ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Vibrator Supplies??
by gfretwell - 10/19/19 08:33 PM
FPE in Germany
by NORCAL - 10/16/19 08:24 AM
Help with aging employee advice.
by Bill Addiss - 10/15/19 10:58 PM
Fuse blower plug?
by gfretwell - 10/13/19 03:23 PM
Power factor and transformer efficiency
by TeslaEdison - 10/13/19 04:05 AM
New in the Gallery:
FPE Breaker panel in germany
What is this for?
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (donles), 13 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Mounting 4 inch square boxes #191348 12/24/09 08:12 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 124
P
poorboy Offline OP
Member
Is it technically legal to mount a standard 2 1/8 inch deep 4-square on wooden studs by putting a screw thru each of the small holes in the side (near the front) of the box? It makes a sturdy connection.

I know there are Caddy (H-23 0r H6) brackets for the purpose, and also that there are 4-squares with brackets built on the side. I am wondering if I can choose not to use these and do it the above way instead.

Does a question like this ultimately come down to what the UL "orange book" may clarify? (I don't know where to look at one of these.)

Last edited by poorboy; 12/24/09 08:12 PM.
2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Mounting 4 inch square boxes [Re: poorboy] #191352 12/24/09 11:34 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,498
G
George Little Offline
Member
I would answer your question with a question: What do you think those holes are suppose to be used for?
Legend has it that those holes were originally used to suspend the boxes while they were being galvanized. As the technology improved they quit using those holes and eliminated them from the box. The complaints were such that the manufacturer went back to having the holes in the boxes.
There suppose to be mounting brackets that fit these holes but I've never seen them while I wore the tools or while I inspected for the last 25 years.
Can an installer use them to mount the box? My answer is yes. Does he need to use the illusive bracket that matches those holes? My answer is No.
Is using these holes causing any hazard? Same answer No.
Does everyone agree with me? Definitely No. But thats what this forum is all about.


George Little
Re: Mounting 4 inch square boxes [Re: George Little] #191354 12/25/09 12:30 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
renosteinke Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Go ahead, use the side holes if you want. Or, make your own. The brackets are just a way to help us, making the job easier.

Re: Mounting 4 inch square boxes [Re: renosteinke] #191366 12/25/09 01:55 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 350
M
mbhydro Offline
Member
Only time I have ever used a bracket on a box is on steel studs, I always thought the holes in the boxes were for screws.

Re: Mounting 4 inch square boxes [Re: mbhydro] #191379 12/25/09 07:16 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 939
F
frenchelectrican Offline
Member
I done the same thing I put in the screws in the small holes on the side of the box and if done right it will not affect the whole thing at all.

Just remember if you use two device mud ring just watch out with produited screw head that is the only quirk I have to watch out otherwise not a issue most case unless you get 277V in the box that will upper the anite a bit.

Merci.
Marc


Pas de problme,il marche n'est-ce pas?"(No problem, it works doesn't it?)

Re: Mounting 4 inch square boxes [Re: frenchelectrican] #191381 12/25/09 08:07 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,498
G
George Little Offline
Member
Hey Marc- How does 277v. change anything??


George Little
Re: Mounting 4 inch square boxes [Re: George Little] #191383 12/26/09 12:23 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,409
G
gfretwell Online Content
Member
Bigger sparks? wink

Sorry maybe it was the egg nog that made me say that.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Mounting 4 inch square boxes [Re: George Little] #191384 12/26/09 02:08 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 939
F
frenchelectrican Offline
Member
Originally Posted by George Little
Hey Marc- How does 277v. change anything??


A three way 20 amp Heveyduty toggle switch useally get pretty close to confortable only twice I got little careless with screws it shorted out when I engerized it.
That something you have to remember it once it did happend.

Single pole verison not too bad most case if you are smart enough to know which side you can screw in the box to the stud.

If the screws are on the left side you are fine with it but on right side that where the issue will raise a bit espcally with shallow mudrings deep mud ring it don't happend at all so far.

Merci.
Marc


Pas de problme,il marche n'est-ce pas?"(No problem, it works doesn't it?)

Re: Mounting 4 inch square boxes [Re: frenchelectrican] #191411 12/27/09 01:10 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 853
L
leland Offline
Member
Sure you can use them.
the galvi dip hole may be true.But as time went on I deduce that the machine tooling the box is designed to place the holes for the next step of welding the brackets on.
This way,1 tool 2 box designs.

Re: Mounting 4 inch square boxes [Re: leland] #191489 12/31/09 02:52 AM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 233
watersparkfalls Offline
Member
I think when you use those holes to mount 4 sq. box for receptacles they can be a bit flimsy(if plunger isn't used)and can be irritating when drywall is cut bigger then the ears of the device. I have in the past knocked out 2 of the 1/2 ko's and screwed using fender washers, seem to be a little more secure being in the middle vs. the front IMHO. Not time efficient, but neither is trying to fix a loose box on trim out.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
TOOL_5150
TOOL_5150
Bay Area
Posts: 61
Joined: August 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 10
Popular Topics(Views)
259,645 Are you busy
195,027 Re: Forum
184,441 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3