ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 5
Recent Posts
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
Bathroom electrical
by gfretwell. 08/14/17 02:05 AM
"Line level" audio on Cat 5?
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:39 PM
Fire alarm phone lines and color coding
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
Popular Topics(Views)
239,854 Are you busy
175,409 Re: Forum
167,700 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 41 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#182650 - 12/05/08 02:40 PM Neutral through breaker?  
maintenanceguy  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 300
Southern NJ, USA
I'm sitting here reading the tech data sheet for a Siemens type P1 panelboard. I noticed that one of the available breakers listed (Type BGL) has a note #2. Looking at the bottom of the page, note #2 reads:

"Two pole breaker is one phase and neutral, Three pole breaker is two phases and neutral."

What does that mean? I don't have this panel or plan to order it, I just wonder what such a panel would be used for.


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#182652 - 12/05/08 02:55 PM Re: Neutral through breaker? [Re: maintenanceguy]  
EV607797  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
I has been a long time, but I seem to recall something similar being required for gasoline pumps. I haven't worked with that stuff in years, so don't quote me on that.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."

#182661 - 12/05/08 07:06 PM Re: Neutral through breaker? [Re: EV607797]  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,857
Brick, NJ USA
That may be the panel that the AFCI's go into that do NOT come with neutral pigtail, only a load neut/line termination.

Time permitting, I have to read more on this


John

#182663 - 12/05/08 08:22 PM Re: Neutral through breaker? [Re: HotLine1]  
wire_twister  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 265
Georgia USA
Possibly for shunt trip breakers??


Jimmy

Life is tough, Life is tougher when you are stupid

#182674 - 12/06/08 12:13 PM Re: Neutral through breaker? [Re: wire_twister]  
NORCAL  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 872
It's where a neutral is req. to be switched, and the accessory requires one additional pole space just like a shunt trip.


#182687 - 12/06/08 07:11 PM Re: Neutral through breaker? [Re: maintenanceguy]  
walrus  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 680
Bangor Me. USA
Its a switched neutral 2 or 3 pole breaker, used to break all conductors. Its just a switch on the neutral side as far as I know. Use them all the time in gasoline installs


#182689 - 12/06/08 07:35 PM Re: Neutral through breaker? [Re: maintenanceguy]  
kohli  Offline
New Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Ohlo Putnam Co
This breaker is to be used for gasoline pumps or other places where you need to brake the netural also when you turn off the circut


#182721 - 12/07/08 10:03 PM Re: Neutral through breaker? [Re: kohli]  
pdh  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 354
They should just run the pumps on 2-wire 240V and not worry about switching a neutral since there won't be one (at least in North America).



Member Spotlight
sparky66wv
sparky66wv
West Virginia
Posts: 2,236
Joined: November 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.018s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.7931 MB (Peak: 0.9603 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-16 13:25:52 UTC