ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by Albert. 11/07/18 12:48 AM
Black & Decker Recalls Hammer Drills
by Admin. 11/01/18 07:22 PM
Having around 30 projectors to dump
by gfretwell. 10/31/18 10:54 PM
Installing a small swimming pool
by TimothyHallam. 10/30/18 10:42 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 15 guests, and 25 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
150 A Service #1839
06/04/01 07:53 PM
06/04/01 07:53 PM
R
Redsy  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
Bucks County PA
Does anyone (besides me) install 150 Amp services? On a small home with gas appliances and a 60 Amp service, which needs an upgrade for central air, the load calculations still fall shy of even the minimum 100 amp mandated by code. I won't install only 100, but 200 seems excessive for such small homes. Some people feel that the materials dont cost much more for 200 than 150, so install 200. Others feel differently. Anyone?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: 150 A Service #1840
06/04/01 08:22 PM
06/04/01 08:22 PM
G
golf junkie  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 507
York, NE
Some people feel that the materials dont cost much more for 200 than 150, so install 200.

200 it is.

GJ

Re: 150 A Service #1841
06/04/01 08:24 PM
06/04/01 08:24 PM
S
sparky  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,371
I have not found a wide gap in material prices from 150 to 200 as far as the chief components.

The big $$$$ come from long service laterals, or overhead distance spec's from the utilities ( wanting another pole due to wire size/distance)

[Linked Image]

Re: 150 A Service #1842
06/04/01 08:58 PM
06/04/01 08:58 PM
Bill Addiss  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,903
NY, USA
Redsy,

Some people will never use the capacity of a 200A service and do not want the extra cost, I've noticed that too. I would give them the option. Most times it's not much difference from 150 to 200 though. If there happens to be a long or difficult run to the water main and there is a #6 copper in place already it wouldn't have to be replaced for a 150A service. Put that together with a long SEU run and it could mean a significant difference in price.

Bill

Re: 150 A Service #1843
06/04/01 09:11 PM
06/04/01 09:11 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered

>If there happens to be a long or difficult run to the water main and there is a #6 copper in place already it wouldn't have to be replaced for a 150A service.
Okay, you got me there. Why does it have to be replaced for a 200 A service?

Re: 150 A Service #1844
06/04/01 09:28 PM
06/04/01 09:28 PM
F
Fred  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 449
Straughn, IN 47387
In my area we have only one supply house in the county and they handle ITE loadcenters. A 200A 30-40 ct. copper buss indoor loadcenter runs $147.00. A 150A loadcenter runs $180.00. A 100A 30 ct. loadcenter runs $110.00. They tell me the demand pretty much regulates the prices. They also sell a 5/8" x 8' ground rod for $2.00 less than a 1/2" x 8'. They simply sell more 5/8" rods.

Re: 150 A Service #1845
06/04/01 09:30 PM
06/04/01 09:30 PM
Bill Addiss  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,903
NY, USA
DS,

The 200A service needs a #4 to the water main.

Bill

Re: 150 A Service #1846
06/04/01 09:35 PM
06/04/01 09:35 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered

I knew you were going to say that. I wanted to know why. Is this true even if it is not being used as an electrode?

In my area, most houses have private wells.

Re: 150 A Service #1847
06/04/01 11:20 PM
06/04/01 11:20 PM
Bill Addiss  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,903
NY, USA
I've not seen any situation where it was not used as part of the Electrode system. Are you saying that Wells don't have to be bonded and become part of the electrode system?

Re: 150 A Service #1848
06/04/01 11:38 PM
06/04/01 11:38 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered

Are you saying that Wells don't have to be bonded and become part of the electrode system?

I say that if you drive two rods 6' apart outside and bond to them, you don't have to count the water main as an electrode requiring #4 copper.

Indoor plumbing must be bonded, e.g., metal pipes, tanks, control boxes, and pumps.

Outdoor wells can't normally be bonded as the pipe is usually black plastic (PE) and the casing is PVC.
I have never bonded to a well.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Radar
Radar
Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 349
Joined: April 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 8
Popular Topics(Views)
251,414 Are you busy
188,637 Re: Forum
178,341 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.038s Queries: 15 (0.018s) Memory: 1.0217 MB (Peak: 1.1981 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-13 23:07:00 UTC