ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
334.80 and fire caulk
by gfretwell. 06/21/18 11:35 AM
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by HotLine1. 06/13/18 01:50 PM
GE Lighting Recalls LED Tube Lamps
by Admin. 06/12/18 09:32 PM
Ketra Recalls Recessed Downlights
by Admin. 06/12/18 09:17 PM
diazed fuses
by Texas_Ranger. 06/11/18 07:31 AM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 7 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Splice Box #181975
11/13/08 03:00 PM
11/13/08 03:00 PM
S
sudsy4  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 32
Elizabeth,PA USA
I need some help! I have 8 sets of parallel 750 conductors that I have to splice outside, about 10 ft from a pad mount transformer, can anyone help me out with info on an above grade splice box for this application?


Bill
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Splice Box [Re: sudsy4] #181978
11/13/08 06:42 PM
11/13/08 06:42 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,973
Brick, NJ USA
Bill:
More info please....
4" conduit? 8 conduits, 4-in, 4-out??

Entry points? side? back? straight?? opposing? 'U' pull ??








John
Re: Splice Box [Re: HotLine1] #181985
11/14/08 12:03 PM
11/14/08 12:03 PM
S
sudsy4  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 32
Elizabeth,PA USA
(8) 4" in (8) 4" out. Thinking of somthing like the utilities use, we call them coffin boxes, they have a base that the conduit come into from below and an above ground area for splicing.


Bill
Re: Splice Box [Re: sudsy4] #182114
11/18/08 10:20 PM
11/18/08 10:20 PM
R
Redsy  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
Bucks County PA
They list an 8-port 500 kcmil, maybe 750 is available:

http://www.aplussupply.com/nsipolaris/polarisconnectors.htm

Then look here:

http://www.quazite.com/?gclid=CMu15Z38_5YCFQpJtAodCmw3ZA


But you knew this laugh

Re: Splice Box [Re: Redsy] #182120
11/19/08 12:04 AM
11/19/08 12:04 AM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,973
Brick, NJ USA
Redsy:
Nice job on the links!

I think the OP is looking for something like a PSE&G pullbox (coffin) AND something 'above ground' to splice in.

The PSE&G spec is precast concrete, 4' deep, 4' wide and 71/2' long. 4 over 4 in and out works nice.

Take care


John
Re: Splice Box [Re: HotLine1] #182178
11/20/08 11:52 AM
11/20/08 11:52 AM
S
sudsy4  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 32
Elizabeth,PA USA
Thanks for everyones input. I found what I need at Nordic Fiberglass, Inc. Comes complete with 4 sets 0f 24 pt 750 lugs.


Bill
Re: Splice Box [Re: sudsy4] #182193
11/20/08 09:57 PM
11/20/08 09:57 PM
L
luckyshadow  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 315
Maryland USA
The company I used to work bought custom made boxes from a fab shop. This fab shop - all they did was make metal troughs and boxes. Indoor or outdoor. They even provided POCO approved CT Cabinets for less $$ then the POCO.
I was told "if you draw it out and / or explain it to us - we can make it for you"
I put them to the test too. I had some interesting troughs made!
Might be worth the search to see if such a thing exists in your area.

Re: Splice Box [Re: luckyshadow] #182211
11/21/08 07:09 AM
11/21/08 07:09 AM
Trumpy  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,236
SI,New Zealand
Originally Posted by luckyshadow
The company I used to work bought custom made boxes from a fab shop. This fab shop - all they did was make metal troughs and boxes. Indoor or outdoor. They even provided POCO approved CT Cabinets for less $$ then the POCO.
I was told "if you draw it out and / or explain it to us - we can make it for you"
I put them to the test too. I had some interesting troughs made!

Good stuff Ken,
When I was doing dairy stuff we always fabricated our own Stainless steel "enclosures", all you need is a sheet bender, a clue as to what you are doing and a TIG welder to close up the sheet joints and make the thing water-proof and look nice, of course.
Most fabrication places are only too happy to build a one-off provided they get good plans of what you want and a time frame of when you need it.

My only reservation would be, would an independent enclosure be " UL listed" at all?
Would it need to be?

Re: Splice Box [Re: Trumpy] #182220
11/21/08 10:21 AM
11/21/08 10:21 AM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,973
Brick, NJ USA
I have used custom troffs (wireways) when needed, fabed by a shop that also made switchgear and panelboards. Excellent end results, based on field dimensions. He was very cooperative and performed all field measurements. UL labeling was not an issue, all equipment was labeled.

The sticky side was...$$$$. Not a source if you had budget constraints.

Mike (Trumpy) did you do the fab yourself? Or do you have a welder and bender on staff?


John

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
akmaster
akmaster
alaska
Posts: 70
Joined: June 2012
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
twh 5
Popular Topics(Views)
247,686 Are you busy
184,995 Re: Forum
174,302 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.023s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 1.0031 MB (Peak: 1.1754 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-06-23 21:22:47 UTC