ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
LED retrofit flickers
by rmiell. 01/18/19 08:49 PM
Israel
by Texas_Ranger. 01/14/19 07:12 AM
Free Code class in Maryland 1/16/2019
by Admin. 01/12/19 05:43 PM
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by RODALCO. 01/12/19 02:37 AM
sec cable code conflict
by jake2018. 01/11/19 07:36 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 7 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Range cord vs circuit #190138
11/07/09 01:14 PM
11/07/09 01:14 PM
watersparkfalls  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 222
Washington...Not DC
I have an island(slab)with a range in it, I will need to pull thwn through my raceway to feed it, the manufactures specs say it has a maximum amperage of 27.6 amps and requires a 40 amp cord for connection. Can I feed a 40 amp plug with only 30 amps? Seems as an apprentice, my old company got gigged for this exact same thing. What say you?
Thanks,
H20

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Range cord vs circuit [Re: watersparkfalls] #190143
11/07/09 03:18 PM
11/07/09 03:18 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,335
Estero,Fl,usa
230.23

Quote
(B) 30-Ampere Branch Circuits. A 30-ampere branch circuit shall be permitted to supply fixed lighting units with heavy-duty lampholders in other than a dwelling unit(s) or utilization equipment in any occupancy. A rating of any one cord-and-plug-connected utilization equipment shall not exceed 80 percent of the branch-circuit ampere rating.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Range cord vs circuit [Re: gfretwell] #190147
11/07/09 04:56 PM
11/07/09 04:56 PM
K
KJay  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 763
MA, USA
What I have noticed, over the last several years anyway, is how difficult it is sometimes to decipher range manufactures listed installation instructions and electrical requirements.
Often they list a minimum circuit ampacity as well as a minimum conductor size that doesn’t seem to correspond directly to the nameplate rating of the appliance.

I can remember a couple of years ago with one dual-fuel range, the installation instructions said to install a 30A 4-wire receptacle in the location specified on the template, but when I read the actual electrical requirements in the instructions, they stated to use a #8 minimum conductor size for the branch circuit.

Because of this, I always try and get copies of the manufactures installation instructions whenever I get the appliance schedule for a job.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
cookcc
cookcc
California ,Long Beach
Posts: 28
Joined: May 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 4
Popular Topics(Views)
252,761 Are you busy
189,585 Re: Forum
179,250 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.021s Queries: 15 (0.005s) Memory: 0.9519 MB (Peak: 1.0789 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2019-01-20 04:58:02 UTC