ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
AFCI’s Revisited
by sparky - 09/24/22 09:58 AM
NFPA Price Increase Coming
by Bill Addiss - 09/23/22 02:22 PM
Siemens breakers
by gfretwell - 09/23/22 01:45 PM
What do you look like?II
by HotLine1 - 09/22/22 12:33 PM
Tough being a lineman's kid
by gfretwell - 09/21/22 03:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 11 guests, and 23 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#192351 02/09/10 04:55 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 61
J
jkochan Offline OP
Member
I have a Transformer marked: GE 9T58K0074, 2.00KVA 1PH 50/60Hz, Type IP, 40C AMB,100C RISE, Class 100 IS-12. Primary voltages are 230-460-575 Secondary voltages 95 RCT and 115. Could this be used to power a small portable 230V welder from a 20 amp garage receptacle? The transformer is free so the cost of having a power supply built out of it would be reduced.

jkochan #192353 02/09/10 06:14 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 61
J
jkochan Offline OP
Member
Sorry for the incomplete post. This transformer is the control transformer from a 200 ton chiller we are replacing. Having recovered all the control circuit boards and sensors for spares it seems a shame to scrap the transformer if we could put it use. Making our small mig welder a little more portable would help out with repairs in areas where 230 isn't available. Is this something that is allowable? could I have our electrical contractor build something to allow us to do this that is cord connected?

jkochan #192354 02/09/10 07:40 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 613
M
Member
Is the welder bigger than 2000 watts? I'd guess yes. That transformer will become a fuse when you plug a load bigger than 2000 watts into it. the maximim load at 230 volts is only 8 amps.

mikesh #192361 02/10/10 11:16 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 61
J
jkochan Offline OP
Member
Hmmm... I guess that takes care of that idea. What size transformer would we have to have to be able to use it? I'm pretty sure that at some point weight will cancel convenience and it might be cheaper to buy a 120 volt mig.

jkochan #192362 02/10/10 11:40 AM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,289
Member

You haven't yet provided the size of your MIG welder. The only description is "small".

The transformer required is going to have to be at least the KVA rating of the MIG welder.

You're probably better off just purchasing a 120V unit.


electure #192375 02/11/10 03:32 AM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,423
Likes: 3
Member
No,
Junk it.
It won't supply the output current.

Trumpy #192393 02/11/10 04:47 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 61
J
jkochan Offline OP
Member
Thanks for the input. It's an older welder, pretty beat up before we got it. The plates on it are battle scarred and un-readable. Might be able to figure it out if I open it up and take a look at the innards, but as you say, the transformer probably won't handle the load.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Scott35
Scott35
Anaheim, CA. USA
Posts: 2,722
Joined: October 2000
Top Posters(30 Days)
Jim M 5
Trumpy 4
Popular Topics(Views)
297,366 Are you busy
228,243 Re: Forum
213,145 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5