ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
sec cable code conflict
by gfretwell. 11/18/18 12:25 PM
This anti-theist is priceless!!!
by Texas_Ranger. 11/17/18 02:15 PM
High current GFI vs regular GFCI
by Texas_Ranger. 11/17/18 02:07 PM
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 31 guests, and 22 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Creative customer - 1 line, 2 buildings #181187
09/24/08 08:41 PM
09/24/08 08:41 PM
Grover  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 109
Sebago, ME, USA
Some time ago, I installed conduit and pulled CAT5 underground from a utility building - 250' in one direction to his office, and 250' in another direction to his house.

Now he's had the phone line installed (aerial - about a mile) to the utility building. I've got dial tone at both the house and the office.

He wants a way to signal from the office to the house if the call is for his wife, and vice versa!

I'm stuck! Any ideas? Can I use another pair and have 2 line phones at each end? No dial tone, but how do I ring?

Thanks!

Grov

Study Guides for VDV / Structured Cabling Installers

Voice, Data, Video, (VDV) Fiber Optics, Communications, Low Voltage,
Fire Alarm, Electronic Security Systems Installations & Related

NTC Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides
Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides

Re: Creative customer - 1 line, 2 buildings [Re: Grover] #181188
09/24/08 08:45 PM
09/24/08 08:45 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,305
Estero,Fl,usa
With all the wonderful things phones do these days I would look at what they sell first. There may be a phone product out there with intercom capability.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Creative customer - 1 line, 2 buildings [Re: gfretwell] #181189
09/24/08 09:48 PM
09/24/08 09:48 PM
J
JoeTestingEngr  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 799
Chicago, Il.
2 starter's pistols ought to do it.
Joe

Re: Creative customer - 1 line, 2 buildings [Re: JoeTestingEngr] #181200
09/25/08 05:00 AM
09/25/08 05:00 AM
Trumpy  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,250
SI,New Zealand
Thought about a cheap pair of UHF CB hand-helds?

Re: Creative customer - 1 line, 2 buildings [Re: gfretwell] #181204
09/25/08 06:02 AM
09/25/08 06:02 AM
Grover  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 109
Sebago, ME, USA
Good idea - Google came up pretty dry - apartment entry stuff....

Grov

Re: Creative customer - 1 line, 2 buildings [Re: JoeTestingEngr] #181206
09/25/08 06:54 AM
09/25/08 06:54 AM
Grover  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 109
Sebago, ME, USA
Good one! Would probably scare the horses tho... and give a whole new meaning to acoustic ceiling :-)

Grov

Re: Creative customer - 1 line, 2 buildings [Re: Grover] #181218
09/25/08 07:25 PM
09/25/08 07:25 PM
J
JoeTestingEngr  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 799
Chicago, Il.
Well if I was going to do it....
Possibility #1: I would build two hi-z bridging circuits, one for each end. Follow that with two tone decoders or one DTMF decoder. Set decoders for or use # or * outputs. Press # or * on either end and audible goes off on both ends.

Possibility #2: Build a hi-z bridging DC voltage detector circuit for both ends. Also use a button with a loading resistance on each side. On hook voltage would be the highest. Check typical off-hook voltage with one and then both phones off-hook. Set the detectors to drive a piezo a volt or so below the voltage measured, but not at zero volts. (Unless you want both audibles to go off if you lose your phone lines. Pick the series resistance with the N.O. pushbutton to load the phone line below the threshold of the detectors.

But that's just what I would do if I had only one active line. But if you have 1 or 2 free pairs and a couple wall warts, there are many other opyions.
Joe

Re: Creative customer - 1 line, 2 buildings [Re: JoeTestingEngr] #181223
09/25/08 11:17 PM
09/25/08 11:17 PM
noderaser  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 404
Portland, Oregon, United State...
Why not get a cheap pair of FM intercoms?

Re: Creative customer - 1 line, 2 buildings [Re: JoeTestingEngr] #181241
09/26/08 11:10 AM
09/26/08 11:10 AM
L
LarryC  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 783
Winchester, NH, US
Use the AC powered series circuit with the diode across each switch and each lamp. Replace the lamp with a DC coil relay to drive an audio alarm at each end. Power it with a wall wart and you are done.

Larry C

Re: Creative customer - 1 line, 2 buildings [Re: LarryC] #181245
09/26/08 01:08 PM
09/26/08 01:08 PM
E
EV607797  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
Most office products stores sell AT&T 4-line phones with intercom capability. They can be used with one single line, as long as it is on line one. As long as the wiring between them isn't more than 600 feet, they will allow calls to be answered, placed on hold and picked up at stations in other locations or buildings. They also offer intercom which is actually FM riding along the cable pair being used for line 1.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Posts: 165
Joined: March 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 7
Popular Topics(Views)
251,587 Are you busy
188,737 Re: Forum
178,446 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.034s Queries: 16 (0.007s) Memory: 1.0305 MB (Peak: 1.2116 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-19 03:56:11 UTC