ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Flexible Conduit?
by gfretwell - 10/24/21 01:59 AM
May I backfeed 3 phase transformer?
by dsk - 10/22/21 04:37 AM
Wire sizing
by gfretwell - 10/21/21 10:12 PM
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 10/21/21 02:03 AM
Need some info on Japanese outlets, 200V 15A
by andey - 10/20/21 08:05 AM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 22 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 136
C
cgw Offline OP
Member
A guy wants to run a circuit to the rear of his property (700 feet)for lights on gate post. He also may build a garage back there at some point.
First question - just run the 120/240 circuit (or feeder) the 700 feet with cable sized based on the volatge drop (I can't offhand think of any thing else.
The other question is whether or not to run the feeder for the lights and future garage now. That is a question for the owner (whether he is sure he is going to build the garage at some point).

Joined: May 2007
Posts: 169
C
Member
It would all depend on how sure he is or isn't that a building will be appearing there in the future and what he's willing to pay for "future proofing".

If he's pretty sure then a big pipe, some goodly sized conductors, possibly a xformer. and a small sub panel might be in order to just get it done now.

If not sure but maybe it will happen I would at least oversize the pipe to accommodate a larger pull in the future.

Joined: May 2005
Posts: 984
G
Member
I agree with Chico.
Assuming that this is a conduit job and he only wants the small circuit for the lights right now, I'd suggest increasing the conduit size so that the wires can be pulled out and replaced in the future.
That wouldn't cost all that much to do today; and he gets to defer the garage decision for as long as he wants.

In fact I'd probably go up another trade size with the conduit just to make it easier on my back when I try to pull 700 feet of conductors out and back in.


Ghost307
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
T
Member
I'd also consider bringing over phone lines and a co-ax run.

If these conductors are shielded and voltage rated you might run them in the same pipe -- if permitted by the AHJ.

Otherwise, drop in a chase/pipe for them.

All of the money is in the trench, itself. Pipe is cheap.

I never run PVC in anything smaller than 1" if it leaves the building.

For such a long run get the 20' PVC, use the HOT blue glue and keep the dirt out of your run.


Tesla
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 152
A
Member
Over that distance he will need 8 AWG to run 3.3 amps (assuming 400W of lighting) and be below 3% voltage drop. If he draws significantly more current (like for a garage), he's going to need a transformer and that may dictate a new service drop. As a result I would not bother with the "future needs" as they are most likely going be fundamentally different.

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 68
H
Member
A small single phase transformer at each end will significantly reduce voltage drop and it is legal. By raising the voltage to 480 or even 600 volts at the supply end and lowering the voltage back down at the far end, the amperage and wire size is reduced. An overcurrent device at the far end would be required as well. You can still install a conduit sized for the future load, but install small conductors with perhaps two in ground open bottom junction boxes in the run to make the install easier. Comparing the cost of copper and the larger conduit to the cost of the two transformers will be useful in making a decision.

Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
S
Member
Also depends what all he wants in his garage. Lights and a garage door opener aren't all that intensive and going a few conduit sizes bigger is a great idea. If he wants to be welding car frames, though...

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 613
M
Member
Funny thing about your situation. You run #8 for voltage drop and the next owner puts a 40 amp panel on it. Talk to the owner about the future and what your concerns are. At least then he will be less likely to do what I suggested. The next owner?? He'll probably try to sue you if he has a voltage problem on his 40 amp panel ;-)


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
MarkC10
MarkC10
CA, Inland Empire
Posts: 43
Joined: September 2013
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 7
Popular Topics(Views)
284,854 Are you busy
217,421 Re: Forum
203,737 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5