ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Childrens safety outlets
by dsk - 06/25/22 04:07 PM
AC-DC stage Ultra-Fast charger, how it's made?
by libellis - 06/25/22 12:17 PM
Your favourite food?
by NORCAL - 06/16/22 12:06 AM
Price action trading with RENKO
by gfretwell - 06/15/22 02:08 PM
Please Help Wiring DCDC Buck Converter
by gfretwell - 06/15/22 01:58 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 47 guests, and 21 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
#177693 05/09/08 10:16 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 74
J
jkraft Offline OP
Member
Can anyone direct me to an inexpensive coax/video tester. I'm looking to cut into an existing coax in an attic with a splitter and don't know which end will be the feed. Hate to carry a TV up there with me.

TIA,

Joe

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,335
S
Member
can you ring it out with a ohm meter?


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 30
A
Member
If possible open up the coax at a connector before the attic & clip the shield and center connector together. Once you are in the attic, you can find determine which end of the cut cable of shorted with a ohm meter.

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
E
Member
Home Depot sells a relatively inexpensive tone/trace unit for about $50.00 that is made by Ideal. It's not very sophisticated, but is generally intended for just the kind of simple stuff you are looking to do.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,419
Likes: 3
Member
A 1.5V penlite cell and an LED would do the same thing.

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
C
New Member
As a cable technician, I recommend/request the following: DO NOT PUT THE SPLITTER IN THE ATTIC!!!!!!!!!! Run the new line back to the existing splitter, and either use an unused port on that splitter, or add another splitter to the existing one.

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 811
Member
Originally Posted by cableguy619
As a cable technician, I recommend/request the following: DO NOT PUT THE SPLITTER IN THE ATTIC!!!!!!!!!! Run the new line back to the existing splitter, and either use an unused port on that splitter, or add another splitter to the existing one.


With my dad being a cable guy, I gotta agree. Run it to the source, don't tap off.

Ian A.


Is there anyone on board who knows how to fly a plane?
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,157
Member
these are like 15.00

[Linked Image from customtoolsupply.com]

Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
S
Member
I did an analysis of the CATV system in my home when I first got HDTV, and was astonished to discover I was splitting my signal down to about 2% of the original signal at the box. All the splits really add up...

5-way splitter at the drop- 4 ea to 4 TVs in the old house, 5th to another 4-way splitter in the addition. And then that goes to a 2-way splitter to feed the DVR and TV inputs. The DVR then has an internal 2-way splitter for the dual tuners.

20% x 25% x 50% x 50% = 1.25% per tuner in the DVR, both of which had crappy signals and a horrible picture that would constantly break up on several channels and never work at all on a few others. What it DID have, though, was an excellent signal meter! I added a 15dB amp, which increased signal strength, but didn't solve the problem, which was never signal strength (despite the losses), but signal-to-noise ratio- and the noise remained. I troubleshot all the connections and other lines, but the difference was negligible. (Even when disconnected from cable, I was getting a clear picture of several channels on my one TV- there was just that much EMI bouncing around.) The additional grounding point the amp offered is what finally fixed my TV- Grounded the amp, and BAM, every analog TV in the house cleared up considerably, and errors dropped to 0 at the DVR. Problem solved! My analog TV pictures are still quite lousy, though. I blame my neighbors, gotta be their fault, probably using a coat hanger instead of RG6 or something.

So... ah... don't mind the haters, just use a splitter in the attic wink

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 74
J
jkraft Offline OP
Member
Originally Posted by dougwells
these are like 15.00

[Linked Image from customtoolsupply.com]


So what is it and where do I get one?

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
JoeKP
JoeKP
Berkley, MA
Posts: 144
Joined: March 2008
Top Posters(30 Days)
triple 3
grich 2
dsk 2
Popular Topics(Views)
292,968 Are you busy
224,975 Re: Forum
210,412 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5