ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
High current GFI vs regular GFCI
by gfretwell. 11/16/18 01:45 AM
This anti-theist is priceless!!!
by djk. 11/14/18 07:19 AM
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by Albert. 11/07/18 12:48 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 33 guests, and 23 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
SERVICE #178353
05/28/08 06:39 PM
05/28/08 06:39 PM
L
lite bulb  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 78
wilm,de.
I AM INSTALLING A SERVICE TO MY BARN, AND THE POWER CO. IS SUPPLING POWER AERIAL TO MY POLE, ON THIS POLE WILL BE THE METER AND AFTER THE METER I WOULD LIKE TO PUT A DISCONNECT ON THIS POLE THEN I WILL BE GOING 400' UNDERGROUND IN CONDUIT TO THE BARN WITH 1/0 CU FUSED AT 70 AMP, AT THE BARN WILL BE A MAIN BREAKER PANEL DO I NEED A GROUND WIRE FROM THE POLE DISCONNECT TO THE BARN OR JUST A GROUND ROD AT THE BARN AND DO MY GROUNDING AND BONDING THERE.

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: SERVICE [Re: lite bulb] #178354
05/28/08 07:05 PM
05/28/08 07:05 PM
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
First, please stop shouting. Typing in all capital letters is considered 'shouting,' and makes the post harder to read.

Second .. the barn will NOT have a main panel. The "main panel" is at the meter, where you have that 70 amp fused disconnect. That's where you bond the ground wire and the neutral. So, yes, you get to pull four wires.

Keep the ground and neutral separate at the panel in the barn. Run a wire from the ground bus to the ground rod / ufer, whatever. This is the GEC.

Re: SERVICE [Re: renosteinke] #178357
05/28/08 07:37 PM
05/28/08 07:37 PM
L
lite bulb  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 78
wilm,de.
Thank you for the input, also what size ground do i need in that 400' conduit, and i have to drive a rod at both locations right. also can i just put a lug in the disconnect on the pole if the ground wire is to large for the net. block

Last edited by lite bulb; 05/28/08 07:47 PM.
Re: SERVICE [Re: lite bulb] #178359
05/28/08 08:42 PM
05/28/08 08:42 PM
Y
Yoopersup  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Michigan
225.31 & 225.32 Service rated disconnect switch is Required at the Barn.
250.32 A Equipment Grounding wire may or may Not be required.
See 250.32 (B)(2).
If Ground wire is Required Neutral Floats at second Panel.
Where it is NOT required Neutal must be bonded there . in either case a Grounding Electroid is required at the second Building. Read 250.32 (a)
If Ground wire is Required to second panel see 250.122 Adjust for Voltage drop if Phase conductors are upsized.

Yoopersup

Last edited by Yoopersup; 05/28/08 08:46 PM.
Re: SERVICE [Re: Yoopersup] #178360
05/28/08 09:02 PM
05/28/08 09:02 PM
Y
Yoopersup  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Michigan
Agricultural Building are Exempt from inspection in Michigan , Might not be in your State , If Not read 547.9 2005 If the barn well contain livestock.
Forgot that sorry
yoopersup


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
renosteinke
renosteinke
Blue Collar Country
Posts: 5,316
Joined: January 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 8
dsk 2
Popular Topics(Views)
251,506 Are you busy
188,681 Re: Forum
178,384 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.026s Queries: 15 (0.005s) Memory: 0.9686 MB (Peak: 1.1110 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-16 11:52:14 UTC