ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Violation?
by renosteinke - 01/27/23 09:52 PM
Does NEC 551.71 (F) apply to dwellings?
by BigB - 01/20/23 10:46 AM
Power submeter connections
by HotLine1 - 01/19/23 09:09 AM
AFDD's coming to the UK
by Texas_Ranger - 01/17/23 07:22 PM
New in the Gallery:
Burger King crown sillyness
Burger King crown sillyness
by wa2ise, December 11
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 92 guests, and 12 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#178353 05/28/08 06:39 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 78
L
Member
I AM INSTALLING A SERVICE TO MY BARN, AND THE POWER CO. IS SUPPLING POWER AERIAL TO MY POLE, ON THIS POLE WILL BE THE METER AND AFTER THE METER I WOULD LIKE TO PUT A DISCONNECT ON THIS POLE THEN I WILL BE GOING 400' UNDERGROUND IN CONDUIT TO THE BARN WITH 1/0 CU FUSED AT 70 AMP, AT THE BARN WILL BE A MAIN BREAKER PANEL DO I NEED A GROUND WIRE FROM THE POLE DISCONNECT TO THE BARN OR JUST A GROUND ROD AT THE BARN AND DO MY GROUNDING AND BONDING THERE.

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

lite bulb #178354 05/28/08 07:05 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,370
Likes: 1
Cat Servant
Member
First, please stop shouting. Typing in all capital letters is considered 'shouting,' and makes the post harder to read.

Second .. the barn will NOT have a main panel. The "main panel" is at the meter, where you have that 70 amp fused disconnect. That's where you bond the ground wire and the neutral. So, yes, you get to pull four wires.

Keep the ground and neutral separate at the panel in the barn. Run a wire from the ground bus to the ground rod / ufer, whatever. This is the GEC.

renosteinke #178357 05/28/08 07:37 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 78
L
Member
Thank you for the input, also what size ground do i need in that 400' conduit, and i have to drive a rod at both locations right. also can i just put a lug in the disconnect on the pole if the ground wire is to large for the net. block

Last edited by lite bulb; 05/28/08 07:47 PM.
lite bulb #178359 05/28/08 08:42 PM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Member
225.31 & 225.32 Service rated disconnect switch is Required at the Barn.
250.32 A Equipment Grounding wire may or may Not be required.
See 250.32 (B)(2).
If Ground wire is Required Neutral Floats at second Panel.
Where it is NOT required Neutal must be bonded there . in either case a Grounding Electroid is required at the second Building. Read 250.32 (a)
If Ground wire is Required to second panel see 250.122 Adjust for Voltage drop if Phase conductors are upsized.

Yoopersup

Last edited by Yoopersup; 05/28/08 08:46 PM.
Yoopersup #178360 05/28/08 09:02 PM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Member
Agricultural Building are Exempt from inspection in Michigan , Might not be in your State , If Not read 547.9 2005 If the barn well contain livestock.
Forgot that sorry
yoopersup


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *
2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC Now Available!
 
* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
NickD
NickD
Amish Country, PA
Posts: 46
Joined: March 2013
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 7
triple 3
Popular Topics(Views)
302,734 Are you busy
231,965 Re: Forum
216,683 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5