ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Safety at heights?
by gfretwell - 04/23/24 03:03 PM
Old low volt E10 sockets - supplier or alternative
by gfretwell - 04/21/24 11:20 AM
Do we need grounding?
by gfretwell - 04/06/24 08:32 PM
UL 508A SPACING
by tortuga - 03/30/24 07:39 PM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 228 guests, and 10 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#187519 06/29/09 08:56 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,445
Likes: 3
Cat Servant
Member
The committee has asserted that AFCI devices (not breakers) are readily available, and that 2-pole combination AFCI breakers will be available if the market demands them.

So, I put out this call:

1) Anyone with an actual picture of an AFCI device - NOT something cropped from a 10 yr. old catalog - please provide a picture of the device; and,

2) Anyone with substantiation that, for whatever reason, 'combination' AFCI breakers can NOT be made in a 2-pole version, please post that information.

Thanks.

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep
2023 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with the Latest NEC & Exam Prep

>> 2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
 

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,382
Likes: 7
Member
I saw an ad/press release that Siemen's (I think) has a 2-pole available now. Weather it's on the shelf apply house is another matter.

The mysterious AFCI 'device' may be akin to the Loch Ness monster, or the tooth fairy.


John
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 337
S
Member
In the words of the Christmas Dragnet distorted with my aging memory.

"I believe! I believe!"

"What about the Easter Bunny?"

"Yeah, him to. Though I'm still not sure about Cincinati."

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,158
Member
Originally Posted by HotLine1
I saw an ad/press release that Siemen's (I think) has a 2-pole available now. Weather it's on the shelf apply house is another matter.

The mysterious AFCI 'device' may be akin to the Loch Ness monster, or the tooth fairy.


I havent checked the links in this thread yet.
https://www.electrical-contractor.net/forums/ubbthreads.php/topics/187383/AFCI_breakers#Post187383

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,382
Likes: 7
Member
Doug:
That's it.
Thanks for the link.




John
jay8 #187541 06/30/09 08:12 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,445
Likes: 3
Cat Servant
Member
OK ... so here is where it seems to stand:

There DO exist 'combination' 2-pole AFCI's, at least from two makers. Square D seems intent on discouraging the use of all MWBC's. I'm beginning to see where some of the recent code changed relating to MWBC's comes from.

That leaves the elusive AFCI device. Anyone have a picture of one?

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,382
Likes: 7
Member
Reno:
"That leaves the elusive AFCI device. Anyone have a picture of one?"

Popular consensus is that there is no such animal, yet!

BTW, my thought to to the 'metalic raceway xx feet to an AFCI could be interperted as within a structure that has an obsolete panel, a subpanel could be installed...with a metalic raceway of xx feet. That would kind of make sense of this NEC reference.



John
HotLine1 #187641 07/04/09 07:36 PM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
H
Member
John,


I have a picture of the AFCI device. It is in the computer next to the picture of that old Jersey Devil that we have heard about. I will find it . ( someday) smile

Joined: May 2007
Posts: 169
C
Member
After sending the 2 pole combination link from Siemens web page to my wholesaler (GE distributor) he started beating the bushes and came back assuring me that GE had them in the works. I won't be pulling any multiwire homeruns to the bedrooms until I have one in my hand though.

ChicoC10 #187799 07/09/09 10:09 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,931
Likes: 34
G
Member
I wouldn't install one I had to warranty until they were in the field for a while. Remember the SqD fiasco.


Greg Fretwell
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5