ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
This anti-theist is priceless!!!
by djk. 11/14/18 07:19 AM
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by Albert. 11/07/18 12:48 AM
Black & Decker Recalls Hammer Drills
by Admin. 11/01/18 07:22 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 21 guests, and 27 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
More than two 15A rated switches on 20A circuits #182388
11/25/08 03:06 AM
11/25/08 03:06 AM
Niko  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 356
Campbell, CA
Table 210-21(B)3 allows 2 or more 15 & 20A receptacles on 20A circuits. what does the code say about 2 or more 15A rated switches on a circuit that is protected by 20A breaker?

Thanks for your comments.


Be kind to your neighbor, he knows where you live

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: More than two 15A rated switches on 20A circuits [Re: Niko] #182389
11/25/08 04:08 AM
11/25/08 04:08 AM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,301
Estero,Fl,usa
Switches are really supposed to be rated for the load so a 15a switch on a 20a circuit is not a problem if it is a 15a (or less load). More of an issue, generally, is whether a switch is motor rated when it is a motor load. You have to watch out for this when you are using a snap switch for things like pool pumps and big "whole house" fans.


Greg Fretwell
Re: More than two 15A rated switches on 20A circuits [Re: gfretwell] #182393
11/25/08 08:52 AM
11/25/08 08:52 AM
I
IanR  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 328
Palm Bay FL USA
"Switches are really supposed to be rated for the load"
So what about a 15A switch controlling a duplex receptacle, with a 20A breaker? Where you really can't determine what the load may be.

Re: More than two 15A rated switches on 20A circuits [Re: IanR] #182397
11/25/08 11:55 AM
11/25/08 11:55 AM
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
I'ts quite simple, Ian.

Let's assume you have that switch operating a space heater, or other heavy load. The switch simply won't last very long, and stop being a switch. There might not even be any fireworks; the contacts just won't close anymore, and you get to replace the switch.

That's the whole point to the 'motor rating' idea. Motors, and some other loads, require a lot more than the rated current under specific circumstances .... so the switch will need to be able to handle those moments.

Once again, we come up against an example where 'trade practice' has been decades ahead of 'code.' In this instance, I'm referring to the trade proctice of separating the lighting circuits from the receptacle circuits, and using 15 amp circuits for lighting.

Re: More than two 15A rated switches on 20A circuits [Re: renosteinke] #182413
11/25/08 06:09 PM
11/25/08 06:09 PM
P
pdh  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 354
The one switch failure I ever had was a "failed to OPEN" scenario. But that switch was very much abused.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HotLine1
HotLine1
Brick, NJ USA
Posts: 7,037
Joined: April 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 8
Popular Topics(Views)
251,458 Are you busy
188,662 Re: Forum
178,362 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.023s Queries: 15 (0.005s) Memory: 0.9700 MB (Peak: 1.1127 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-15 04:11:30 UTC