ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Extension cords
by LongRunner. 05/25/18 12:19 PM
Fire source!
by LongRunner. 05/25/18 01:49 AM
Alternative income sources
by gfretwell. 05/24/18 10:07 PM
Furnace igniter leaking noise to stereo
by geoff in UK. 05/23/18 01:18 PM
Opinions Please
by Keith_Mc. 05/23/18 09:22 AM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 3 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Neutral loop? #178805
06/12/08 04:18 PM
06/12/08 04:18 PM
W
wiking  Offline OP
Junior Member
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 32
Florida, USA
Say you have two j-boxes, A and B. The hot and neutral of a lighting circuit comes into A, goes to B and proceeds further where it feeds a switch. The switch leg makes a circular path around the ceiling, comes back to B by another route than the hot, goes thru B to A and leaves A by a route other than the original hot feed came in.
Would you require there to be a designated "hot" neutral and a designated "switch leg" neutral in the conduit between A and B?
If you used the original neutral that came thru with the hot between A and B to also serve as the neutral for the switch leg, since they are actually the same neutral, would you in reality create some kind of neutral loop that would balance and divide the current between the load on that switch leg and any other load that happened to be downstream of the switch?
A break time breakfast is riding on this.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Neutral loop? [Re: wiking] #178807
06/12/08 04:25 PM
06/12/08 04:25 PM
Z
Zapped  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 482
Huntington Beach, CA, USA
An interesting question, but if I understand you correctly, I would say no. The neutral would not "suffer" any "loop" problems unless you introduced another hot circuit. Even then, I haven't drawn in out, but I see no problems, except for some routing that is unnecessarily complicated.

Anybody else with a differing opinion? Would love to hear the other side...

Re: Neutral loop? [Re: Zapped] #178809
06/12/08 04:44 PM
06/12/08 04:44 PM
T
twh  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 940
Regina, Sask.
If there is a light on box B, it needs to use the neutral that accompanies the switch leg. From box A and beyond, the original neutral is fine. So, I agree with Zapped.

Re: Neutral loop? [Re: twh] #178814
06/12/08 07:20 PM
06/12/08 07:20 PM
W
wiking  Offline OP
Junior Member
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 32
Florida, USA
To be sure it's understood, I'll try to clarify if I can. There is a straight line run of conduit feeding a lighting circuit from a panel to jbox A, jboxB and the switch for the lights. The switch leg comes from the switch in mc and feeds a row of lights. At the end of the row it loops over and feeds the next row and at the other end of the row goes to B. For convenience sake, the switch leg goes through the conduit that carries to A. From A it feeds mc to the last row of lights.
I say that you need two neutrals in the conduit from A to B to keep it seperate even though it is the same neutral.

Re: Neutral loop? [Re: wiking] #178817
06/12/08 08:04 PM
06/12/08 08:04 PM
T
twh  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 940
Regina, Sask.
Yes, I drew it out that way. Between boxes A and B, all conductors of the circuit are in one conduit. Adding another neutral doesn't change that. It just isn't necessary.

The mark of a good sport is how well he feeds his co-worker.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
cookcc
cookcc
California ,Long Beach
Posts: 28
Joined: May 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
twh 11
Popular Topics(Views)
246,920 Are you busy
184,329 Re: Forum
173,535 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.025s Queries: 15 (0.005s) Memory: 0.9680 MB (Peak: 1.1066 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-05-26 15:50:07 UTC