ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by Albert. 11/07/18 12:48 AM
Black & Decker Recalls Hammer Drills
by Admin. 11/01/18 07:22 PM
Having around 30 projectors to dump
by gfretwell. 10/31/18 10:54 PM
Installing a small swimming pool
by TimothyHallam. 10/30/18 10:42 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 6 guests, and 24 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Floor Boxes 3.5"?? #1788
05/30/01 12:58 PM
05/30/01 12:58 PM
S
scottdholland  Offline OP
Junior Member
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 3
Austin, TX
I have an older home with 3.5" ID PVC in the floor. Previous homeowner filled the boxes in with mud so I have no old covers and hardware. New homeowner has tiled around the PVC and wants outlets. Who makes a 3.5" ID floor box cover? Where can I get some? Thanks in advance!

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Floor Boxes 3.5"?? #1789
05/30/01 08:07 PM
05/30/01 08:07 PM
B
bhester  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 38
Carlon makes them and I'm sure theres others,try going to your local electrical supply store I'm sure they can help you.

Re: Floor Boxes 3.5"?? #1790
05/30/01 08:42 PM
05/30/01 08:42 PM
S
scottdholland  Offline OP
Junior Member
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 3
Austin, TX
Carlon makes floor boxes. But the current size (for the last 7-8 years or so) has a 4" ID on the PVC box. My PVC has a 3.5" diamter. Emco (local distributor for Carlon) says they have not made the old size for a long time and have no suggestions for where to find one. I have checked every local electrical supply store in town. Still no luck. Any other ideas?

Re: Floor Boxes 3.5"?? #1791
05/31/01 09:16 PM
05/31/01 09:16 PM
B
bhester  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 38
I once heard a guy saying he had a problem like this and I believe he said he chipped the concrete around the outside of the box and put a piece of 4" (I believe ).Unsure if it worked but he claimed it did!

Re: Floor Boxes 3.5"?? #1792
06/01/01 07:12 AM
06/01/01 07:12 AM
S
scottdholland  Offline OP
Junior Member
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 3
Austin, TX
Yeah. That is one thought I have had, but the flooring is ceramic tile up to the edge of the hole -- very nicely done. Chipping the tile seems like a risky endeavor. Anyone out there have some old ones they want to ship to Tx?


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HappyElectrician
HappyElectrician
Penn USA
Posts: 31
Joined: December 2011
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 8
dsk 3
Popular Topics(Views)
251,431 Are you busy
188,646 Re: Forum
178,348 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.049s Queries: 14 (0.019s) Memory: 0.9666 MB (Peak: 1.1038 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-14 11:53:02 UTC