ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Changing a Bulb
by gfretwell. 07/14/18 03:12 PM
Tray cable?
by gfretwell. 07/11/18 10:18 PM
Eaton Heavy Duty 30A and 60A Safety Switches
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:49 PM
ORTOVOX Recalls Avalanche Transceivers
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:44 PM
Tingle off the water spigot
by gfretwell. 07/08/18 12:58 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 33 guests, and 17 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Range cord vs circuit #190138
11/07/09 02:14 PM
11/07/09 02:14 PM
watersparkfalls  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 222
Washington...Not DC
I have an island(slab)with a range in it, I will need to pull thwn through my raceway to feed it, the manufactures specs say it has a maximum amperage of 27.6 amps and requires a 40 amp cord for connection. Can I feed a 40 amp plug with only 30 amps? Seems as an apprentice, my old company got gigged for this exact same thing. What say you?
Thanks,
H20

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Range cord vs circuit [Re: watersparkfalls] #190143
11/07/09 04:18 PM
11/07/09 04:18 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,242
Estero,Fl,usa
230.23

Quote
(B) 30-Ampere Branch Circuits. A 30-ampere branch circuit shall be permitted to supply fixed lighting units with heavy-duty lampholders in other than a dwelling unit(s) or utilization equipment in any occupancy. A rating of any one cord-and-plug-connected utilization equipment shall not exceed 80 percent of the branch-circuit ampere rating.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Range cord vs circuit [Re: gfretwell] #190147
11/07/09 05:56 PM
11/07/09 05:56 PM
K
KJay  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 763
MA, USA
What I have noticed, over the last several years anyway, is how difficult it is sometimes to decipher range manufactures listed installation instructions and electrical requirements.
Often they list a minimum circuit ampacity as well as a minimum conductor size that doesn’t seem to correspond directly to the nameplate rating of the appliance.

I can remember a couple of years ago with one dual-fuel range, the installation instructions said to install a 30A 4-wire receptacle in the location specified on the template, but when I read the actual electrical requirements in the instructions, they stated to use a #8 minimum conductor size for the branch circuit.

Because of this, I always try and get copies of the manufactures installation instructions whenever I get the appliance schedule for a job.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HappyElectrician
HappyElectrician
Penn USA
Posts: 31
Joined: December 2011
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 5
Popular Topics(Views)
248,133 Are you busy
185,587 Re: Forum
174,923 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.025s Queries: 15 (0.006s) Memory: 0.9522 MB (Peak: 1.0793 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-07-19 19:19:59 UTC