ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Vibrator Supplies??
by gfretwell - 10/19/19 08:33 PM
FPE in Germany
by NORCAL - 10/16/19 08:24 AM
Help with aging employee advice.
by Bill Addiss - 10/15/19 10:58 PM
Fuse blower plug?
by gfretwell - 10/13/19 03:23 PM
Power factor and transformer efficiency
by TeslaEdison - 10/13/19 04:05 AM
New in the Gallery:
FPE Breaker panel in germany
What is this for?
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (donles), 13 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Server Room Ground Bar #182786 12/10/08 03:54 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 134
C
cgw Offline OP
Member
Owner wants a ground bar in a small server room for bonding racks etc. Fairly typical. I will research it but can you give me a head start by letting me know what is typically done?
Bus bar size?
Bonding wire size? (size based on grounding electrode conductor, circuits serving the room, other?)
Where to bond to bldg ground?

Last edited by cgw; 12/10/08 03:56 PM.
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Server Room Ground Bar [Re: cgw] #182787 12/10/08 04:37 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
renosteinke Offline
Cat Servant
Member
The grounding bussbars I've seen have typically been HUGE ... perhaps 1" wide and 3/16" thick, simple copper.

While you don't need this much copper for a ground path, you do need that much for mechanical strength, and for the screws to have a couple threads engage the metal.

Hint: When drilling copper, you want to use drill bits with 135 degree 'split point' tips. When tapping, taps with spiral flutes work better. It's worth a visit to a local machine-shop supply house.

Re: Server Room Ground Bar [Re: renosteinke] #182793 12/11/08 01:38 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,409
G
gfretwell Online Content
Member
Usually somebody in their tech staff will want a isolated ground conductor going straight to the equipment bonding bus in the service where the GEC and MBJ land. That might also serve a sub panel for the server room so all the circuits will share the same grounding path.
I think anything beyond standard 250 is usually snake oil. It is good to have a common grounding bus but where the ground comes from is not as important as getting all the equipment in the room bonded to that bus.


The ground bus plates an my radio equipment shelters were more like 4" x 16" and had a bunch of 1/4-20 tapped holes with brass screws in them already. They usually used a #4 cu solid to the ground electrode system, landing in the service disconnect can.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Server Room Ground Bar [Re: gfretwell] #182801 12/11/08 04:05 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
S
SteveFehr Offline
Member
There are a number of ways to do it. Often, I'll see nice thick ground bars under the false floor, way oversized, with big lugs from all the racks. He's concerned about higher frequency ground currents, so the properties are very different than for 60Hz safety grounds. For instance, a metal raised deck that's insulated and not even touching the ground will have lower impedance to ground than a 20' ground rod, because the capacitance between the false floor and ground is essentially a short at higher frequencies, wheras the ground wire and rod function as a 0-loop inductor and have a high impedance.

Google MIL-HDBK-1012/1, it's a miliary handbook dealing with datacenters. It's free, and a good design reference smile MIL-HDBK-419 also deals with grounding. You can ignore TEMPEST (security) and HEMP (nuclear) requirements.

Re: Server Room Ground Bar [Re: gfretwell] #182804 12/11/08 07:17 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 61
TOOL_5150 Offline
Member
Originally Posted by gfretwell
The ground bus plates an my radio equipment shelters were more like 4" x 16" and had a bunch of 1/4-20 tapped holes with brass screws in them already. They usually used a #4 cu solid to the ground electrode system, landing in the service disconnect can.


This is usually what I saw when I worked on the big nortel meridian phone systems as well.

~Matt


I would rather beg for forgiveness then beg for permission.
Re: Server Room Ground Bar [Re: TOOL_5150] #183170 12/28/08 11:59 PM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 329
S
Steve Miller Offline
Member
All of our new schools have exactly what gfretwell describes (in the server room). 4x16 by 1/4" thick with a lot of threaded holes. A #4 to the main electrical room via a pipe below the slab. Every piece of eqpt has an 8 or 6 to this plate. Seems to work well. We've been using this system for about 6 or 8 years now and have very few probs.

Re: Server Room Ground Bar [Re: Steve Miller] #183172 12/29/08 12:31 AM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 853
L
leland Offline
Member
Thats the same I see all the time,additionaly they are all on raised Isolators.

Re: Server Room Ground Bar [Re: leland] #183552 01/14/09 12:05 AM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 404
noderaser Offline
Member
Here's the ground bar in one of our switch closets, for reference:

[Linked Image]

Re: Server Room Ground Bar [Re: noderaser] #183695 01/19/09 05:54 PM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 7
B
Brian_John Offline
New Member
In our area you can get a 1/4" X 12" (or 24") X4" from the local sheet metal fabricator. These ground bars in the typical server room do little the expend natural resources and make the end user feel good (oh and it adds profits to the installing electrical contractors pockets always a bonus)


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
TOOL_5150
TOOL_5150
Bay Area
Posts: 61
Joined: August 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 10
Popular Topics(Views)
259,645 Are you busy
195,027 Re: Forum
184,441 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3