ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
What do you do?
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 01:08 AM
Good ol' copper pipe in the fuse holder trick
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:16 PM
Generator Cable Sizing
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:13 PM
Another generator question
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:02 PM
Thermal Imaging Camera upgrade
by SteveFehr. 10/15/17 08:15 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
241,335 Are you busy
177,278 Re: Forum
168,917 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 28 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#178805 - 06/12/08 04:18 PM Neutral loop?  
wiking  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 32
Florida, USA
Say you have two j-boxes, A and B. The hot and neutral of a lighting circuit comes into A, goes to B and proceeds further where it feeds a switch. The switch leg makes a circular path around the ceiling, comes back to B by another route than the hot, goes thru B to A and leaves A by a route other than the original hot feed came in.
Would you require there to be a designated "hot" neutral and a designated "switch leg" neutral in the conduit between A and B?
If you used the original neutral that came thru with the hot between A and B to also serve as the neutral for the switch leg, since they are actually the same neutral, would you in reality create some kind of neutral loop that would balance and divide the current between the load on that switch leg and any other load that happened to be downstream of the switch?
A break time breakfast is riding on this.


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#178807 - 06/12/08 04:25 PM Re: Neutral loop? [Re: wiking]  
Zapped  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 482
Huntington Beach, CA, USA
An interesting question, but if I understand you correctly, I would say no. The neutral would not "suffer" any "loop" problems unless you introduced another hot circuit. Even then, I haven't drawn in out, but I see no problems, except for some routing that is unnecessarily complicated.

Anybody else with a differing opinion? Would love to hear the other side...


#178809 - 06/12/08 04:44 PM Re: Neutral loop? [Re: Zapped]  
twh  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 919
Regina, Sask.
If there is a light on box B, it needs to use the neutral that accompanies the switch leg. From box A and beyond, the original neutral is fine. So, I agree with Zapped.


#178814 - 06/12/08 07:20 PM Re: Neutral loop? [Re: twh]  
wiking  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 32
Florida, USA
To be sure it's understood, I'll try to clarify if I can. There is a straight line run of conduit feeding a lighting circuit from a panel to jbox A, jboxB and the switch for the lights. The switch leg comes from the switch in mc and feeds a row of lights. At the end of the row it loops over and feeds the next row and at the other end of the row goes to B. For convenience sake, the switch leg goes through the conduit that carries to A. From A it feeds mc to the last row of lights.
I say that you need two neutrals in the conduit from A to B to keep it seperate even though it is the same neutral.


#178817 - 06/12/08 08:04 PM Re: Neutral loop? [Re: wiking]  
twh  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 919
Regina, Sask.
Yes, I drew it out that way. Between boxes A and B, all conductors of the circuit are in one conduit. Adding another neutral doesn't change that. It just isn't necessary.

The mark of a good sport is how well he feeds his co-worker.



Member Spotlight
The_Lightman
The_Lightman
Orlando, Fl, USA
Posts: 49
Joined: August 2001
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.013s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.7694 MB (Peak: 0.9102 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-10-17 07:55:12 UTC