ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Recall notice: Southwire wi-fi wall switches
by sparkyinak. 03/15/18 06:03 PM
Goodman Manufacturing Recalls Modular Blowers
by Admin. 03/13/18 10:40 PM
MAAX Spas Recalls Hot Tubs and Swim Spas
by Admin. 03/13/18 10:29 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
SE cable question
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 8 guests, and 11 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Neutral through breaker? #182650
12/05/08 02:40 PM
12/05/08 02:40 PM
maintenanceguy  Offline OP
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 300
Southern NJ, USA
I'm sitting here reading the tech data sheet for a Siemens type P1 panelboard. I noticed that one of the available breakers listed (Type BGL) has a note #2. Looking at the bottom of the page, note #2 reads:

"Two pole breaker is one phase and neutral, Three pole breaker is two phases and neutral."

What does that mean? I don't have this panel or plan to order it, I just wonder what such a panel would be used for.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Neutral through breaker? [Re: maintenanceguy] #182652
12/05/08 02:55 PM
12/05/08 02:55 PM
EV607797  Offline
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
I has been a long time, but I seem to recall something similar being required for gasoline pumps. I haven't worked with that stuff in years, so don't quote me on that.


"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Re: Neutral through breaker? [Re: EV607797] #182661
12/05/08 07:06 PM
12/05/08 07:06 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,934
Brick, NJ USA
That may be the panel that the AFCI's go into that do NOT come with neutral pigtail, only a load neut/line termination.

Time permitting, I have to read more on this

Re: Neutral through breaker? [Re: HotLine1] #182663
12/05/08 08:22 PM
12/05/08 08:22 PM
wire_twister  Offline
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 265
Georgia USA
Possibly for shunt trip breakers??


Life is tough, Life is tougher when you are stupid
Re: Neutral through breaker? [Re: wire_twister] #182674
12/06/08 12:13 PM
12/06/08 12:13 PM
NORCAL  Offline
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 878
It's where a neutral is req. to be switched, and the accessory requires one additional pole space just like a shunt trip.

Re: Neutral through breaker? [Re: maintenanceguy] #182687
12/06/08 07:11 PM
12/06/08 07:11 PM
walrus  Offline
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 680
Bangor Me. USA
Its a switched neutral 2 or 3 pole breaker, used to break all conductors. Its just a switch on the neutral side as far as I know. Use them all the time in gasoline installs

Re: Neutral through breaker? [Re: maintenanceguy] #182689
12/06/08 07:35 PM
12/06/08 07:35 PM
kohli  Offline
New Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Ohlo Putnam Co
This breaker is to be used for gasoline pumps or other places where you need to brake the netural also when you turn off the circut

Re: Neutral through breaker? [Re: kohli] #182721
12/07/08 10:03 PM
12/07/08 10:03 PM
pdh  Offline
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 354
They should just run the pumps on 2-wire 240V and not worry about switching a neutral since there won't be one (at least in North America).


2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman


Member Spotlight
Posts: 70
Joined: June 2012
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 5
Admin 5
Popular Topics(Views)
244,411 Are you busy
181,527 Re: Forum
171,578 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.027s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9925 MB (Peak: 1.1582 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-03-19 22:01:06 UTC