yellow plug by the seat for the inverter, and the 2 wire outlet is for my 12 V accessories like fan, flashing light on a tripod, and other things


-Joe
“then we'll glue em' then screw em'”
-Tom Silva
TOH
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 165
R
Member
a rolling electric chair

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 144
JoeKP Offline OP
Member
Originally Posted by Rewire
a rolling electric chair

you have no idea... if i take the plow off, it does wheelies...


-Joe
“then we'll glue em' then screw em'”
-Tom Silva
TOH
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,669
Likes: 6
G
Member
Joe, those switches will work fine on DC until you try to open a circuit with 10 or 15 amps of inductive load. Then it will weld shut because there is no zero crossing to put out the fire.
You can mitigate that with a diode across it.

I hope you don't mean the yellow plug is the output of the inverter.
I am still concerned with mixing 12 volt and 120 volt receptacles using the same type of plug. I would use "lighter plugs" for all of my 12 volt stuff. They do make good ones and you can get a lighter socket in a 3/4" KO as I recall.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 144
JoeKP Offline OP
Member
Originally Posted by gfretwell
Joe, those switches will work fine on DC until you try to open a circuit with 10 or 15 amps of inductive load. Then it will weld shut because there is no zero crossing to put out the fire.
You can mitigate that with a diode across it.

I hope you don't mean the yellow plug is the output of the inverter.
I am still concerned with mixing 12 volt and 120 volt receptacles using the same type of plug. I would use "lighter plugs" for all of my 12 volt stuff. They do make good ones and you can get a lighter socket in a 3/4" KO as I recall.


I think I have some older switches lying around that are made for DC as well, I might go check my boxes of junk to find them.
as for the plugs, I do have a few lighter ones, but all of my 12V accessories are wired with 2 wire cords and plugs, but since I am the only one using them, I put a small padlock on the prongs where the holes are so no one else can plug it in.
when I get home later, I will put the inverter on to show you how it is set up, the invertet plugs into the lighter port by the battery, and the yellow cord cap plugs into the inverter (there is no suicide cord)


-Joe
“then we'll glue em' then screw em'”
-Tom Silva
TOH
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 48
U
Member
That setup worries me a lot too - it's ok saying you "padlock" the plugs, but some unknowing person can still break/saw of the lock or even change the plug thinking the appliance is 120volt. I use a 12volt system here too, but I use the old BS546 (round pin plugs rated 5Amp) as virtually no one has these in homes any more. I keep all 230volt appliances on BS1363 as it should be.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Vlado
Vlado
Croatia
Posts: 28
Joined: February 2011
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 7
Popular Topics(Views)
284,883 Are you busy
217,430 Re: Forum
203,743 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5