ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
High current GFI vs regular GFCI
by HotLine1. 11/15/18 02:32 PM
This anti-theist is priceless!!!
by djk. 11/14/18 07:19 AM
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by Albert. 11/07/18 12:48 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 39 guests, and 26 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Internet TV #185383
03/12/09 08:34 PM
03/12/09 08:34 PM
T
Tiger  Offline OP
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 706
Crystal Lake, IL USA
I'm experimenting with internet TV and having some minor problems:

I have a laptop connected to the TV.
The video is connected with a VGA cable.
I'm getting sound with PC stereo speakers plugged into the headphone jack of the laptop. I think with the proper cord I can go from the headphone jack to the TV to use the TV sound system.

The main issue I'm having is getting full-screen video. It's about a 48" TV. I'm getting a 24" picture of the desktop on the TV, and it won't stay on full-screen on the laptop, so I'm ending up with about 16" on the TV.

Is this a Control Panel setting that would make the video larger?

Tools for Electricians:
Re: Internet TV [Re: Tiger] #185385
03/12/09 08:58 PM
03/12/09 08:58 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,301
Estero,Fl,usa
You can try to increase the screen size on the PC side. (right click on a blank space on the desktop, select "properties" then "settings") You will be limited by the maximum bits your video card supports (video memory size). Pull the slider over as far to the right as it goes and give that a try.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Internet TV [Re: gfretwell] #185392
03/12/09 10:08 PM
03/12/09 10:08 PM
noderaser  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 404
Portland, Oregon, United State...
You might also try setting the TV as the "primary" monitor, so that the laptop screen is not used. Some video cards can't push full resolution on two monitors at once.

How to do that would depend on the make of the card, and the version of the drivers installed. Those settings are in all kinds of crazy places.

Re: Internet TV [Re: noderaser] #185533
03/18/09 01:42 AM
03/18/09 01:42 AM
Trumpy  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,250
SI,New Zealand
Hi Dave,
What laptop are you using to do this?

Re: Internet TV [Re: Trumpy] #185774
03/26/09 05:09 PM
03/26/09 05:09 PM
T
Tiger  Offline OP
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 706
Crystal Lake, IL USA
Hi Mike,

I have an HP. I talked with a friend who said you can't go full-size on a TV through a laptop. Technically I suppose you could if you had the right video card. We're just using our desktop PC with a larger monitor. It works well.

How's it going with you Mike??? It's getting warmer here!


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Niko
Niko
Campbell, CA
Posts: 356
Joined: August 2006
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 8
Popular Topics(Views)
251,485 Are you busy
188,674 Re: Forum
178,376 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.026s Queries: 15 (0.006s) Memory: 0.9690 MB (Peak: 1.1088 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-15 23:07:52 UTC