ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Tingle off the water spigot
by dsk. 10/15/18 02:36 PM
Board tester power supply?
by JoeTestingEngr. 10/13/18 12:14 AM
Voltage sag
by Trumpy. 10/12/18 06:59 PM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by Trumpy. 10/12/18 06:50 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 21 guests, and 27 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Transfer switch before metering? #189530
10/14/09 10:09 PM
10/14/09 10:09 PM
A
ayrton  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 201
Pa
We have a somewhat unique service set up at a bank/post office. 500kcmil fed from utility pole mount xfmrs to trough and two meters on exterior wall. 500's go through trough and feed a 400a 3p 4 wire meter, than into buiding to disconnecting means. 3/0 is tapped off of 500's in trough to feed a 200a 3P 4w meter than travels inside to disconnecting means.

I would like to pull 500's out of trough (line side of meters) repace trough with 24x20 nema3 box. splice onto the 500s and go to my new 400a disconnect, which will than feed transfer switch. Than from transfer switch, come back to nema 3 box and feed meters. Is this legal?

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Transfer switch before metering? [Re: ayrton] #189531
10/14/09 11:37 PM
10/14/09 11:37 PM
Y
Yoopersup  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Michigan
Why not get a Service rated transfer switch , go from Tap to meter, Meter to Transfer switch, Transfer switch to service rated Disconnect Switch.
I think the Power Company won't be to happy about having a Transfer switch ahead of the metering.
You also can't mix Service conductors & Conductors after the Service disconnect(feeder) together.(230.7)2005 NEC in the same conduit or J box.

Re: Transfer switch before metering? [Re: ayrton] #189961
10/30/09 11:13 PM
10/30/09 11:13 PM
Niko  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 356
Campbell, CA
It does not sound like it is a good design.
Every time the genset kicks on and provides power it will go through the meter and the customers gets charged for it?

It may be best to consult with the local POCO.


Be kind to your neighbor, he knows where you live

Re: Transfer switch before metering? [Re: Niko] #190000
11/02/09 02:46 PM
11/02/09 02:46 PM
S
SteveFehr  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
Chesapeake, VA
The service-rated transfer switch should only ever go downstream from the meter, not upstream of it.

If you want both services to be on generator, you would need to get two transfer switches. One generator can feed multiple transfer switches, you just have to be careful about what you do with the neutrals when you're dealing with multiple services like that.

Re: Transfer switch before metering? [Re: SteveFehr] #190003
11/02/09 03:39 PM
11/02/09 03:39 PM
Y
Yoopersup  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Michigan
You can also buy CT metering units. That meter it after utility meterting if you want to know power usuage, There used all the time in office building with several tendent but only one utility co. Main meter.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Niko
Niko
Campbell, CA
Posts: 356
Joined: August 2006
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 11
Trumpy 3
Popular Topics(Views)
250,294 Are you busy
187,933 Re: Forum
177,467 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.027s Queries: 15 (0.006s) Memory: 0.9689 MB (Peak: 1.1091 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-10-16 14:28:05 UTC