ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
MRI LED lights dimmer control replacement - wow!
by Potseal. 01/19/18 08:52 PM
VDE 0100 to introduce AFCIs
by sparky. 01/19/18 08:03 PM
Video: Inventor of the GFCI self-testing shocks
by Bill Addiss. 01/17/18 11:11 PM
FPE in Germany
by HotLine1. 01/17/18 07:07 PM
Fujifilm Recalls Power Adapter Wall Plugs
by Admin. 01/16/18 07:04 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
SE cable question
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 16 guests, and 13 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
GFI outlet on knob & tube #180967
09/17/08 08:58 PM
09/17/08 08:58 PM
HCE727  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 186
Delaware County, PA, USA
Years back I installed a GFI outlet in a bedroom that was wired in K&T. Every time I turned on the hallway 3-way, the GFI tripped. Has anyone ever had a problem with GFI's and K & T? After that I now install non-gounding outlets on K & T.


Hank
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: GFI outlet on knob & tube [Re: HCE727] #180968
09/17/08 09:11 PM
09/17/08 09:11 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,166
Estero,Fl,usa
I bet you have a short to ground on a neutral. That could have gone on unnoticed forever. It could also be high resistance ground on a hot (petrified mouse or something.


Greg Fretwell
Re: GFI outlet on knob & tube [Re: gfretwell] #180971
09/17/08 09:38 PM
09/17/08 09:38 PM
T
twh  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 925
Regina, Sask.
I put gfi protection on K&T fairly often.

Re: GFI outlet on knob & tube [Re: twh] #180978
09/17/08 10:33 PM
09/17/08 10:33 PM
E
EV607797  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
My guess would be that the far end of that three-way circuit (light fixture) is getting it's neutral from something other than the GFI's LOAD neutral output.

Basically, your hot LOAD output is feeding the point wire of the 3-way switch at one end, and the point wire at the other end is feeding the fixture. Problem is that the fixture is getting it's neutral elsewhere, even if it is on the same circuit ahead of the GFI.

Do you need to have the GFI protecting the circuit downstream form the device itself? It's a bit odd for K&T circuits to loop from device to device, but this does happen. Why not just put the in and out wiring on just the LINE terminals and be done with it?


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Re: GFI outlet on knob & tube [Re: EV607797] #181008
09/18/08 08:02 PM
09/18/08 08:02 PM
HCE727  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 186
Delaware County, PA, USA
This happened to me years ago. There was only one hot and one neutral in the box that I installed the GFI in.


Hank

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HCE727
HCE727
Delaware County, PA, USA
Posts: 186
Joined: November 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 20
sparky 15
Potseal 15
Popular Topics(Views)
243,566 Are you busy
180,366 Re: Forum
170,844 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.013s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9683 MB (Peak: 1.1078 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-01-20 18:51:28 UTC