ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Changing a Bulb
by gfretwell. 07/14/18 03:12 PM
Tray cable?
by gfretwell. 07/11/18 10:18 PM
Eaton Heavy Duty 30A and 60A Safety Switches
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:49 PM
ORTOVOX Recalls Avalanche Transceivers
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:44 PM
Tingle off the water spigot
by gfretwell. 07/08/18 12:58 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 28 guests, and 14 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
GFI outlet on knob & tube #180967
09/17/08 09:58 PM
09/17/08 09:58 PM
HCE727  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 186
Delaware County, PA, USA
Years back I installed a GFI outlet in a bedroom that was wired in K&T. Every time I turned on the hallway 3-way, the GFI tripped. Has anyone ever had a problem with GFI's and K & T? After that I now install non-gounding outlets on K & T.


Hank
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: GFI outlet on knob & tube [Re: HCE727] #180968
09/17/08 10:11 PM
09/17/08 10:11 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,242
Estero,Fl,usa
I bet you have a short to ground on a neutral. That could have gone on unnoticed forever. It could also be high resistance ground on a hot (petrified mouse or something.


Greg Fretwell
Re: GFI outlet on knob & tube [Re: gfretwell] #180971
09/17/08 10:38 PM
09/17/08 10:38 PM
T
twh  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 946
Regina, Sask.
I put gfi protection on K&T fairly often.

Re: GFI outlet on knob & tube [Re: twh] #180978
09/17/08 11:33 PM
09/17/08 11:33 PM
E
EV607797  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
My guess would be that the far end of that three-way circuit (light fixture) is getting it's neutral from something other than the GFI's LOAD neutral output.

Basically, your hot LOAD output is feeding the point wire of the 3-way switch at one end, and the point wire at the other end is feeding the fixture. Problem is that the fixture is getting it's neutral elsewhere, even if it is on the same circuit ahead of the GFI.

Do you need to have the GFI protecting the circuit downstream form the device itself? It's a bit odd for K&T circuits to loop from device to device, but this does happen. Why not just put the in and out wiring on just the LINE terminals and be done with it?


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Re: GFI outlet on knob & tube [Re: EV607797] #181008
09/18/08 09:02 PM
09/18/08 09:02 PM
HCE727  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 186
Delaware County, PA, USA
This happened to me years ago. There was only one hot and one neutral in the box that I installed the GFI in.


Hank

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Attic Rat
Attic Rat
Bergen Co.,N.J. USA
Posts: 524
Joined: December 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 5
Popular Topics(Views)
248,138 Are you busy
185,590 Re: Forum
174,931 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.025s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9689 MB (Peak: 1.1083 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-07-20 03:12:06 UTC