ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
High current GFI vs regular GFCI
by gfretwell. 11/16/18 01:45 AM
This anti-theist is priceless!!!
by djk. 11/14/18 07:19 AM
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by Albert. 11/07/18 12:48 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 33 guests, and 23 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
400 amp meter #190456
11/18/09 11:48 PM
11/18/09 11:48 PM
watersparkfalls  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 222
Washington...Not DC
I ordered a Cutler Hammer 400 amp twin meter, the box had obviously been opened before I got it(since the staples weren't secured)anyway upon opening the meter base I discovered the utility side didn't have lugs for the linemen to connect to. I called my vendor and he ordered me the lugs for it(at my cost), he said they are sold separately. I have some issues with the fact that 1. I have never had to install lugs before on a meter base and find this peculiar. 2. He said the lugs came with phillip screws...how can I possibly torque these enough that there won't be any vibrations on a 400 amp bus/lug? Am I being too worrisome, because I have seen what happened on a 200 amp service that had a bolt from the main breaker(from the factory) to the bus which got glowing red because it was a turn and a half lose. Whats your guys thoughts?
Thanks,
H2o

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: 400 amp meter [Re: watersparkfalls] #190460
11/19/09 02:22 AM
11/19/09 02:22 AM
E
EV607797  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
In these parts, our predominant POCO actually prefers 3/8" studs with nuts for them to make their own final connections. They don't want lugs at all. They even supply meter sockets for 320A and below for residential use at no charge. They do the line and load side terminations using Hypress terminals, so all we do is leave the cable hanging there for them. With overhead services, they even furnish & install the upper part of the SEU cable on 200 amp services or smaller.

I must say that I've never heard of lugs rated for 400 amps that are only secured by single Phillips screws. I'd say maybe a 1/4" flat head that requires a #3 screwdriver might suffice, but I agree that the vibration issue would leave me wondering as well.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Re: 400 amp meter [Re: EV607797] #190485
11/20/09 11:49 AM
11/20/09 11:49 AM
K
KJay  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 763
MA, USA
I think he probably means the large flush head Philips screws that run through a hole in the back of the lug to secure it to the bus. Those lugs usually have one or two raised ridges that overlap the bus or some other means to prevent side-to-side movement when you torque down a conductor.

Re: 400 amp meter [Re: KJay] #190490
11/20/09 06:00 PM
11/20/09 06:00 PM
E
EV607797  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
Exactly. The ones I've seen have two nibs on the back of the lug that line up with holes in the bus, then the jumbo flat head Phillips screw just goes through to hold the lug in place.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
renosteinke
renosteinke
Blue Collar Country
Posts: 5,316
Joined: January 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 8
dsk 2
Popular Topics(Views)
251,506 Are you busy
188,681 Re: Forum
178,384 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.017s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9609 MB (Peak: 1.0923 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-16 11:53:43 UTC