ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 8
Recent Posts
OD of Alum and Copper
by Yoopersup. 08/23/17 09:05 AM
Grid problem??
by annemarie1. 08/21/17 01:10 PM
Bathroom electrical
by doc. 08/19/17 06:53 AM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
240,147 Are you busy
175,770 Re: Forum
167,953 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (dougwells), 61 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#178353 - 05/28/08 07:39 PM SERVICE  
lite bulb  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 78
wilm,de.
I AM INSTALLING A SERVICE TO MY BARN, AND THE POWER CO. IS SUPPLING POWER AERIAL TO MY POLE, ON THIS POLE WILL BE THE METER AND AFTER THE METER I WOULD LIKE TO PUT A DISCONNECT ON THIS POLE THEN I WILL BE GOING 400' UNDERGROUND IN CONDUIT TO THE BARN WITH 1/0 CU FUSED AT 70 AMP, AT THE BARN WILL BE A MAIN BREAKER PANEL DO I NEED A GROUND WIRE FROM THE POLE DISCONNECT TO THE BARN OR JUST A GROUND ROD AT THE BARN AND DO MY GROUNDING AND BONDING THERE.


2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides

#178354 - 05/28/08 08:05 PM Re: SERVICE [Re: lite bulb]  
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
First, please stop shouting. Typing in all capital letters is considered 'shouting,' and makes the post harder to read.

Second .. the barn will NOT have a main panel. The "main panel" is at the meter, where you have that 70 amp fused disconnect. That's where you bond the ground wire and the neutral. So, yes, you get to pull four wires.

Keep the ground and neutral separate at the panel in the barn. Run a wire from the ground bus to the ground rod / ufer, whatever. This is the GEC.


#178357 - 05/28/08 08:37 PM Re: SERVICE [Re: renosteinke]  
lite bulb  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 78
wilm,de.
Thank you for the input, also what size ground do i need in that 400' conduit, and i have to drive a rod at both locations right. also can i just put a lug in the disconnect on the pole if the ground wire is to large for the net. block

Last edited by lite bulb; 05/28/08 08:47 PM.

#178359 - 05/28/08 09:42 PM Re: SERVICE [Re: lite bulb]  
Yoopersup  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 825
Michigan
225.31 & 225.32 Service rated disconnect switch is Required at the Barn.
250.32 A Equipment Grounding wire may or may Not be required.
See 250.32 (B)(2).
If Ground wire is Required Neutral Floats at second Panel.
Where it is NOT required Neutal must be bonded there . in either case a Grounding Electroid is required at the second Building. Read 250.32 (a)
If Ground wire is Required to second panel see 250.122 Adjust for Voltage drop if Phase conductors are upsized.

Yoopersup

Last edited by Yoopersup; 05/28/08 09:46 PM.

#178360 - 05/28/08 10:02 PM Re: SERVICE [Re: Yoopersup]  
Yoopersup  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 825
Michigan
Agricultural Building are Exempt from inspection in Michigan , Might not be in your State , If Not read 547.9 2005 If the barn well contain livestock.
Forgot that sorry
yoopersup



Member Spotlight
The_Lightman
The_Lightman
Orlando, Fl, USA
Posts: 49
Joined: August 2001
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.013s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.7690 MB (Peak: 0.9111 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-23 21:28:32 UTC