ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 256 guests, and 20 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#184948 02/26/09 10:11 AM
G
Can someone explain what is being said in the '05 NEC at 310.15(A)(2) Exception?

Lets say I have a CB with 60 degree terminations and I want to use a wire rated as 90 degree insulation. I want to use the ampacity of the 90 degree rating because it is a long run.

I've never really understood this 100%.

George Little
Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:

>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep
2023 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with the Latest NEC & Exam Prep

>> 2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

G
I think there was a discussion about this in the IAEI magazine a while ago. It has to do with the thermal conductivity of the wire as I recall. If I have an area where the ambient requires derating I can cheat for the first 10' but if that gets to the termination, I have to respect the termination temperature.
... or something like that. wink
It never really made much sense to me, particularly when they got so excited about an inch and a half of Romex in spray foam. 334.80

Greg Fretwell
S