ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Do we need grounding?
by gfretwell - 04/06/24 08:32 PM
UL 508A SPACING
by tortuga - 03/30/24 07:39 PM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 390 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Trumpy #183769 01/22/09 12:49 AM
A
adroga Offline OP
Thanks for the replies...

Just to clarify i have been an apprentice since may, and I guess in the grand scheme of things I have barely gotten my feet wet.

But at the same time it took me 15 months of sending cv's and making phone calls before I got this opportunity. We work in places where if we asked to turn the circuits off we would have to work nights and they dont want to work nights unless absolutely necessary.

So how do I balance safe procedures without looking like Im avoiding doing the work?

By the way, these guys almost always work live and they have been electricians for 22+ years without incident...

Trumpy #183775 01/22/09 03:13 AM
L
Originally Posted by Trumpy
Originally Posted by adroga
do you guys usually work with the circuits live?

NO. Extreme circumstances only. You, as an apprentice. the answer SHALL BE NEVER.

So my second question is, how often do you guys get shocked?

Close to every day. When I see well trained educated MORONS do something stupid.
DON"T be one of them. Shocked and Electrocution, is less than a heart beat away.
Don't put your friends and colleagues in that position ( to notify the family, That su&ks!!! (some of us know)).