ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
How's all our Non-US folks doing?
by grich - 09/27/21 11:59 AM
Well I am back to stay (nearly 6 years)
by Bill Addiss - 09/26/21 11:09 PM
nec 110.3 (B)
by HotLine1 - 09/26/21 03:42 PM
Grounding electrodes
by gfretwell - 09/07/21 03:41 PM
New in the Gallery:
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
February, North East Indiana
February, North East Indiana
by timmp, July 25
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 3 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#185383 03/12/09 09:34 PM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 706
T
Tiger Offline OP
Member
I'm experimenting with internet TV and having some minor problems:

I have a laptop connected to the TV.
The video is connected with a VGA cable.
I'm getting sound with PC stereo speakers plugged into the headphone jack of the laptop. I think with the proper cord I can go from the headphone jack to the TV to use the TV sound system.

The main issue I'm having is getting full-screen video. It's about a 48" TV. I'm getting a 24" picture of the desktop on the TV, and it won't stay on full-screen on the laptop, so I'm ending up with about 16" on the TV.

Is this a Control Panel setting that would make the video larger?

Tiger #185385 03/12/09 09:58 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,663
Likes: 4
G
Member
You can try to increase the screen size on the PC side. (right click on a blank space on the desktop, select "properties" then "settings") You will be limited by the maximum bits your video card supports (video memory size). Pull the slider over as far to the right as it goes and give that a try.


Greg Fretwell
gfretwell #185392 03/12/09 11:08 PM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 404
Member
You might also try setting the TV as the "primary" monitor, so that the laptop screen is not used. Some video cards can't push full resolution on two monitors at once.

How to do that would depend on the make of the card, and the version of the drivers installed. Those settings are in all kinds of crazy places.

noderaser #185533 03/18/09 02:42 AM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,407
Likes: 2
Member
Hi Dave,
What laptop are you using to do this?

Trumpy #185774 03/26/09 06:09 PM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 706
T
Tiger Offline OP
Member
Hi Mike,

I have an HP. I talked with a friend who said you can't go full-size on a TV through a laptop. Technically I suppose you could if you had the right video card. We're just using our desktop PC with a larger monitor. It works well.

How's it going with you Mike??? It's getting warmer here!


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
electure
electure
Fullerton, CA USA
Posts: 4,287
Joined: December 2000
Top Posters(30 Days)
timmp 3
Popular Topics(Views)
283,581 Are you busy
216,873 Re: Forum
203,222 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5