ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (gfretwell), 32 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
D
Hi guys..
I am new to this forum.. I was observing some of the discussions here and I've seen a lot of professional electrical practitioners here.. By the way, I am an industrial electrician on one of the biggest petrochemical company here in KSA.. I only hold a working contract here because I am a Filipino..

We have an expansion on our plant..I want to know your expert opinion guys about this Liquid rotor starter (Water with sodium carbonate) which is recently installed on our 13.8 KV, 8 MW motor.. I know some of you guys already experienced this kind of set-up but since this kind of starter is new to me then I want to have an input about the advantages and disadvantages of this kind of starter..

Here’s the motor specs which having a liquid rotor starter:

KW = 8000
Rev / min = 1193
St. Volts = 13200 ± 5%
St. Amps = 394
Rotor Volts = 2778
Rot amps = 1727
Freq. = 60 Hz
Ph. = 3
Enclosure = IP55
Stator mass = 19000 kg
Rotor mass = 11600 kg
Cooler mass = 3400 kg
Rotor axial float = 12 mm total
Oil qty. / bearing = 34 liters / bearing
Oil flow / bearing = 9 liters/min/bearing
Water flow bundle = 396 liters / min