ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Questioning the electrical norms
by HotLine1 - 03/04/21 12:35 PM
Lock-down Thread
by gfretwell - 03/03/21 12:38 PM
Northern Tool Recalls Powerhorse Generators
by Admin - 02/25/21 09:49 PM
You will never guess
by gfretwell - 02/25/21 07:48 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Scott35), 16 guests, and 23 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Neutral through breaker? #182650 12/05/08 01:40 PM
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 300
M
maintenanceguy Offline OP
Member
I'm sitting here reading the tech data sheet for a Siemens type P1 panelboard. I noticed that one of the available breakers listed (Type BGL) has a note #2. Looking at the bottom of the page, note #2 reads:

"Two pole breaker is one phase and neutral, Three pole breaker is two phases and neutral."

What does that mean? I don't have this panel or plan to order it, I just wonder what such a panel would be used for.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Neutral through breaker? [Re: maintenanceguy] #182652 12/05/08 01:55 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
E
EV607797 Offline
Member
I has been a long time, but I seem to recall something similar being required for gasoline pumps. I haven't worked with that stuff in years, so don't quote me on that.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Re: Neutral through breaker? [Re: EV607797] #182661 12/05/08 06:06 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,235
HotLine1 Offline
Member
That may be the panel that the AFCI's go into that do NOT come with neutral pigtail, only a load neut/line termination.

Time permitting, I have to read more on this


John
Re: Neutral through breaker? [Re: HotLine1] #182663 12/05/08 07:22 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 265
W
wire_twister Offline
Member
Possibly for shunt trip breakers??


Jimmy

Life is tough, Life is tougher when you are stupid
Re: Neutral through breaker? [Re: wire_twister] #182674 12/06/08 11:13 AM
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 908
N
NORCAL Offline
Member
It's where a neutral is req. to be switched, and the accessory requires one additional pole space just like a shunt trip.

Re: Neutral through breaker? [Re: maintenanceguy] #182687 12/06/08 06:11 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 680
W
walrus Offline
Member
Its a switched neutral 2 or 3 pole breaker, used to break all conductors. Its just a switch on the neutral side as far as I know. Use them all the time in gasoline installs

Re: Neutral through breaker? [Re: maintenanceguy] #182689 12/06/08 06:35 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
K
kohli Offline
New Member
This breaker is to be used for gasoline pumps or other places where you need to brake the netural also when you turn off the circut

Re: Neutral through breaker? [Re: kohli] #182721 12/07/08 09:03 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 354
P
pdh Offline
Member
They should just run the pumps on 2-wire 240V and not worry about switching a neutral since there won't be one (at least in North America).


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
watersparkfalls
watersparkfalls
Washington...Not DC
Posts: 236
Joined: March 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
275,745 Are you busy
209,659 Re: Forum
197,004 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3