ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Grounding electrodes
by gfretwell - 09/07/21 03:41 PM
Looking For Electricians in the Midlands
by Alex247 - 09/06/21 05:26 AM
Backup Generator Done Right
by timmp - 08/31/21 04:44 PM
New in the Gallery:
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
February, North East Indiana
February, North East Indiana
by timmp, July 25
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 39 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
Member
I've seen this happen over the years and have not really found a problem but maybe one time that I can think of. When an a/c comes on, the lights will dim momentarily
(just for a split second). Is this something that can be called normal or is there actually a problem hid in the circuit somewhere? I know if other appliances such as range, dryer etc... all are doing it, that there is a possibility of a loose neutral somewhere or even possibility of the power company loosing a phase or neutral somewhere, but I'm talking about just a momemtarily and slight dimming. The connections in the electrical panel have already been checked. Thanks for the input..

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,662
Likes: 4
G
Member
It is not unusual. There are a lot of things that can contribute to that. The size of the LRA on your compressor, the voltage drop in the service conductors and the transformer are a the main things. Those are really all out of your control. I don't really notice the lights dimming here except the ones on a dimmer but I do see the dip on the meter I have on the power.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,437
Member
My house was built in 2005, and my lights don't dim when the A/C kicks in. PG&E's transformer is very close though (on the other side of my neighbor's yard) and I believe it's a 25kva

I've performed service upgrades in older neighborhoods and had customers call saying their lights still dim, etc... and usually it's the poco trying to feed a whole block off of a 70 year old 15 kva transformer with 1/0 (or even #2) secondaries. (Anaheim and LADWP are notorious for this)

Only in SDG&E land did I ever see a poco upgrade their system after the city turned in final on the panel upsize.

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,662
Likes: 4
G
Member
I have never seen a service drop larger than #2al for 200a or less.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
S
Member
Dimming of incandescent bulbs goes by the square of the voltage, so even a small difference is voltage is amplified, and the human eye is very good at noticing even a tiny difference. It's normal and expected to have some voltage drop in the main feeders whenever a large motor load like a compressor starts up. The poco lines from the transformer to your house are the main culprit, I think. They're simply very small.

Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,437
Member
Greg, I was referring to the "hardline" secondaries from the transformer feeding multiple drops going from pole to pole... a typical new construction 200A service here will get a 1/0 duplex and #4 or 6 for 100A here

San Diego actually upgrades the "pole to pole" duplex up to 4/0 from what I've seen


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
electure
electure
Fullerton, CA USA
Posts: 4,287
Joined: December 2000
Top Posters(30 Days)
timmp 3
Popular Topics(Views)
282,928 Are you busy
216,696 Re: Forum
203,120 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5