ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
nec 110.3 (B)
by gfretwell - 09/22/21 11:11 PM
Grounding electrodes
by gfretwell - 09/07/21 03:41 PM
Looking For Electricians in the Midlands
by Alex247 - 09/06/21 05:26 AM
New in the Gallery:
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
February, North East Indiana
February, North East Indiana
by timmp, July 25
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 46 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#178335 05/28/08 03:12 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
J
jem Offline OP
New Member
Would a double pole 30 amp, 120-277 volt spec grade switch be a suitable disconnecting means for a 240 volt, 5500 watt storage type water heater.

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Cat Servant
Member
Yes, it would. What it would NOT be suitable for would be for two different legs of a 480 volt system.

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
E
Member
Call me crazy, but the last time I checked, a 2P30 amp switch (spec. grade obviously) costs more than an unfused air conditioner disconnect. Not to mention having to man-handle four or five #10's into a device box.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,663
Likes: 4
G
Member
There aren't many 1g device boxes big enough for 5 #10s and a device (17.5 cu/in) I would use a 4x4 with a ring.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
E
Member
That's pretty much what I meant, Greg. Even in a big box, that's still a bit of work. I don't like to work any more than I have to.

It appears that many 30/60A disconnects use the same housings with different guts, so a 30 amp pullout disconnect is chock full of room.

I had to wrestle with one of those toggle "motor starter" switches in a DEEP box last week in a block wall. It was still enough to break a sweat to get it put back together.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,335
S
Member
Originally Posted by gfretwell
There aren't many 1g device boxes big enough for 5 #10s and a device (17.5 cu/in) I would use a 4x4 with a ring.
Most boxes I have use are 22 cubic inches in volume.

Come guys. You don't let some #10 wires hand you your hinnie to you, do ya'? I thought you guys were big bad sparkies. smile


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 47
B
Member
When I rough in a 30A for a dryer I'll use a 2gang box rather than taking the time to wrestle with a 1gang box work. The extra 30cents doesn't seem to be worth the extra work to me.

I would do the same for a water heater (where cord/plug are allowed) or use NO box and a cheap disconnect like EV6something mentioned.

Why make anything harder than it has to be?


Design-Build isn't supposed to mean design *as* you build.

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HotLine1
HotLine1
Brick, NJ USA
Posts: 7,279
Joined: April 2002
Top Posters(30 Days)
timmp 3
Popular Topics(Views)
283,090 Are you busy
216,819 Re: Forum
203,190 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5