ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Northern Tool Recalls Powerhorse Generators
by Admin - 02/25/21 09:49 PM
You will never guess
by gfretwell - 02/25/21 07:48 PM
Lock-down Thread
by Bill Addiss - 02/24/21 04:40 PM
New tool
by SMOKEYBOB - 02/15/21 04:59 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 21 guests, and 17 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Re:Panels #193170 03/20/10 08:41 PM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
H
harold endean Offline OP
Member
Are you allowed to install a sub panel in an attic?

How about a service panel?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re:Panels [Re: harold endean] #193171 03/20/10 08:45 PM
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 165
R
Rewire Offline
Member
As long as you meet space and accessability requirements

Re:Panels [Re: Rewire] #193179 03/20/10 08:59 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
E
EV607797 Offline
Member
I see them all the time around here, especially with multiple HVAC system zones. 100A sub panel to feed two heating sections in heat pump installations is fairly common in larger homes to feed backup heat.

I consider such an installation no different that the requirement to have a disconnect for the equipment anyway. Isn't a disconnect essentially the same thing as a sub-panel for the most part? In the instances that I encounter, this is just a case of these disconnects being contained within a single enclosure.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Re:Panels [Re: EV607797] #193188 03/20/10 09:31 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,569
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
How do they get around 110.26?

If this is just a disconnect and the overcurrent protection for the branch circuit is in a properly serviceable location it is winked at but if this is the panelboard at the load end of a feeder or a tap I would really have to hear a story if I could not see 110.26(A) (1) through (3) satisfied.

There is always a nagging inconsistency in how we enforce 110.26(A). I have seen inspectors who are pedantic about the outside disconnect clearances for an HVAC condenser and then have no problems with the air handler disco stuffed in the corner of the closet with the air handler. I have seen some that you needed a skinny arm to even reach.


Greg Fretwell
Re:Panels [Re: gfretwell] #193192 03/20/10 09:45 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
E
EV607797 Offline
Member
Greg, the ones I have encountered are for air handlers with backup heat are 240V only, so there is no requirement for a neutral. The ones I've seen are 4-circuit panels with 100 amp MLO panels to house two 2-pole breakers. They are all over the place around here. I should have clarified that there are no vacant pole spaces to allow "Harry Homeowner" to add a breaker for a ceiling fan.

Nevertheless, they still are technically sub-panels.

Don't make me go there........


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Re:Panels [Re: EV607797] #193194 03/20/10 10:14 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 939
F
frenchelectrican Offline
Member
I have see the subpanels in the attic but service panels once a while not very often due the POCO regulations plus local insepctors may have issue with nonOCPD'ed service entrance conductors in the attic space.

BTW Wisconsin say unfused service condutors are limited to 1.5 meter {5 feet} max

France - rather have all it outside much as possible but only allowed indoor short as possible

Unless you have main disconnection outdoor then after that it pretty much unlimited.

Merci,Marc


Pas de problme,il marche n'est-ce pas?"(No problem, it works doesn't it?)

Re:Panels [Re: frenchelectrican] #193200 03/21/10 09:46 AM
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 165
R
Rewire Offline
Member
I would think ambient temps could lead to breakers tripping

Re:Panels [Re: Rewire] #193219 03/21/10 08:44 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,233
HotLine1 Offline
Member
Harold:
I've come accross a few recently, only issue I had (As Rewire said) was ambient temps. That was addressed via adequate ventilation, installed by HVAC contractor.

As to a service panel being in the attic, as long as unprotected conductors are addressed, I see no issue.



John
Re:Panels [Re: HotLine1] #193223 03/22/10 09:11 AM
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 165
R
Rewire Offline
Member
We put them in unfinished basements so why not an unfinished attic,I think a permenate stair would be required.

Re:Panels [Re: Rewire] #193228 03/22/10 11:19 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,569
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
I guess I have just never seen an attic with 6'6" of headroom for the required 36x30 working space.
Since NFPA seems OK with a panel stuffed with AFCI/GFCIs in an un-airconditioned garage they must not see heat as being an issue. (in spite of most MCCBs being rated at 40C)


Greg Fretwell
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Alan Belson
Alan Belson
Mayenne N. France
Posts: 1,803
Joined: March 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
MCosta 3
Popular Topics(Views)
275,386 Are you busy
209,282 Re: Forum
196,579 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3